We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarin Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarin Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Clarin Guest House
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really lovely people run this place and on first sight the guest house is great. First impressions are sort of victoriana. We had two rooms, one on the first floor and one on the second. Both looked clean but on inspection the better room of the 2 was on the first floor. It was less cramped and seemed to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TootlesLondon
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful visit to Edinburgh and we stayed in this gorgeous guesthouse. Upon arrival, we were met by Andy, who spent a good bit of time chatting to us about where to visit, eat and how to travel. This was such a lovely touch and we made sure we followed his recommendations!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSykes
Catania, Italy
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This Guest House is the best choice you can make when staying in Edinburgh and searching for a very clean, comfortable and quiet accommodation. Our room was not so big (we didn't have where to place things on in the bathroom) but comfortable and clean, pleasantly furnished. We slept on the best pillows of our life! All of this in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IreneGugliotta
Pant
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights and cannot recommend enough. Really clean, good facilities. When sat in the room you could have been in the middle of knowwhere it was so quiet. Really warm welcome from Andy and the recommended Abbey Bar up the road was excellent. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Although I had paid for 3 nights in advance, and had done nothing wrong I was thrown out on the second night in the early hours of the morning Although I have demanded my money back I have not received a refund for the two nights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel you had done nothing wrong here! however I must disagree, as advised by Police there was aggressive behavior in the street towards your partner (passers by called the police) your partner had to be brought home at 4am by police to obtain her belongings, I know you had some drinks and were not in the...

Tea Gardens, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This is a lovely guest house. We had a charming and well-appointed room up a couple of flights of stairs; quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Kim was extremely helpful - a very lovely lady. She gave us great advice about where to eat, buses to catch etc. We had a very comfortable stay and would not hesitate to recommend Clarin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TGChrissey
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 22 July 2016

It is a very nice hotel. The room is huge and very beautiful, beds are comfortable and the staff is very nice. City center is just a 20 minute walk away. But there was no WC in the room and we had to share it. It wasn't such a bad thing, though, as people were very kind. I totally recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Álvaro B
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Beautiful victorian house. We had a lovely room at the top, nice comfortable beds and clean room. The owner was extra nice and showed us what we should see and where we can grab a bite to eat. All his recommendationd were great. The location is ok, 20 minute walk to the city center and probably much quicker with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alenka_travels
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I would just like to say what lovely people Kim and Andy the owners are I've been to clarin guest house twice now and goin again in August and new year nothing is to much trouble for them they go out of there way to help if needed New Year's Eve day in returnin back to bb what a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judyjones63
Colorado
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. We got in extremely late but the owners gave us easy self-checkin instructions so that we could get right to bed. The room was spacious for European standards. The beds were extremely comfy! We had a shared toilet on the floor, but the shower was one floor lower and shared by two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelly813

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.0 km away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#121 of 445 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
0.5 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
37 reviews
0.2 km away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#51 of 445 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#204 of 445 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
0.4 km away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
198 reviews
0.2 km away
Minto Guest House
Minto Guest House
#168 of 445 in Edinburgh
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Clarin Guest House

Address: 4 East Mayfield | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: €53 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Clarin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarin Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clarin Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor is fine for less able bodied access”
 of 5 bubbles 46Joanne, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room number 3.”
  • Our love nest
 of 5 bubbles Metallifan1993, 16 Feb 2014 | Read review
“We were up the top floor and it was a wonderful room with ensuite.”
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
 of 5 bubbles Yogi13_11, 17 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Not all rooms have an en suite but the bathroom was across the hall and it wasn't a problem. There was a sink in the room as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 987garethd, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with an ensuite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles LynetteMin, 26 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5