We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont St Andrews

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont St Andrews
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,683: English reviews
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Booked in here for a couple of nights with my partner and 5 year old daughter. Not cheap at over £200 per night on a Monday and Tuesday, although we were attracted by the location and facilities on offer....i.e. Pool, spa, etc. have to say though that £45 for an express spa treatment seemed to me to be a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneTullo
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall but disappointed that we let you down in your dining experiences. We are currently reviewing the menus in all restaurants and have recently relaunched the Clubhouse as St Andrews Bar & Grill. Your...

Glasgow,Scotland
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Stayed at Fairmont on 25th for my birthday. Were upgraded to sea view room which was great. Had dinner in The Clubhouse food was great and service from Owen our waiter was excellent. Also used pool and Rock and Spindle bar both of which were excellent. Only criticism which stopped me giving full marks Egg Station at breakfast, this has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosco123
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews. It is through valuable guest feedback that we can continue to improve on our service and facilities and your comments are appreciated. I have passed on your very kind comments to the Executive team to share within their departments,. I also note...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I went to St. Andrews in June with my boyfriend, the weather was not too great but when we got to the hotel the atmosphere was nice and cozy. We got a complimentary upgrade (I work for Fairmont hotels as well, maybe that's why) which we were very appreciative of, however, we found the room too big for 2 guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxiefoxie17
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We value all guest feedback to help us to improve upon the service and facilities we offer. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay although disappointed that the room was too cold for you during your stay. I have passed on your comments to the...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. We used the pool facilities too which where just as good. Staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts where superb. Everything you could think of was available. Top marks 10 out of 10!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H S
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind compliments following your stay with us here at Fairmont St Andrews. We are so pleased that you took advantage of all our facilities and I will ensure that your kind words are shared with our chefs who make our outstanding breakfasts! We hope to see you again soon.

Wigton
Reviewed 28 July 2015

2 Day 1 night golf break at the Fairmount Hotel St Andrews. Hotel was very good, large rooms, good facilities, Excellent breakfast. Goof course are very good, the Kittocks course was better than the Torrance, more scenic to play and challenging but the Torrance is also a very good course. If choosing one to play it would be the Kittocks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Golf Break and impressed that you took on the challenge of both courses! We just hope the weather was also good for you! We do hope to welcome you back to Fairmont St Andrews soon!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2015

This is my second spa review for this hotel - for some reason the first one that I submitted a couple of weeks ago has disappeared. I have emailed TripAdvisor but they don't reply so I thought I would try again... (I am giving the same 4 star rating and glowing report that I did in my first review, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey H
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. I am delighted that you and your mother had such a great time. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will return again to Fairmont St Andrews.

Larbert, , United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Managed to get a last minute deal and was not disappointed. Hotel is excellent and can't find fault at all. Room was spacious, warm and we'll equipped. Guest bus to and from town is a bonus. Spa area is large and a bit confusing I felt, but clean and again well equipped. Had choice of restaurants so could go cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to use all the facilities we have on offer here at Fairmont St Andrews! Your kind words have been noted and I will ensure that they are shared with all the teams involved in making your stay a plesant one. We do...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Excellent service and facility. The facilities were wide ranging and in excellent condition. The staff was very helpful even with the added stress of The Open week. The food and service in all the venues were very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayh677
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Fairmont St Andrews, and I do hope that you had an excellent time watching and experiencing The Open? Your kind words will be shared with all the teams involved in making your stay a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 26 July 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a two day break to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary at Fairmont and can say we were very impressed from check in to check out the staff were excellent, our room was on the third floor which was very spacious and very clean. The pool and gym area are good too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you decided to spend your 10 year wedding anniversary with us here at Fairmont St Andrews, and may I say Congratulations! I will ensure that your kind compliments about the Couples Massage and your dining experience at The Clubhouse are shared with the teams involved in making your stay a special one. We hope to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

I had stayed at this hotel twice in the past with work, and had always wished that I could return. So when myself and my partner got married, I knew exactly where I wanted us to go for our short break. I had emailed the hotel a few weeks prior to our arrival to arrange afternoon tea, and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lolly22_11
Jenna_Falconer, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your incredible review following your mini-moon stay with us here at Fairmont St Andrews. We are so pleased that you had such a memorable stay and we managed to excel your expectations. We do hope that you will return to us again soon!

555 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (529)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (246)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.1 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Andrews
1,141 reviews
11.3 km away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
59 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 19 in St Andrews
1,030 reviews
4.7 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
188 reviews
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#13 of 19 in St Andrews
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: €147 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont St Andrews staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
Gourock, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont St Andrews staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views over the golf courses to the sea are great”
 of 5 bubbles keentrek, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a "Room with a View" £20 - £50”
 of 5 bubbles Caravanning, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles Shkc26, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You will need to ask for sea facing outward rooms. I think only 1/6th of rooms perhaps 2/6th will have a view of sea”
 of 5 bubbles 472gleng, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in three different rooms and they have all been good, ask for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles janetw958, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay