We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Expedia.comUS$92*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$185*
US$92*
US$185*
US$92*
US$185*
US$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

998 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 912: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
 Click to rate
Webster, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was adequate but a bit warm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great for walking about town, taking the train or subway. We were close to restaurants and shopping. My husband and I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is very centrally located and has a car park with about 30 spaces, which is physically behind the hotel, but there are a few streets to navigate to get to the car park. Very reasonably priced at £7 for 24 hours. Other nearest car parks are St Enoch Centre, Buchanan Galleries or Glassford Street. Used the business conference...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sing C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was staying here for 4 nights due to being in Glasgow for work. When I checked in the receptionist was pleasant enough although she never told me what time evening meals were served Or what time breakfast started or where the restaurant was situated. When I got to my room it was pretty standard the room was quite small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeopardMuffin1993
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi LeopardMuffin1993, Thanks for the review, and good to hear you found us fine. I will speak to our reception team as you should have been supplied more information and also provided with the soap, my apologies for that. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on my second trip into Glasgow. Is a very nice hotel, the breakfast would have been great with some hot cereal. The room was very nice but every time either myself or the room on either side of me flushed the pipes made a lot of racket for several minutes. The location was right in the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tweenah
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi tweenah, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If by hot cereal you mean porridge I am looking at that as an option just now. We are an older building so sometimes the plumbing can be noisy my apologies for that. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

Angus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here on a Saturday night at the start of May and i was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here but had nothing to worry about. The location couldn't be better. A 3 minute walk to Queen Street train station, same time to Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. We arrived around 11.30am and expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah G
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leah G, Thanks very much for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do have a little issue in that our negative comments on trip advisor are more in number than positive. If we look at some of the other review sites such as booking.com we have numerous balanced reviews which puts us at 7.9/10...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bed was nice and big, great for when your partner likes to sleep diagonally. Room was a bit tired and small and could hear the lift going all night (we were on the 7th floor). The room was also really warm. Food wasn't the best. We both ordered steak but there was only one left (monday night) and when it...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodidum
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jodidum, Thanks for the review I will speak to our F&B and housekeeping departments reference your comments. We had run out of steak due to a particularly busy weekend my apologies for that. Apologies for the housekeeper walking in on you guys I will hand this over to our head housekeeper. Kind Regards Dan

Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival good helpful reception staff. Hotel is in a good location and the rooms are clean and tidy but a bit dated. Some night time street noise that may not suit some travelers. Great breakfast, a perfect way to end your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Matt B, Thanks for the review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Dan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location in the heart of Glasgow, very close to Queen Street and Central Stations. Brilliant helpful and polite staff, 24hr room service, and great complementary offers for members such as late checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy A
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jimmy A, Thanks for the great review and that you found the team helpful and polite. Please come back and stay again very soon. Kind Regards Dan

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a good location but is really tired and run down. The rooms a tiny with no air con and you can't open the windows either. It is pretty dated now and scruffy. Desperate need of a refurb, this would make it much better though clearly the room size issue wouldn't be resolved though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank visit10
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi visit10, Thanks for your review. Indeed we can't do anything about the room size, we are looking at refurbishment programmes at the moment though. Kind Regards Dan

Kilrea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with wife in February for one night over a weekend. The hotel itself is in a good central location, the decor is possibly a bit dated and could do with a tidy up but overall we had no complaints. The staff were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulmcw_05
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi paulmcw_05, Thanks for the review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
1,671 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#83 of 96 in Glasgow
371 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: €69 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Likely rooms at the back of hotel may be quieter.”
mattbL8955ID, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms for less noise”
ModernMillie11, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid hotel if you want a reasonable value for money”
thomasmA9665HG, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
Hecfranfmac, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go with the high floor facing Ingram Street”
yougetspaz, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$92
Hotwire.comUS$92
TripAdvisorUS$92
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates