We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Traveller (452)
Room & Suite (168)
Dining (35)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
1,577Reviews
515Photos
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 707
  • 460
  • 248
  • 102
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is in a stunning location right beside the old course in St Andrews and for that reason alone I think it should do better. We had two rooms and they were tiny - I’ve not seen a “double” bed so small in a long time. The shower room was great, lovely Elemis toiletries
Read more
Recently stayed with a group of golfers and although the hotel is in the perfect position overlooking the 18th and the check in by reception was excellent that is where the good bits end. We ordered afternoon cream tea in the bar and after the teas and coffees promptly arrived
Read more
Had a fantastic short break at the Rusacks, one night, dinner bed & breakfast deal - didn't disappoint. Room had fabulous views over the old course, a private balcony and great facilities in the room. Staff were very friendly and efficient - ensuring a smooth arrival and
Read more
Response from Seamus C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear grahamlowes13 Thank you for your superb five star review of our iconic Rusacks Hotel which my team and i very much appreciate. I was delighted to learn that you enjoying the stunning views out on to the Old Course and you had a wonderful stay with us which i will gladly share with all of my team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kindest regards, Seamus Coen General Manager
Read more
2 night stay. Room fabulous, large, well appointed and overlooking the old course. Staff excellent. However b’fast first morning a bit chaotic (previous reviews have it spot on). Evening drinks second night saw the hotel struggling to provide wine of choice. (Large event the
Read more
We had to wait an hour in between courses for our evening dinner. My soup was cold and had to ask for my baked roll.People at the side of us sent their food back as it was cold.we waited an hour for cheese and biscuits. The morning breakfast was worse. We were asked if we
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
View of Rusacks (Gold Sign in Middle of Picture) from Old Course
Photo provided by managementMacdonald Rusacks Hotel
Classic Suite Kitchen
View at night
View of the west sands from the room
View of clubhouse from the room
PreviousNext
12345634
Is there parking available?
There is a small car park at the rear of hotel , looking into the 18th fairway of the golf course and also street parking in the same area
0 votes
Rusucks is a better name.
Rusucks is a better name.
Not too keen then Jeffrey? Still got to admit that St Andrews is excellent! Old course hotel loads better!
0 votes
Rusucks is a better name.
Is there a self service laundry , ie: coin operated, here ?
No but there is a laundry service by which any clothing can be sent away and washed and ironed and back the same day. Or for dry cleaning back in 2 days.
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"Give yourself plenty of time if you want afternoon cream tea."
"Rooms overlooking the golf course"
"Ask for golf course view"
"Overlooking Old Course and sea"
"Maybe lower room to avoid waiting on the Elevator!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald rusacks st andrewshotel macdonald rusacksrusacks hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSt Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing