We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Expedia.comUS$99*
View Deal
#28 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,058: English reviews
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Had an enjoyable 1-night stay here after arriving in Glasgow for some sightseeing around town. Pros Our room was relatively small but was clean and had everything you need for a short stay. We arrived early but were able to check in to our room right away, which was convenient. Full breakfast served in the morning was decent, but options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbugNG
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear travelbugNG, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, rooms were clean and had everything you needed. It's great we were able to check you into your bedroom when you arrived early. It is unfortunate that we don't...

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The hotel is well located. The rooms are small and sparsely furnished with a desk and loveseat (a bit worn) but the bathrooms are very clean with great water pressure. The only real downside was the carpet. While the room was clean, the carpet in our room was quite stained. This is a pet friendly hotel, and the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear David R, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Its great to read that the hotels location was ideal during your trip to Glasgow. I am also delighted to read that you took full advantage of the free wifi service we offer at the hotel and also that you enjoyed...

Fortaleza, CE
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is placed at Stockwell St with Clyde Ave., at the riverside, a walking distance to George Square, markets, commercial streets and, 30-40 minutes walking, to Scotland Conventions Centre. It is clean, service is friendly and efficient, Internet connection is free and reliable, and room was clean and confortable. It is a good place to stay in Glasgow on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLCS_Brazil
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear HLCS_Brazil Thank you for your time to post review regarding to your stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am delighted to read your comment about clean room, reliable free internet connection and friendly and efficient staff. I will pass on your kind comments to rest of our team. Thank you again and hopefully see you again. Kind...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night only, very nice clean room, great check in friendly staff. A good exemplar of the brand. The only downside was the inclusive breakfast, the cold options and drinks were as expected but the hot options........ If this is the best that can be offered please please stop. The scrambled eggs were awful, a vat of yellowed grey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevelawson61
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Stevelawson61, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that the staff at the hotel were great and that you had a nice stay in your room. I see that you took advantage of the breakfast we include with all our rooms at the hotel and while you did...

Tehachapi, California
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We spent 2 nights here before joining a tour group.This hotel is located within walking distance to the downtown area of Glasgow and to the river. The room wasn't fancy and could have had a larger bed. The bathroom was clean, modern and had all the necessities. Breakfast was good and offered the same food as other Scotland hotels.. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judy r
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear judy r Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel to be in a good location and the rooms clean, we take great pride in the cleanliness of our bedrooms. I am also delighted to hear you took advantage of our continental buffet breakfast...

Fort William
Reviewed 2 September 2015

My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel, as it was close to the venue where we were attending a concert. Location was absolutely spot-on. No problems whatsoever there. However, two months prior to our arrival at this hotel, I noticed that they had debited the total amount of our stay. Twice. A day later, the hotel debited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PackageMonkey
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear PackageMonkey Thank you for leaving your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I was pleased to hear that you found the hotel ideally located for all of your requirements within the city centre. I was also pleased that you accepted the compensation off of a two night stay offered due to our error...

Lancashire UK
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The hotel is situated very close to the shopping, dining and entertainment area of Glasgow so no need to drive. The rooms are comfortable and clean but felt rather worn in places. The shower was old fashioned and the bathroom rather small. We enjoyed the breakfast but would imagine if you stayed for more than a couple of nights it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sal1LancashireUK
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Sal1LancashireUK Thank you for leaving your review regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. I was pleased to hear the hotel location met all of your requirements within the city centre, I was also pleased that you took advantage of the Express Start Breakfast. Being a city centre location we do not...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We spent 1 night at the Holiday Inn Express in Glasgow which was most enjoyable. We had a very friendly welcome by Gerald on reception, the room was not ready as we arrived at 14.30 & check in is at 15.00. We sat in the lounge/reception area and had a drink from the bar. Within 20 minutes our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mindyjaja
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Mindyjaja Thank you for taking the time to leave your review regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside. We are pleased to read that you found the hotel in a great location and value for money for all of your requirements within the city centre. I have also passed on your...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 22 August 2015

HolidayInn is a good hotel that matches with the beauty of glasgow. This is well maintained and well furnished hotel. The rooms are little small as is the case with all hotel in europe. Overall service was good and will definately looking for a stay here next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kiran_nisar
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear kiran_nisar, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at The Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay and that we all provided good service. I am thrilled that you will be choosing to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards, Kelly Miller Guest...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Small and uncomfortable room for a family of four. The sofa bed is like a single bed, 2 kids don’t fit at all. No space in the room even to walk without needing to jump over the bed. No space to put your luggage or clothes. The parking was a public one approximately 200 mts from the Hotel. Very noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatiasC27
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear MatiasC27, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to read that you found the room to be small. All our rooms are of a standard size which can accommodate a family with the use of a double bed and sofa bed. Alternatively we have interconnecting bedrooms so booking them may...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
3,197 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Price Range: €85 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request river view”
eod23, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms facing away from the streets are quieter”
2CAtravelers, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room We stayed in room 304 & room 117, both excellent”
BrianB321, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room in the back on the third floor, and it was really nice and quiet.”
ccmatz, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Central location”
kennymcn, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$99* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$117
HIExpress.comUS$99
Hotels.comUS$99
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates