We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlton George Hotel

PricelineUS$109*
View Deal
#20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$270*
US$109*
Great Deal
US$118*
US$121*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,618: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I stayed at the hotel for five nights. . Everything was fine, and I enjoyed the somewhat quirky atmosphere. Having a complimentary minibar with decanters of liquor, including a nice scotch of course, was a pleasant surprise. No surcharges or exorbitant fees for telephone use was another small but pleasant surprise. The location is great for for shopping and city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDK012014
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JDK012014, Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Carlton George and appreciated and enjoyed the complimentary mini bar and decanters. We look forward to welcoming you back soon :) Kind regards, Chloe Streatfeild Sales Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015

The location of the hotel is great. I booked an executive room and it was spacious but rather dated and noticed some mould on the throw on the bed. The bed itself was a bit hard as were the pillows, which did lead to a restless night sleep for both, however the AC did work well as without it the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria W
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daria W, Thank you for your review! My apologies that you had a restless night because of the bed, I will also pass on your comments to Housekeeping regarding your throw and we will certainly look in to that. I am glad you were able to enjoy the Executive Lounge and also enjoy the complimentary mini bar in your...

Magden, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is right in the city centre, close to the railway and bus stations. The famous "style mile" with all the exclusive shops is just round the corner. The rooms are comfortable and well kept. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The price is rather high, but together with the complimentary minibar it is acceptable. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edisteiner
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear edisteiner, Thank you for your lovely review :) we hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Chloe Streatfeild Sales Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Stayed for one night to attend a gig at the Hydro. I have stayed here before and have been very impressed. Reception staff were lovely and friendly. Our room looked good, was well appointed and clean. I know not every room can have a wonderful view but this one was just the pits, overlooking the generators in the back yard....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shellish69
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shellish69, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you have stayed with us in the past and been impressed with the hotel and the service but I'm sorry that the breakfast service from your stay as put you off coming back again. I will certainly pass on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager and this will certainly...

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Carlton George is a lovely hotel in a great location, just around the corner from Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station and Glasgow Central Station is a short walk away, car parking is close by and the hotel is close to city center shops and restaurants. Easy links to Hamden Park from the Central train station. On our visit, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bri302015
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bri302015, Thank you for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we certainly pride ourselves on customer service, I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to all the staff. I hope you find that excuse and we can welcome you back soon :) Kind regards, Chloe Streatfeild Sales Manager

Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The hotel has a central location and great ambiance. Rooms are well soundproofed and very quiet. Staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. The breakfast was excellent. Perhaps a little expensive but this is offset by the free mini bar which has beer, wine and bottled water as well as mixers for the free partially filled decanters of whisky, gin and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert S, Thank you for your lovely review :) I'm so glad you had a good time and enjoyed and appreciated the complimentary mini bar and the decanters of whisky, gin and vodka. Its always nice to start the night off with a drink in the comfort of your own room. I hope we will be able to welcome...

Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Not been here for a couple of years. The rooms look as if they have been improved in the meantime. Service, location and rooms excellent. Breakfast was good but not as good as I remember. Really quite average. Pity really. Still worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John S, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you came back and stayed with us after two years and that you have seen some improvement. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding breakfast to the team. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Chloe Streatfeild Sales Manager

Reviewed 5 July 2015

Run on a shoestring and badly in need of a major refurbishment. Staff very inexperienced but friendly, dinner ok but breakfast was very ordinary and substandard. Rooms are decorated in the worst conflicting colour schemes and our carpet was the brightest incongruous check you could image.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David A
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you feel the hotel is ran on a shoestring, your the first to have mentioned something like this. The hotel as actually just had all the corridors refurbished and we are looking at other areas of the hotel but as you can appreciate not everything can be done at the...

Sebastopol, California
Reviewed 4 July 2015

I agree with past reviews. We totally enjoyed our (too short of ) stay at the Carlton George Hotel. We were so pleased to have a large comfortable king room. Very clean and roomy. Complimentary mini bar is always nice. Location near Queen's Street station was a plus for us. Staff recommendations of a good fish restaurant did not disappoint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna C, Thank you for your great review. We're glad you had a lovely time, liked your room and enjoyed and appreciated the complimentary mini bar. I'm happy our Reception Team were able to advise you on a lovely fish restaurant which meant you had a wonderful time. We hope we can welcome you back to the Carlton George...

Norton St Philip, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Really pleasantly surprised at the lovely large rooms we had. We were on the 4th floor and it looks like it has been recently refurbished. There is a complimentary bar in every room. The only downside for us, was, that the bed was not firm enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brisbanemad
ChloeStreatfeild, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brisbanemad, Thank you for your lovely review. The hotel has recently been refurbished, I'm glad you liked it. In regards to the bed, I apologise you didn't feel it was firm enough for you as we have just recently got new mattresses for the rooms. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon :) Kind regards, Chloe Streatfeild Sales Manager

534 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Viewed
Club Room with Balcony (20)
Viewed
Executive Room (16)
Viewed
Normal Club Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Superior Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,222 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
575 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,595 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: €114 - €240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Marquette, MI
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for city view if there is !”
loicb820, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Room was in hotel center and heard no noise at all”
RobinH163, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Worth getting an executive room and above for the lounge alone.”
N7876SPalexw, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on 2nd floor, was a good location”
lunabarr, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“The superior room had a lot of nice features”
rainergirl, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$109* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$118
Booking.comUS$121
AMOMAUS$270
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates