We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Piries Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Piries Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Piries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
miami, fl
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in the Piries Hotel during the time of the Tattoo in 2013. We really did not have very many places to chose from and would not have stayed here if there had been a bigger choice. That being said, it was fine. Nothing fancy but quite comfortable. The room was huge, the bathroom small. The room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beisenbp
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh Please accept my apology for the experience you had with the staff member which I can assure you this is not a common practice within Piries team Meanwhile, I will be writing to you in person with more details on overall stay Once...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Needed some where to stay in Edinburgh for a couple of nights. Booked this months ago. Nearer the time I looked at some of the reviews and had that feeling of impending doom I had that time I stayed at the Days Inn at junction 8a of the M40! A lot of very very derogatory reviews made me dread the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sid M
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh.. I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and the curtains were the gem.. Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have never been to a hotel where you have to request a bath mat and there are no hand towels. The whole place was shabby and dingy and the staff were either unhelpful or had zero touristic knowledge. Extremely poor value for money and a bad experience overall. Edinburgh is stunning though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh. I apologize for your bad experience with us but I must say this is not our approach to guest or to our business Bath mats are available 24hours on request(as per note in each room).this is part of our Green policy Piries Hotel is classified as...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013

it was not "blow you out of the water" amazing. but it was a good hotel. staff were very helpful. It was a relaxed atmosphere which I appreciated. The hotel could do to invest in a bit of bathroom maintenance. I would def go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kleintjie
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future Kind Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Gibraltar
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Never in my life, full of travelling to many countries, have my wife or I been insulted so much by the person who should care for his clients. The General Manager K. I. The room we were to spend 6 days in was a converted chicken pen or pig sty! Definitely not the room I paid for or that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raphael6488
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh. without going into much details I would like to stress that my conversation with yourself did not go to the point that I have to say JUST GO. I put this down to language barrier. However, I would like to summarize the efforts my team...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2013

stayed here in june for 3nights was pleasntly surprised, very cosy, and spacious. Area is great you can get off at newmarket station and its just around the corner Only 5 minute train to city centre. Very quiet comfy rooms, and staff are helpful. The eating estsblishments in the area are plentiful and varied, fully recomend to families or group...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vozzian
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments/feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted to learn that your stay was up to your expectations Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Reviewed 29 July 2013

So booked this for my birthday back in April. Forgot to write a review at the time. Room was vile yellow stains on the pillows and they had no covers, stained walls and sheets. Hairs all over bed including what looked like pubic hairs. Had to leave and stayed in a different hotel Glad it was through superbreak, as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blurtle
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. It took me a while to find your records as you have stayed last April 2013. First I would like to apologize for your experience but I have to say that you didn't give the team 5 minutes to put things right(change your room for example) With regards to refund. the team were...

Reviewed 17 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in July. The hotel was like an oven and there is no aircon and only small window to open. Other rooms bathroom extractor fans extremely noisy and lots of noise from other guests. Breakfast was a disappointment - we were told that we had an upgrade and breakfast was included but when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theholidaymaker113
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh. May I take this opportunity and clear that your package you booked with Superbreaks was standard twin room only(breakfast not included). The reception staff did explain at check in and have managed to upgrade your booking to an executive twin room I agree that...

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst in Edinburgh. This hotel is very nice. We got upgraded to a suite too which was unexpected and very nice! The staff were friendly and the hotel is clean. The breakfast is okay. If you go expecting a full cooked breakfast then you will be disappointed as it is a continental. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigblade40
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Piries team was up to your expectations Once again may I take this opportunity and thank you for staying with us Looking forward to welcome you in not too far...

Reviewed 23 June 2013

After a 7 hour drive to get here we find out that there is no Parking and that we will have to Pay £12 a day to park at the premier inn... Not amused. Room is small, bathroom is modern but door is broken and all the bedroom floor is damp. Not overly impressed. Reception staff are very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chazeh S
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh I agree that parking arrangement is not the best but we have no control over it. with regards to wet floor. after investigation it appears that the radiator was leaking overnight in your room which caused the carpet to be wet..The issue has...

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#142 of 150 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 150 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
720 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: €42 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Piries Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Malta
over a year ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Piries Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't accept a room you are not happy with as they appear to have larger rooms according to other reviews.”
 of 5 bubbles maryirl2017, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This basement room has stairs going down to it,not easy with luggage. You need to sort out parking,street has residents parking.”
 of 5 bubbles barbarajalmond, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe rooms in the main building may be more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 846Anna, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 42 as for others no idea apart from a couple of ladies said there room in the m,ain building was a bit small”
 of 5 bubbles philip2781, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 33 at the back so very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DEEYGEE3, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5