We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ardgowan Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (53)
360
Panoramas (14)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
82Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
37Attractionswithin 0.5 km
636Reviews
259Photos
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 233
  • 86
  • 18
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The staff were excellent . Very friendly and helpful . The rooms were lovely spacious and comfortable and my 4 adult children shared a large room with 4 single beds. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice . Would highly recommend this hotel And look forward to returning
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Kate, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us! We're so glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay, and that your children enjoyed Room 22 (my personal favourite). We hope we can welcome you all back again soon. Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Deputy Hotel Manager
Read more
Excellent service at this independent hotel, rooms and common areas are all immaculately clean and nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable and the hot water pressure is great! From the top floor the view out over the town and sea is spectacular
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in Room 38. Even though it is up all the way on the top floor with the most stairs, it certainly has a view worth the climb! We hope you can come stay with us again soon, and we'd love to welcome you back! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Deputy Hotel Manager
Read more
Very friendly staff who were eager to serve and to please - the room was small but comfortable and the shower excellent. Breakfast was disappointing - the coffee is very poor quality and the toast is cheap bread but again the staff were great. I would use it again as it is well
Read more
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello CosmicWizard, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our friendly and helpful staff really made a great impression on you while you were here. We're always looking for opportunities to improve our service, including our breakfasts, and we don't typically get complaints about what we have to offer. Our filter coffee comes to us from Edinburgh Tea and Coffee and we usually get very high praise for it. I have passed your comments along to our restaurant manager and our Director of Food and Beverage so that we can look into ways to make our breakfasts even better for our guests. We hope we can welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Deputy Hotel Manager
Read more
Arrived at the Ardgowan Hotel somewhat dishevelled, after battling our way through very strong winds. The welcome from Reception was somewhat cool, despite two girls being there. We were told we’d been up-graded to a twin room, at no additional cost, in the actual hotel ... so
Read more
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello O895ILkarenm, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not experience the level of customer service that is expected for all of our staff. You booked a room in our annexe next door, the Pilmour Hotel, on Booking.com, which we reconfirmed with you by email. The Pilmour bedrooms are all located in an adjacent building, so guests check in with us in the Ardgowan Hotel and then have to go back outside and directly next door to get to their bedrooms. We gave you a complimentary upgrade to a Classic Twin room in the main hotel, but I do apologise if this caused confusion that negatively impacted your stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of the stairs and public areas, and will pass this along to our housekeeping manager, as these are not our usual standard. As a family-run business, all of our staff here are a bit like a family and we enjoy treating our guests like they are part of this family as well. I'm disappointed that you didn't get that impression during your stay, and instead, felt as though our service was standoffish. I am glad that you were offered help with your bags and treated politely and efficiently, I'm just sorry that it wasn't the warm welcome that we always strive to give. I hope you enjoyed your time in St Andrews and we would love to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Deputy Hotel Manager
Read more
When I stay at the Ardgowan (which, as I hinted, is the only place I will now stay,) it feels more like family than a hotel. In particular, Carmen is incredibly attentive to guests needs. An American ex-pat, she has lived in St. Andrews for years and seems to understand the
Read more
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello n3103f, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a glowing review! We're all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Ardgowan. As a family-run business, it's important to us not only that guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, but that they feel like they are being welcomed into our home as part of our family. We're so glad that this has come across to you during your stay. I've passed along your comments to all of our staff, and thank you in particular for the kind comments about myself. It's always nice to hear that your hard work doesn't go unnoticed! Hope you can come stay with us again soon - we'd love to see you again! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Deputy Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementArdgowan Hotel
Drawings of the Pilmour, Annexe bathrooms which are getting refurbished and will be complete April 2019
Photo provided by managementArdgowan Hotel
Drawings of the Pilmour, Annexe bedrooms which are getting refurbished and will be complete April 2019
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArdgowan Hotel
The Pilmour Twin Room at the Ardgowan Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArdgowan Hotel
The Junior Twin Room at the Ardgowan Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArdgowan Hotel
The Junior Double Room at the Ardgowan Hotel
PreviousNext
12345631
Hi Katie, We do have a storage room that can be used to store luggage if you arrive early, this is accessible to all guests.
1 vote
Do you have parking for cars
Hi Enzo68Moston, We do not have parking however there is a street opposite that offers free parking spaces if available. Kind regards Playfairs team
0 votes
Show all answers
We guarantee our rooms from 2pm, however for a fee of £20, we can guarantee a 12pm early check in. Our breakfast is served between 7.15am - 9.15am.
0 votes
Hi where is the nearest parking please? thank you
Lots round about the hotel there is parking advice on hotel web site
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello P. Brown, We are located in St Andrews, Scotland, just around the corner from the Old Course. I believe Maidstone is in the south of England, and it's far away from our hotel! Kind Regards, Carmen
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"The view is lovely from the top floor"
"Maybe pay extra for a larger room"
"Stayed in room 21and although it was big it was lovely and warm , considering it was really cold outside"
"They're all good - the road is hardly that busy, but the back is obviously the quietest."
"Room 6 wasn't great."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ardgowan hotel st andrews
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSt Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing