We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glasgow Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glasgow Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Great location, amazing building and super friendly staff. Big kitchen and all spotlessly clean. Run by folk who know what people want because they travel themselves. Looking forward to visiting again soon. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank p S
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, what a lovely review, we are very proud of the team. We will pass your kind comments onto all at Glasgow. Lorna Padden

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I arrived back at the hostel at 1:00am. There is no public transportation close to the hostel so I had to walk back which is far, up a hill and out of the way. Plus it was freezing outside. The desk was closed with the gate down and the key didn't work to open the inside door because (according to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JJ J
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

I have reported this as inappropriate, it refers to a member of our team by name and is completely untrue. Tripadvisor please remove this, our team member has asked this to be done so. I have tried to report it using inappropiate but it does not allow me to do so. Thanks Lorna Padden

New Zealand
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Our family spent one night at The Glasgow YHA,in June 2014.It was a good experience,with friendly staff who were able to answer all of our questions.The building is historical;charming and very well maintained.Our room overlooked the street and park beyond.Private bathroom was in good order with a good shower.The hostel is situated within easy distance of the railway station,although we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suziedd2015
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, What a great review, our team will really appreciate this review. Thanks Lorna

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 21 December 2015

I wish I would have done a little more research into the location of this hostel before booking, but that is my fault, not the hostels. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get from the city center to the hostel via bus/subway and then a walk up the hill. The facilities were fine. The staff were nice and friendly. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crmsnprd
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast out, but we think our own cooked offering at £6:50 which includes a full Scottish breakfast with black pudding and haggis, cereal, orange juice and unlimited tea and coffee is pretty good also. Thank Lorna Padden

Reviewed 15 December 2015

Great rooms, decent price, easy to get to all night life areas. Fantastic if you're visiting the university as a prospective student. Gives you a feel for the campus and helps you to see the diversity Glasgow has to offer. The staff are lovely, and though you mainly share dorms everyone is pretty friendly. Not heard a bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much, what a lovely review, we will let our team know. Lorna Padden

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 25 November 2015

After arriving at Glasgow Central station, I ended up walking to the Hostel because I couldn't find the appropriate bus to take me up the hill. Other than that minor inconveniences, the Glasgow Youth Hostel is very clean and I really liked the social atmosphere encouraged on the ground floor lounge. That's also where the only internet is available. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPc702
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for your kind comments, and we will let our Chef know about your lovely feedback on his food. Lorna Padden

uk
Reviewed 21 November 2015

we booked a twin ensuite, on arrival recetionest was most helpful. the room had its own tea making service which was most appreciated, not having to go to the kitchen when needing a cuppa. ensuite was wonderful and larg, even provided towels, which is not the norm from other yhas. Best value for what we paid for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redtraveller_8
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for your kind words, we will pass these onto our team. Lorna Padden

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Starting with the good points: - The building is really beautiful, with a real and authentic charm. - The staff is pretty nice, not super friendly, but polite, nice and understanding. They let me and my friend deposit our luggages in a locked room, because we had to see a football game, but couldn't go with our luggages during that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tristan B
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed and didn't feel we were value for money. We feel that £20 is value for money in the city centre of Glasgow for an ensuites room. I am sorry that the guests staying with you did not show common courtesy, we do...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Location is beautiful and easy access to transit and downtown. Great restaurants and shopping nearby. I was able to walk everywhere. Beds were okay. First night only 3 people in the dorm and the next night there were 6. Did not like that the dorm room had an ensuite! Especially when there are 6 females in a room. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cpm15
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for your review, we love our building too, we think it has the best views of the city. As you mentioned we do have Wi-Fi, it can be a little intermittent, but our IT team are working on this and we are doing what we can to improve it. Thanks Lorna Padden

Scotland
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I spent one night to split the train journey from Stranraer to Mallaig. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the hostel easier to find than I expected. Excellent members' kitchen, free use of computers (though that's not what is says on the screen). I was in a shared room with bunk-beds with 5 other males. It's nice to have en-suite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PadraigScotland
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay, we think its really good value too. Yes the stairs are the price we have to pay for having a beautiful, B listed building that overlooks Kelvingrove, but its a small price to pay for the beautiful building that we have. Thanks...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
709 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
958 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
552 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
276 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#10 of 49 in Glasgow
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: €22 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glasgow Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Glasgow Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms require some walking in stairs...”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Floor 1 is the best as there are no elevators and you'll have to lug your luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles xxricebunnyxx, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early.”
 of 5 bubbles suziedd2015, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“roughing it in style, it's a youth hostel, so prepare to share.”
 of 5 bubbles 837katt, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Off of the staircase since it is three stories high”
 of 5 bubbles 157barbaraw, 11 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5