We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#87 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 581: English reviews
Start your review of Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
 Click to rate
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Lovely clean, warm rooms with original features and lighting. Easy walking distance of the city centre, good restaurants and the Castle. We would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GabrielleS50
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gabrielle, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful Georgian townhouse with original features, and also very lucky to be located where we are. I cannot agree with you more in...

Boldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were polite, friendly and approachable. Our package included a glass of procecco for each of us, however at the time we asked for our glass, they had ran out. So instead they offered us a drink of anything from the bar instead, can't get better service than that. The non cooked breakfasts were nice there was a selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabrum26
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was most enjoyable. Our staff take great pride in offering exceptional customer service and we are always more that happy to assist. I can only apologies that we did not have prosecco, however I am pleased to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spacious, beautiful rooms with a chandelier and everything. The hotel also has a quaint private pub on the ground floor. Location is a stone's throw away from deans village. Also city centre is a 25 min walk or you can take the team is only 5 min walk away. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julian, Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that that you enjoyed your stay and that our Manor Suite was found to be a beautiful room. We are very lucky to be located to where we are, as it's good to be so central yet, so far...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On the first night of our two night stay the room was very cold. The wall heater didn't work and the radiator was cold. No one came up to fix or bring us heating or extra covers. We slept in cardigans and my son was fully clothed. I told reception it wasn't acceptable. Eventually someone bled the radiator the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceyp295
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for comments on your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to work the heaters in the room. On your departure it was found that the electric radiator on the wall, did in fact work, it was just that you hadn't turned it on. In regards to the central heating, this...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, Staff went out of their way to please us. They were very helpful. Breakfast was nice, Room clean, Nice informal atmosphere, Hotel is conveniently for Edinburgh city, Bus stop 10 minute walk.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Owen S
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Owen, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that our staff were able to assist with your needs. On behalf of myself and the team, I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to share your comments,...

Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel lovely, from the minute we walked through the door reception staff really friendly, offered to park car, which was in a large garage just a short walk away. We were given a map and lots of information on the area to get us going. Room very clean with everything you would need including tea and coffee. Nice breakfast, at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne h
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that our staff were able to help and assist you with what to see and do in Edinburgh. Our housekeeping team always ensure rooms are cleaned to a high standard and these comments I will pass on to them. On behalf of myself...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great stay in the Thistle Hotel Edinburgh. Lovely room, friendly staff, nice breakfast, and great location for Princess Street. 10 minute walk from hotel to Princess Street. Breakfast is continental but plenty to eat, lovely and fresh.Bar for residents.Great for shopping and the Castle.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary K
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. Our staff do take great pride in offering exceptional customer service to all guests to ensure that we are able to assist. All our breakfast items are freshly prepared daily as we believe that a continental selection...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fab stat in the heart of Edinburgh. Room was upgraded on arrival free of change. Bed was so comfortable we missed breakfast. Staff very attentive especially Joe who couldn't de enough for us. Definitely will be going back. Well done.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank francena2015
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Francena, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. Our staff take great pride in offering exceptional customer service, and I will make sure I pass your comment on to Joe. On behalf of myself and everyone at the Thistle...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. I can highly recommend this lovely hotel. Really classy and grand. Superb location , nice and quiet. The staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are comfy and very clean. Defo worth a visit and superb value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stodnfrench
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Edinburgh. We thrive in offering exceptional customer service and are always here to help and assist with anything that you may need. On behalf of myself and the team, we thank you for your comments, and hope...

sunderland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here for one night with me and wife on a groupon.The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the train station and only 5 minutes from Princess street.The hotel is three stars which is about right.It is dated and could do with a upgrade but our room was clean and we had a continental breakfast in with the deal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladsarmy1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are very lucky to be located in the city centre yet away from the noise of the main busy traffic. Over the coming months, all our rooms will be going through refurbishment to ensure that...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,234 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,306 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: €88 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor has bested views but more stairs to climb”
gabrum26, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had the Manor Suite every comfortable and clean. Basement room but felt spacious”
francena2015, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded day before , well worth it for larger room and cooked breakfast ..”
janbram66, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms are all up stairs ,, no lifts so must be at least able to get to rooms,, i had first floor”
E3478DNthomasb, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lif;t not all rooms have a bath”
JohnG103, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5