We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Show Prices
#36 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,109: English reviews
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

The Crowne is a classy hotel situated near the heart of Glasgow. It has a restaurant, bar, gift shoppe, and fitness center. The room was clean, the room service prompt and tasty, and the front desk staff were more than accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua D
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We stayed here for the Queen & Adam Lambert concert so picked the hotel for location, also for the nice standard of hotel chain. We went for the business traveller rate and although it was £164, it did include an executive room on 15th floor with access to the club lounge which was a great bonus, car parking, internet access...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank molk01
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and made use of the club lounge. I was sorry to read that the air conditioning disturbed you. I am glad you enjoyed your food during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Dominic McVey...

Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Check-in took a while and I asked if I was getting an upgrade but I was told "no", even though in many other countries I do get one as a Gold Elite member of ihg. Went to my room on the 5th floor but it was rather shabby so went back to reception and was given a room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamkorlik
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass your compliments to the team during our next meeting. We are in the process of refurbishing the guest bedroom areas, so hopefully the next time you stay you should be greeted by a fresh room in the first instance. I look...

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We stayed here at the weekend as we were going to the Paolo Nutini gig at The Hydro. The guest area's in the main foyer are lovely and have been refurbished to a high standard while still maintaining parts of he original hotel - The Moat House - However the rooms leave a lot to be desired. We last stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark I
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us, and that some items in the bedroom were not working. You do not mention whether you reported these issues to the staff. Please rest assured that had these matters been brought to our attention we would have done everything...

torquay uk
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We flew up to Glasgow to be with our chums The Krankies who were in Panto Fabulous hotel ,great location , the front of house team were simply charming ,nothing was too much trouble , we had a super room on the 12 floor looking over Glasgow . Excellent breakfast and all you could eat , with a wide choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbois
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass your praise onto the team during our next meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Booked Crowne Plaza for one night as we were going to a show at the Hydro. Was well impressed with the entrance/reception/bar area. We were asked if we wanted a high or low floor room and opted for the higher floor, we were allocated room 1210 which overlooks the river. Lovely furnished twin room, comfortable beds and adequate bathroom, toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DottySH
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. The bar can get quite busy following events nearby, but I will make sure that I speak to our staff to ensure they are aware of our customer service expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Dominic McVey...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Fabulous dinner. Staff mostly very attentive. Bedroom very comfortable though this and bathroom need updating. The free WiFi was satisfactory. A very pleasant breakfast. Car park costs £6. Views from upper floors are excellent. Very handy for rail network.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank squinthorizon
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass your comments onto the team here. Please be assured that we are running on ongoing refurbishment program, and we hope that you will visit us again to see our refurbished rooms. Kind Regards Dominic McVey...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2015

I last stayed when this was Moat House Hotel now Crowne Plaza. What a difference. The lobby, bar & dining areas have all been brightened up & very welcoming. One of the best team of hotel staff I have encountered. Many long term employees& very happy to work under the watchful eye of the very capable General Manager, Dominic McVey....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lolatraveller
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, I am glad you enjoyed our refurbished facilities. I will pass your kind words onto the team, during our next team meeting. I was pleased to read that you had a wonderful breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We went as a party of 4 and sat at a table with 2 other groups of 4. We all got on very well and everyone was very friendly. There was a good demographic spread which made for a very enjoyable evening. The entertainment was very good with a DJ at first and the an excellent live band. The meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gordon H
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the Hogmanay Gala ball and overnight stay and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back before too long. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Had a really good sized room looking west over the riverside views of Glasgow were great. Lovely sunny day but cold with good walks close by around the river. Had lounge access but don't bother with this as the lounge is small and the drinks were not good quality, was very busy and we ended up standing. People were just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you liked the views from your room. As you will appreciate, we are very busy over the Christmas/New Year period and it seems on this occasion that your enjoyment of the Club Lounge was affected by this and not up to our usually high standard. I hope this will not deter you...

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (498)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Club King Room (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard King Room (16)
Viewed
Standard King Room New Style (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
986 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#20 of 95 in Glasgow
2,220 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
2,982 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: €89 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the lift door as it is noisy with guests coming in and out”
 of 5 bubbles l0uise24, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a high floor .. amazing views of the Clyde ...”
 of 5 bubbles 394evelyns, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms with view”
 of 5 bubbles rohitb528, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Club Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles charlie_ocs, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor for a great view. Pay extra for Executive club acess.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonh872, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay