We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abercorn Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abercorn Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
Start your review of Abercorn Guest House
 Click to rate
albufeira
Reviewed 1 week ago

this was a delightful guest house with charming and helpful hosts but totally overpriced for the facilities on offer. the room was adequate and nicely furnished. It has beautiful sash Georgians windows which give you a hernia when trying to open to let in some fresh air. The pillows were poor as was the very thin duvet. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davids981
Angela M, Owner at Abercorn Guest House, responded to this review

Hello David, Thank you for your review and we are sorry you were not happy with the price for the rugby weekend and some other issues in your room. At the time of booking I explained fully on the telephone that we only had two rooms available for the rugby it was filling quickly and we were selling them as...

Weymouth
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Abercorn. We were met by Angela and her husband who were so welcoming and helpful. Our room was enormous (room 8) and very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The breakfasts were amazing - beautifully presented in a cozy dining room with fresh flowers and candles on the table. The owners were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purplevonny
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We spent one night here and loved every minute - It's literally everything you could ever want in a (very) reasonably priced Guesthouse. free parking, 5 mins from beach, great house full of character and rooms that blew us away! Capturing that elusive balance between stylish and cozy just perfectly, they were a treat. Free wifi, roomy with high ceilings,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan B
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

My husband booked a long weekend in Edinburgh for my Xmas present, and boy did it deliver! We could have stayed closer to town but if we had done so we wouldn't have discovered this little gem of a guest house. The owner, Angela, is a chatty, friendly owner who did us the massive favour of letting us check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becci D
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for a weekend break, a truly wonderful experience! The setting as you enter the garden through the big white gate is fantastic, giving a great preview of what awaits. The room we had was beautifully decorated, spacious, cosy and with a great comfy bed. Breakfast each morning was lovely, cooked to perfection and accompanied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Booked last minute and was lucky to get a cancellation of rooms. Arrived and was made to feel most welcome, hosts really friendly. Rooms lovely and really clean. Luxurious fixtures and fittings made it feel really special. Breakfast fresh and a good quality of food and tableware. Definitely recommend this and will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scaifee2
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights for my birthday. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the hosts were very welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and the host brought us some coffee on arrival. You can park in the street for free and there was a bus stop just outside the guest house which takes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clement C
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Can't praise this guesthouse highly enough. From the welcome to the departure everything was 100%. So much better than than an impersonal chain hotel. Warm genuine hosts. Angela is a natural hostess. I will definitely return on my next visit to Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tengallon
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Very nice guest house. Serve a good breakfast.had a lovely 4night stay .Angela is very lovely person who does her best to make you feel at home. Very near to the Portobello beach .Bus stop very handy withfrequent buses into Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grfisher2016
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This lovely guest house deserves 5 stars and more The location is brilliant near the beach in Portobello There is a bus stop near by with regular service to Edinburgh town centre The hospitality was fantastic, the rooms big and beautiful the beds very comfortable and breakfast delicious Definitely would recommend this lovely place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annemieke503

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
741 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 445 in Edinburgh
339 reviews
Bield B&B
#57 of 445 in Edinburgh
213 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 445 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abercorn is a large Victorian family property, an Old Manse built in 1870. This luxurious four-star GOLD accommodation has recently been refurbished and offers double ,twin and family rooms for up to 5 persons. Easy access to city center every 10 minutes and the buses are 24 hours a day and close to sandy beach, shops and restaurants. A very warm welcome awaits, so why not book today and have a superb stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abercorn Guest House

Address: 1 Abercorn Terrace | Joppa Portobello Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH15 2DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: €79 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abercorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abercorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercorn Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Abercorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abercorn Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Orange, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Abercorn Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms look lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles purplevonny, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are on the ground floor. And very spacious very”
 of 5 bubbles grfisher2016, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms looked fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles annemieke503, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lovely big rooms with nice big windows and high ceilings and beautifully decorated . nice big comfy beds and fresh clean white bedding ...”
 of 5 bubbles Maidenreview, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are quiet despite being on the ground floor with roads nearby”
 of 5 bubbles TCKK, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5