We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,915: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First stay was good, although awoken at 9am by noise from work being done in the hotel. Complained - given money off next stay so booked again. Next stay was great, good room, good service, even had chocolates delivered to our room. However yet again out stay took an odd turn with 2 teenagers trying to rob the hotel bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaJSkinner
Wigan, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a faultless three night stay at this hotel. We upgraded to an Executive Room at a cost of an extra £10 per night - worth every penny! The room, on the fifth floor, had a fabulous view of the castle and surrounding skyline and also boasted a Nespresso machine, Bluetooth Bose system (which we loved), nice comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShazandLisa L
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted to hear you had such a great experience and that we succeeded in making your wife's birthday memorable. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel from walking in to leaving Staff lovely gave kids a little gift nice touch Room spot on lovely and warm which is what we needed in January Pool was a lovely extra kids loved it Was small but didn't get too busy when we were there Breakfast couldn't fault it staff excellent Yes we would return back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear Debbie P, Thank you very much for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you and your lovely family have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future so you can explore all that Edinburgh has to offer. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So we visit the Novotels in Edinburgh and Glasgow regularly, you wouldn't know they were the same brand! One can't do enough to help you, the other always seems to fall short. First, in all fairness, the good bits.. the room, excellent, clean, castle could actually be seen from a castle-view room, and apart from the design faults which are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon K
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear jon K, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed about your stay and that you were communicated different information on the website and in the reception. We do take your opinion very seriously and I will make sure to personally handle this matter. If you wish to share your experience...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good for location nice central location particularly for the castle and shopping and of course Murrayfield stadium. The Staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel ticks all the right boxes to obtain 4star rating, however, No drop off area outside the hotel. Vehicles were parking in the cycle lane forcing cyclist into the main traffic. Limited parking arrangements...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear Alexander B, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed about your stay. We do take your opinion very seriously, this is why if you wish to share your experience in more details, please contact me directly at 0131 656 3500. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights in February. The location of the hotel is brilliant, you can walk to the castle and the Grassmarket square in less than 10 mins and there is a great little breakfast cafe around the corner when you come out from the entrance and take a left. We loved the cafe as we could get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyelashmcd
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear eyelashmcd, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you took advantage of our prime location. However I am sorry to hear that you deemed our prices for the dining area too high and that you were dissatisfied with the wifi. If you would like to expand on your review, you can contact...

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Novotel, where we had stayed several times before, was a bad experience with very little sleep. We booked 2 nights well in advance of our stay, asking for a quiet room. Before checking in online on the day of departure/arrival, we called ahead to confirm that we would be given a quiet room. We were promised...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kerrser
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kerrser, I was very disappointed to read your review and extremely sorry to hear you were disturbed during the day. Our Refurbishment is working through the hours of 9am-6pm Monday to Friday and 10:30am-4pm at weekend’s. I have spoken directly to the contractor about the noise you have reported early in the service yard. I have sent you an...

Gibraltar
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Standards are what you would expect from a Novotel hotel. The room was very clean. A nice touch on having a bluetooth speaker and Nespresso coffee machine. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food. The toaster was next to useless but nothing to make an issue out of. The breakfast staff were very good and remembered our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gibfamily
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear Gibfamily, Thank you very much for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you are happy with the consistency of the Novotel standards. However I was sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the housekeeping services and will make sure to address personally the issue. We look forward to welcoming your lovely family very soon. Kind regards,...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While the room decor was quite simple (they are in the middle of a refurbishment), it was spotless and the view was stunning! The main reception area is lovely. It has a modern eclectic cosy feel with a Scottish touch that isn't your typical "twee". The food was excellent, as were the drinks (although if you order a long vodka...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperShopperSami
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear SuperShopperSami, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and our dining services. We thus look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Novotel central was one of the best hotels I have stayed, the staff were so welcoming to my family and helped with any matter. The hotel made us feel so welcome, this was a surprise city break for my Mothers 70th birthday and they kindly upgraded us and we had a view of the castle the room was beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gaynor F
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear Gaynor F, Thank you very much for your review, I am so delighted to hear that we succeeded in making your mother's birthday special. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your lovely family and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,155 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,201 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €94 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“castle view is nice”
 of 5 bubbles LisaJSkinner, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an executive room, well worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles Gibfamily, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can opt for a Castle view, which is stunning!”
  • View
 of 5 bubbles SuperShopperSami, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 5th floor and no problems”
 of 5 bubbles carters220556, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a view of the castle”
 of 5 bubbles L4273CCjohnw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5