We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carlton George Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,479: English reviews
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudiaelisabeth11
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Aylesbury
Reviewed 25 March 2015

i'm sat in my club room at Carlton George as I write this. The staff are superb, at least 4 star. I love this hotel and when i travel on business to Glasgow, its my hotel of choice. my advice is clear, if you want a drink, book an exec room. if you book a non exec room. i cant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davemdarcy
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davemdarcy, Glad you like to stay with us. I do have a great team here. Let me know what we can do to make breakfast more to your liking. Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Despite asking for a room overlooking the street we were put in a room at the back of the hotel with no view. Booked afternoon tea and overnight stay. Bedroom comfortable Afternoon tea overpriced. Other local hotels and restaurants offer a better standard of afternoon tea. I have stayed at this hotel previously and now feel it is overpriced and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolcumbernauld
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I do appreciate your feedback and have emailed you directly. For future stays if you would like a front-facing room, book a Club room, these all face onto West George Street. Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Absolutely appalling from start to finish. I had booked afternoon tea as a treat for my elderly mothers birthday. We arrived on time but had to wait 30 minutes to be served which was unacceptable as I had pre booked the table and the meals as one of which was gluten free I had to re order everything again as...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Grant990
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grant990, Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor afternoon tea experience this weekend. We obviously got it very wrong on this occasion, I can assure you that this is not a normal Window's restaurant experience. Should you wish to discuss things further, please get in touch. Yours Duncan Johnston General Manager

Gourock
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We were given a two night stay in an executive room and dinner for or anniversary form our family. We had been before and chose this hotel. We were given a nice room according to the receptionist. Our room was at the back looking on to offices and above a lane which houses a pub. We noticed the cold ad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EllenGourock
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had issues with the air-conditioning in your room, and that this was not resolved quickly. My team had told me that your daughter had come in to speak with us also. Our air-conditioning system is pretty reliable, I am sorry that this had not been checked before your arrival. I do hope it will not...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Have traveled & stayed here twice now for attending hospital in Glasgow & will definitely be going back again! Restaurant serves excellent food & the staff are always pleasant & will do anything they can to help you out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trishy28
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Trishy28, It is always pleasing to receive such nice feedback, particularly when it concerns the staff. Regards Duncan Johnston General Maanger

Ireland
Reviewed 18 March 2015

I stayed in an executive room at the Carlton George for one night last week. The welcome at check in was great & the guy on reception was really friendly and helpful. The room was fine, comfortable if a little dated but that didn't bother me. The free mini bar with crystal decanters & glasses is a lovely touch and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anonireland10
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, I was happy to read that your stay was generally good, thanks for the feedback regarding breakfast. Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

stayed a night here for business trip, hotel is at a great location, rooms are large, clean, very nice. But shame about the hair dryer, for a room as grand as this, i'd expect the hotel to spend a little bit and put in a normal hair dryer than one of those attached to the drawer. Breakfast was disappointing, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SharronChan
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharron, I will certainly take on board your comments, a good idea regarding the hairdryers. Thank you Duncan Johnston General Manager

Cumbernauld
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Was made to feel so welcome upon checkin by receptionist from Newcastle. Didn't,t get his name but is an asset to hotel. Room lovely executive one lovely touches like crystal glasses and complementary spirits and mini bar also well worth upgrading for executive lounge because saving money on drinks. Had high tea and it was lovely so can't understand previous...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean D
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean, Our young man from Newcastle is Tony, glad he looke dafter you so well. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager

Reviewed 17 March 2015

We had booked afternoon tea via Wowcher at the Carlton George and it was excellent! We had a glass of champagne on arrival followed by a lovely selection of tea, sandwiches and cakes! I must say the custard tart was a personal favourite! Really good service, attentive waiters! Great afternoon with the girls!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that afternoon tea was so enjoyable, the custard tarts are my favourite too. Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (302)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Viewed
Club Room with Balcony (20)
Viewed
Executive Room (16)
Viewed
Normal Club Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Superior Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
2,114 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
358 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
3,399 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,394 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: €97 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose an executive room - lounge and free mini bar are a real treat”
 of 5 bubbles CraigM256, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Even numbers high floors”
 of 5 bubbles A7425RNlindag, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Splurge for executive level”
 of 5 bubbles KangaTex, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“be fussy and make your requests”
 of 5 bubbles S1771FAannep, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra for the executive room.”
 of 5 bubbles sandgrownun18, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay