We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelvingrove Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kelvingrove Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kelvingrove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We arrived in Glasgow on the train from Edinbugh and didn't want to take a cab for 5 pounds so took the "HOHO" bus with luggage from the train station. Exit train station, turn left, walk to end of block, look for the big red buses. We rode the tour until we spotted the Kelvingrove Museum and then rang the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwagk
Bielefeld, Germany
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed in Kelvingrove Hotel for two nights before walking the West Highland Way. Staff at the reception was very friendly and always helpful. Our room, located in the basement but having a full window towards the garden, was clean but a bit small and in need of a refurbishment. The tapestry looked a bit worn off here and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhabarber
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have stayed in the Kelvingrove several times. It changed owners in May. It's now owned by the hotel across the road. It used to be a friendly, family-run hotel, with excellent breakfasts. It's now just another average hotel. The breakfast was really disappointing. Little choice, coffee from a machine. And in the room, the shower was barely functioning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ProfMark
Hong kong
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Very confusing parking regulation. No staff could help us. We need to solve the parking problem ourselves at last. Staff needs training please. We got 1 regular double room and 1 small double with same price at 85/night which I feel unhappy to pay. The bed is absolutely a small double bed. Worst breakfast I've ever had. Need much much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueHK
Manchester
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Travelled up with friends on the way to the Open Golf Championships on the 17th July. Could not afford to pay the bumped up Edinburgh prices so decided on an overnighter in Glasgow. I have to say I was really impressed with not only the hotel but Glasgow as well! There are some fantastic bars and restaraunts close by. All...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Salfordfox
Ireland
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We are repeat visitors to this hotel- this is our third visit to the hotel, this time as a family. Stayed in Rooms 16 and 17 for three nights at the start of July. The hotel was very quiet even though it had a lot of guests. Our room at the back of the hotel was very peaceful. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonegalHolidaymaker
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The staff here were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. If you want city centre this is maybe not for you as it's a 15minute walk away however being in the west end of Glasgow is 1 of the major plus points for this hotel. There are numerous great bars and restaurants nearby (Thai Siam, Mother India, The Sisters)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakeena
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 5 July 2010

A welcoming family run hotel with nice clean rooms for a reasonable price. Located in a lovely neighborhood next to the beautiful grounds of the Kelvinggrove park. Within walking distance to several restaurants of which we highly recommend the Two Fat Ladies. The staff was helpful in offering directions and dinner recommendations. The breakfast was perfectly acceptable with several offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marayga
Tyne & Wear
Reviewed 27 June 2010

First of all let me say I dont often complain as you will see by my previous reviews. When I booked this hotel I asked for a room that wasnt in the basement however when we got their we had been allocated a room in the basement! The owner was quick to rectify this and gave us a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LieslTyne_Wear
robertmcq, Front Office Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I was very sorry to hear that your stay was unacceptable. We do strive to meet the needs of all our guests and always encourage feedback during your stay. I was happy to hear that you were offered a new room, but upset that the alternative was a...

Forfar
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We usually stay at one of the bigger chain hotels but decided to try this hotel and so glad we did. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who informed us that their boiler had broken down and wouldn't be fixed until the Wednesday. However, arrangements were in place to taxi us to a sister hotel for showers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catfourwinds

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
692 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
179 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
232 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
796 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: €52 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were downstairs at the back and heard nothing at all”
 of 5 bubbles saintmorag, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the breakfast, great for a packed day ahead”
 of 5 bubbles Anjienkenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter. Some ground floor rooms I think if a few stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles spencer139, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“20 or 21 right at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles LeicesterNizza, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at back of hotel as friend who stayed on road side was disturbed by noise from street”
 of 5 bubbles 112lilyd, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay