We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

PricelineUS$202*
View Deal
#83 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$233*
US$202*
US$233*
US$226*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

776 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 754: English reviews
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I treated my friend to an overnight stay at Le Monde for her birthday having viewed it online. We were not disappointed and had a fabulous stay. On arrival, we were given a lovely glass of champagne by the friendly receptionist in very sumptuous surroundings. Our room was called "Paris" and it was decorated accordingly...really stunning. Lovely, mouthwatering chocolates had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth D
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

We are delighted with your positive review and I thank you for taking time to post your feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back to Le Monde next time! Kind regards, Mike Allan Hotel Manager

Glasgow
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was taken as a surprise birthday treat for an overnight stay at La Monde and what a fabulous time we had! The staff were very friendly and the service was superb from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. On arriving at reception we were offered a glass of champagne and were made to feel very welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Jacqui, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Le Monde. We strive to add that extra personal touch to our guests' experience, whatever the occasion, and I'm glad you were made to feel so special on your birthday. Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. Best regards, Mike Allan Hotel...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a dinner and breakfast deal. We stayed in the 'Milan' Room which was very nice- even if the giant photos of supermodels are a bit disconcerting at first lol! The food on both the dinner and breakfast menu was lovely and you could choose to eat in your room or in the restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Kirsty, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Le Monde. There certainly is lots to do not only within the hotel but right on the doorstep too. The dinner, bed & breakfast package is a great deal and I'm pleased you enjoyed the...

north yorkshire
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A top quality, stylish and truly unique hotel! Highly recommend it. We arrived at reception and were offered a free glass of champagne whilst waiting to check in- nice touch! We were given the Tokyo room- which was wonderful! The bars downstairs have a vibrant atmosphere on the evening and the cocktails were exceptional. Would most definitely choose to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucywray
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you Lucy for taking time out to leave your wonderful feedback. The bar team are delighted to hear that you found the cocktails to be "exceptional"! Please don't hesitate to contact us directly when booking your next stay and let us talk you through some of our other destination rooms and hotel packages. Until the next time! Mike Allan...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at La Monde for a girly weekend treat. We wanted luxury and that was definitely what we received! When we arrived we were met by friendly staff in a heady candle scented reception area and asked if we would like a glass of champagne (silly question). The room we were allocated was Tokyo which as very chic, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poppystevo
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review, it certainly sounds like you made the most of the full Le Monde experience! We strive to provide our guests with everything they could wish for all under one roof and we are delighted to hear that you got to sample and enjoy every location. You may only live once but Le...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Had a lovely night here. Friday into the Saturday. Food was wonderful and staff lovely in bar. I thought the rooms where well decorated and kept to a good standard. Stayed in Rio suite :-) TV was a bit faulty but the staff where quick to sort it for us. Although didn't know there was a swimming pool or fitness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marmaladeyum
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Le Monde. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great team of hard-working staff here and I'm glad we were able to rectify the problems with your T.V. Just to clarify, we don't have a fitness centre or swimming pool but we are able to provide excellent recommendations...

Dublin
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We went here for a meal to celebrate my nephews 17th Birthday. It is a gorgeous place in a lovely location in edinburgh. We ate upstairs and the service was good. The food was lovely 3 courses - I had the bruschetta, chicken and meringue - all were really tasty and well presented. There was a choice of 3 Starters,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to share your Le Monde experience. We may not be ideally suited for young children in the evening but during the day we are always happy to accommodate families, we also offer a Kid's Menu so please ask next time you're in. Our Sunday Social offer is a great deal and is...

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a short break in the New York suite. It lived up to its reputation for quality and we felt truly spoilt from the moment we walked through the door. The reception staff were friendly, very approachable and not at all distant as we had read in some previous reviews. The room itself was absolutely beautiful! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Powerpuff66
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so pleased that you were spoiled and found our staff to be so welcoming. New York is a fabulous suite and it's my favourite too. Please do keep us in mind next time you're looking for an extra special break away. Many thanks, Mike Allan Hotel Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for one night in January and it was one of the most exceptional experiences I have had staying in a hotel in a long time. From the trendy bars to the themed rooms this hotel had everything could you get ever dream of!!!! From arrival the staff could not have been more helpful. The room I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireN35
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you Claire for your fabulous review! Le Monde is full of excitement and I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Please feel free to call our Front of House Team on 0131 270 3900 when booking again and we will be delighted to talk you through some of our other individually designed suites. We'll also be able to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed 1 night for business and was pleasantly surprised. I usually stay in the George which is virtually opposite, but that was full and don't regret it. Room was spacious and clean with an excellent bathroom. Staff were friendly & while I did not eat there the bar got a good testing, Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adrianhands

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Executive Room Atlantis (22)
Viewed
Executive Room Berlin (30)
Viewed
Executive Room Milan (18)
Viewed
Executive Room Paris (28)
Viewed
Executive Room Reykjavik (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Casablanca (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite New York (32)
Viewed
Large Superior Room Rio (32)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room Havana (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dirty Martini
The Dirty Martini
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: €146 - €401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Boutique so it depends what you prefer, city or country themed rooms.”
caschetp, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Each room is different based on cities of the world! So take your fancy!”
SuzanneD843, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one that looks on to George Street. Especially at Christmas”
deej11, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy because of the club below. Didn't hear a sound in the Tokyo Suite”
636looby, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid the room facing club down stairs”
KaiW_12, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$202* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$233
TravelocityUS$226
TripAdvisorUS$201
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates