We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Save
Share
Leslie Road Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY7 5PS Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$89
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Glenrothes
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
372Reviews9Q+A53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 159
  • 141
  • 56
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicola wrote a review Jul 2021
Banchory, United Kingdom16 contributions17 helpful votes
5/5 Checked in this afternoon and I was greeted by a lovely lady called Lee. Lee was polite friendly and helpful. She went out of her way to make me feel welcome. Holiday Inn Glenrothes ticks all the boxes for me when staying away for work. My main delighted I how Lee welcomed me and spoke to me when I passed by reception. Lee you are a credit to the Holiday Inn and I am most greatly for how you interacted with me. Thank you very much.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The hotel Is very busy this week as is the restaurant next door. Book In advance so your not...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
A S wrote a review Jul 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom212 contributions102 helpful votes
We had seen an advert for a Scarecrow Trail and a Scavenger Hunt in Elie, and always looking for something different to do, decided to go down for these. We had enough points for a couple of rewards nights with IHG properties, so chose to take advantage if this to book this hotel. We are platinum members, and this was acknowledged at check in and we were offered our welcome amenity. Our special requests (quiet room and additional pillows) were not mentioned. Our room was quiet but there were no additional pillows. The lady checking us in was very 'door' and never raised a smile during the entire check in process. She appeared to be concentrating very hard on working the computers (I suspect lack of confidence was at play here). The room was quiet, and pretty much clean - there were a some finger marks on the light at the desk. The shower curtain could have done with being an inch longer, as when you are in the shower, if you so much as breath on it, the bottom flips out and hangs outside of the shower tray. This room is not geared up for females - the only mirror with a socket near it has nowhere to lay straightners down, or if doing make up, you need to either stand or sit on the floor. The bed was not comfortable - it sank in the middle, so my hubby and I had much cosier nights than were anticipated. I didn't check, but assume that it was a 'zip n link'. If this is the case, the matresses really need to be replaced. The bed is on wheels, and if you it up and lean against the headboard/wall to read/watch TV - the bed moves away from the wall. At breakfast, there was no sign telling you what the plan was, and there appeared to be only one, very harrassed lady working. We took a seat at a table and helped ourselves to orange juice & coffee. Husband went and made toast, but was unable to find plates to put it on, so we had buttered toast on napins at the table. Other people came in after us and were served by this lady, and got their cooked breakfast. When she eventually came to us, we were told that there was a 10 minute wait whilst they cooked more food. I abstained, but hubby took a fully cooked breakfast. When it arrived, I was so glad that I had swerved it....everything was just thrown on the plate in a pile - not very appetising, and the bacon jus looked horrific. Hubby, who has the constitution of an ox, managed to eat this, but didn't take it on our second morning. When we left, the plates had still not been replenished and all the mugs had been used so people were taking hot drinks in paper cups. The good points about this hotel are it's location - it is a great location to be based in for exploring East Fife. It has a free car park, and it has unlimited, free hot drinks, juice and water from dispensers in the lounge area. The rooms are what you would expect from a budget hotel. The not so good bits were really the staff - from the unsmiling and unwelcoming receptionist to the harassed & disorganised lady serving at breakfast. This really shone the place in a bad light. The bed was another negative. Would I go back again? Not sure - staff change over time, so might give the place the benefit of the doubt for another visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
pompeytoffee22 wrote a review Jun 2021
Gosport, United Kingdom725 contributions245 helpful votes
+1
Reason of stay: Family funeral After a long journey from the south coast we arrived, check in was easy even though I was given the details of another family members checkin form. Room was ok not great dead insects on the window ledge, cobwebs hanging over the bed shower unit dirty looking with a rusty soap and shower tray. Walls are paper thin and after being disturbed by the inconsiderate guests in the next room with their shouting and slamming doors and complaint twice to reception and nothing being done about it. We managed to get a late check out which was handy so at least family had somewhere to go before the funeral as you’re not allowed to use the hotel toilet in reception because of covid regulations. Another member of family had a double inter connecting room and had no hot water. Breakfast was just ok not great and I’m sure other hotels in the area are better and cleaner than this one. I was hoping for a fairly decent nights sleep after an 8 hours drive and failed to get that.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi pompeytoffee22, I am glad you left feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes! We always wanted our guests to have a delightful stay, no matter what the purpose of the travel is. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your recent stay with us, particularly with cleanliness, noise, and the lack of hot water. IHG Hotels & Resorts sincerely cares about your experience, and I appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. We look forward to hosting you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
aussiefella92 wrote a review Jun 2021
Stirling, United Kingdom27 contributions11 helpful votes
Firstly id like to say great place to stay, perfect location, great breakfast, egor he was amazing so friendly and very helpful, rooms are great for the price the only reason for 4 stsr not 5 was because my boyfriend and i arrived at around 10am knowing that we cant check in untill 3pm but i had called to make sure we could leave our bags somewhere so we can make the most of the day, how ever the girl who was on the desk dodnt even say hello or anything her response was you know you cant check in untill 3pm and after i explained i had called and was told we could leave our bags she pointed to the floor at thw corner of the desk said you cab leave them there and walked away didnt help with directions or ask if we needed anything. I also need to wee badly and she refused to let me use a toilet i had to pee in the Bush out the front which is not acceptable at all. She was total rude and unprofessional. So based on egors and the older ladys the next morning at breakfast i gave a 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only thing to avoid is that rude girl who we had to deal with i pray she was having a bad day but...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Chillin2812 wrote a review Mar 2020
Corfu, Greece22 contributions46 helpful votes
Booked our night at Glenrothes for a stop over when en route. We were checked in by a very welcoming young man who pointed out the hot & cold refreshments available. Our room was as expected with lovely shower room, plenty hot water, soft towels, extra pillows and room temperature controls although I have to say the bed was not quite as comfortable as usual We were also aware of fellow guests passing through the fire door outside our room in the corridor. Breakfast was fine - basic selection but all tasty. Sadly the cooked choices didn’t stay hot for long as the plates were stone cold. But with the cost included in the price of the room it is still good value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Responded 16 Feb 2021
Hi Chillin2812, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,Glad to see you had a pleasant stay and have noted your comments regarding the cold plates at breakfast. We hope to welcome you back again Regards Dan
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel glenrothes, holiday inn express glenrothes, holiday inn glenrothes, glenrothes holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeGlenrothes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Nearby attractions include Falkland Palace & Garden (5.6 km), Cluny Activities (5.3 km), and Lomond Hills (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Stanes Bar & Grill, The Kettlebridge Inn, Bar & Italian Restaurant, and The Madhouse Bakery.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Markinch and Thornton Parish Church (3.4 km), Scotlandwell Wash House and Well (7.7 km), and Balbirnie Stone Circle (2.5 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.