We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence

Save
Share
4 Glassford Street, Glasgow G1 1UL Scotland
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 26/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence
Updated 26/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 92 Specialty lodging in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Glassford Residence is an A-listed building which has recently been painstakingly renovated and converted into 8 modern apartments, and is ideally located for guests to enjoy everything that Merchant City and Glasgow has to offer. The Merchant City has been built up in recent years as a residential, shopping and leisure area, mirroring Covent Garden in the West End of London. To this end many new bars and restaurants have been established, complemented with the redevelopment and restoration of many Victorian buildings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
21Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark M wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
These apartments were a huge let down. I booked an overnight stay for me and my husband to get ready before a date night. However the apartment is small, basic and dated. It resembles student accommodation. But is priced as a luxury apartment. The sofa was smelly, and badly stained, the towels were hard, and the room looked a bit grubby. On booking, I paid £300 deposit. 9 days after check out I had not been reimbursed. After 3 phone calls and various emails, I finally review an email informing me a lamp was damaged, and the room smelled of smoke. I was go smacked. We didn’t use the lamp, nor does me or my partner smoke. I tried to fight my case and got nowhere. A further 4 day wait for a response only to get a rather abrupt and rude email saying they ‘trusted the housekeeper’. Stay well away.... the whole experience cost me close to £500 for a room that looks like my teenage son’s university dorm.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
andelk25 wrote a review Jul 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked this apartment as we had a wedding to go to, this was obviously cancelled due to covid. We had a non cancellation policy (a complete con) so we emailed their customer service as soon as we had got the new date, this was in early May. We had no reply and so we tried booking.com who managed to get through to them. They wouldn't cancel and to change the dates would cost us £150 more on top of the £320 spent already. I tried to reason with them but after speaking to various rude people and then being ignored I gave up. I wouldn't pay more then £250 for this apartment so glad we didn't pay the additional charge to change dates. Bed is super uncomfortable and walls are paper thin so no good for a young family. En suite toilet blocks. Good points were location was ok and apartment fairly clean. Shame on you destiny Scotland for trying to make money out of families in difficult circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
podmed1 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Unfortunately, due to the coronavirus, I have been told by Glasgow University that all face to face contact has ceased. I asked Destiny Scotland to either reimburse or reschedule my dates for another week later in the year, and they simply refused. The lady with whom I spoke was particularly unhelpful and seems not to mind losing a customer who was likely to stay at least 15 times over the next 6 years.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Susan D wrote a review Mar 2020
11 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed for a few days , never had a easier check in , great location about 10 mins from central station ,if driving,car park next door if needed. Shops on your doorstep . Can be a bit noisy on a night outside but I never found that a problem. Apartment was clean and well maintained ,I wouldn't hesitate in staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
David W wrote a review May 2019
Cork, Ireland5 contributions7 helpful votes
Awful experience, from seeing a dirty needle outside the front door to the poorly lit hallways in which my friend well and hit his head to which we then got charged for a blood stained towel, Unable to get in touch with staff to access the apartment - slow to respond and rude, sticky floors, dusty windowsills, dirty kitchen ware and then for the company to have the audacity to take 100 pound security deposit because of a stained couch is ridiculous. Absolutely fuming is an understatement with the service we have received
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Enquiries E, Manager at Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence
Responded 29 May 2019
Dear David, I am sorry you had a bad experience. We strive to provide a seamless booking, checking and check out process. These are self check in apartments with no reception on site, office hours are detailed as 9am to 7pm daily. To respond to each point raised.... - We sent full check in instructions and code to use on the front door and apartment door. - Unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for items left outside our building, In a city centre location there is always some element of littering. - If there was a problem with the apartment when you checked in the best thing is to call us to advise of this rather than informing us after check out. We can address issues much better if we know about them at the time. - Retaining £100 is to fix or replace damaged items found on check out, which was a mark to the kitchen cabinet, blood stained towel, broken cutlery holder, stain on sofa, missing glasses and extra housekeeping time. Of which photos were shared with you. I am sorry you are upset at this but we have acted in accordance within our terms and conditions. Best regards Destiny Scotland Team
Read more
miss piggy wrote a review Feb 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in flat 3 and we had a comfortable overnight stay. The location is ideal. The flat was warm ( and shower etc excellent. I didn't go crawling under beds looking for dust but everything looked clean enough to me. The bedroom has secondary glazing so no noise from the road. We found the flat warm and it was a cold February night. Kitchen is well equipped plenty of food outlets nearby and there is a super marked across the road. I would recommend this for an overnight stay.or longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Enquiries E, Guest Relations Agent at Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence
Responded 4 Apr 2019
Dear Maureen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Destiny Scotland Glassford Residence. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, The Destiny Scotland Team
Read more
susan p wrote a review Oct 2018
Falkirk34 contributions1 helpful vote
We were a little worried about our booking after reading the reviews on here. We shouldn't have worried at all. The apartment was easy to find, there were no problems accessing the building or apartment. It was spotless and very well equipped for an overnight stay. It was beautiful inside, very modern, bright and airy. Some light traffic noise from outside but we were in the centre of Glasgow! It would've been a 5* review but the digital tv wasn't great and the shower head kept turning to the side, making it a wee bit awkward to get under properly. But other than that we would definitely consider rebooking in the future 😁😁😁
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Peter W wrote a review Oct 2018
Canberra, Australia273 contributions84 helpful votes
I had flat 3 on 2nd floor. It was a large one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and a washer/dryer. Bathroom was spacious with full sized deep tub. Great location, right in the center of things. Close to several supermarkets. It was a bit noisy in the living area at night. But the bedroom was quiet due to double windows. The sofa needed a good vacuum. I enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
thebabies wrote a review Jul 2018
Oakland, CA29 contributions12 helpful votes
Agree with previous review of Flat 4. Methane gas smell from Hallway bathroom was horrible. Light fixtures in both bedrooms not working. Called Destiny Scotland. Bathroom issue never addressed to my knowledge. One room the light bulb was changed. The other room ignored. A premium price for a well appointed residence but the noise & smoke factor was horrendous. Bus stops on all 3 sides of the building. Casino next door=loud and cigarette smoke. However close to all shops, restaurants & transportation. Would not recommend if you want to sleep at night due to noise and methane gas smell from bathroom
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not rent Flat 4. Could not attest to the others
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kate wrote a review Jun 2018
Stornoway, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely appartments to look at, but the cleaner should be sacked. Under the beds were balls of dust, as were under the couches, disgusting. The smell of sewer in the morning was awful, we couldnt breathe, phoned the owner.. who came and sprayed bleach down the toilet! Alot of money for a flat that you cant even breath in, if you going to rent out a nice flat and take such a hefty deposit, make sure you give it a good clean first!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre / Merchant City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence
Which popular attractions are close to Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality (0.2 km), Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre (0.2 km), and Glasgow Police Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a clothes dryer, and a washing machine.
Which room amenities are available at Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Madras Cafe, Green Gates Indian Restaurant Merchantcity, and Las Iguanas.
Is Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Destiny Scotland - Glassford Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House for an Art Lover (4.2 km), The Mackintosh House (2.9 km), and The Tenement House (1.6 km).