We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safestay Edinburgh

Save
Share
50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
US$89
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$89
US$73
View deal
SAVE US$16
Hotels.comUS$81
Expedia.comUS$81
FindHotelUS$76
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (218)
room_amp_suite (65)
phototagging_dining (44)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#31 of 314 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_taxi_service
hotel_amenity_24_hour_security
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
hotel_amenity_self_serve_laundry
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_vending_machine
hotel_amenity_non_smoking_hotel
hotel_amenity_shared_kitchen
hotel_amenity_atm_on_site
Show more
Room features
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_bath_shower
Room types
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_family_rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_11266
hotel_style_tag_5184
Languages Spoken
hotel_amenity_english
1943Reviews15Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 723
  • 730
  • 295
  • 97
  • 98
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ellen H wrote a review 6 Jun
4 contributions
First off, I'd like to start by saying that I understand that the noise issues are out of the reach of regular staff at this hostel. However, I do believe that people looking into booking a room here should be made aware that there is significant noise coming from the bar below and also the bars and pubs in the area, and this made it very difficult to sleep. In addition, the sleep wasn't helped by the incredibly squeaky beds and stone hard mattresses. Second, my biggest issue with our stay was the general uncleanliness of the room. Upon arrival, we immediately noticed that there was no hand soap in the dispenser in our en-suite. We went to reception to ask for more hand soap and were given body wash instead. As body wash is not the same as antibacterial hand soap, we went to a nearby shop to purchase our own soap. I think that in Covid times especially, this is not okay, and poses a health hazard. In addition, there was a used coffee mug in our room with coffee stains and a used stirrer next to it. There was also a layer of dust everywhere, including A LOT of dust on the floor, which made it seem like the room had barely been cleaned. Again, due to Covid, this made us feel incredibly unsafe and uncomfortable on what was meant to be a lovely getaway now that it is finally allowed. Prior to the visit, I had been sent emails about all the ways Safestay was upping their hygiene and cleanliness, and I was shocked to find the state of our room. A used coffee cup in a room would be gross in regular times, however in the current state of the world I think it is unacceptable, as is the lack of hand soap on the premises (as the receptionist could not provide an additional one upon request). Overall, we were very disappointed in our stay, especially as this hostel has great reviews on here which we trusted. It's in a good location but I would think twice before booking here due to the noise, uncomfortable beds, and the very unclean room which seemed it hadn't been cleaned at all. I have stayed at fantastic budget hostels before, which were way cleaner and staff much more helpful. Definitely would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: Not applicable. Unable to recommend any room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Edinburgh, Other at Safestay Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Ellen for writing us a review. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us as you expected. We are currently investigation the issues you had with the room and what exactly happened. We will pass on your comments to the relevant department in order to work on this issue as soon as we can. Apologize again about that and hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and safe travels ahead. All the best.
Read more
Horacio wrote a review Mar 2021
United Kingdom2 contributions
Great location, in the heart of the city. Inside is clean and with contemporary furnitures, just a lovely place. Will definitely come back when in Edinburgh in the future. Shout-out to the nice and helpful staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: Guests get discounts in the bar
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Edinburgh, Owner at Safestay Edinburgh
Responded 4 May 2021
Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you also had a great time exploring our beautiful Edinburgh and have safe travels ahead. Take care Reception team 😊
Read more
Karen Mcg wrote a review Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had a fantastic stay here the place is spotless. Room immaculate clean sheets and towel had en suite Bar 50 was great very modern and food gorgeous reasonably priced too Staff so friendly and helpful. Great location minutes walk to royal mile. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
ur_question.prompt.11
Service
userrating.prompt.190
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Edinburgh, Other at Safestay Edinburgh
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you also had a great time exploring our beautiful Edinburgh and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Take care! Reception team 😊
Read more
r0by583 wrote a review Oct 2020
Rome, Italy43 contributions24 helpful votes
The place is very clean and quiet, the staff is helpful and patient in answering any question. The location is great, just a few minutes from the castle and Waverley station. There's also a pub just below the rooms, which is very nice and serve very good food. Being during the covid pandemic, we felt very safe staying at this accommodation. Just a suggestion, bring your own hairdryer if you think you'll need it, because due to covid you can't borrow one from them. We only had a problem: parking. On Booking we read that there was parking available, but it turned out that they don't have any, you just have to park in the city, which costs £25 per day. They didn't offer us any other option. As parking is free during the night (6.30 pm to 8.30 am) we solved the problem by bringing the car to a park-and-ride (which are free) during the day and taking a train back to the city centre. Very annoying, but much cheaper since we were only 2 people.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Edinburgh, Other at Safestay Edinburgh
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Thank you very much r0by583 for sharing your experience in our hostel. We appreciate the support and feedback, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you also had a great time exploring our beautiful Edinburgh and have safe travels ahead. Take care! Reception team 😊
Read more
Beth wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had a great time during my time here. The place was very clean and the staff were extremely welcoming and lovely. Also loved the bar, which had a fun atmoshpere. Would definitely come back at the next opportunity
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Edinburgh, Other at Safestay Edinburgh
Responded 26 Sep 2020
Thank you very much 284bethm for your nice review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you also had a great time exploring our beautiful Edinburgh and have safe travels ahead. Take care! Reception team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$35 - US$563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
smart city hostels edinburgh hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghCowgate / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing