We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    Budget Backpackers

    37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (145)
          Dining (82)
          Room & Suite (67)
          Castle Rock Hostel
          1,488 reviews
          #3 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Safestay Edinburgh
          1,359 reviews
          #11 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          High Street Hostel
          423 reviews
          #19 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Haggis Hostels
          394 reviews
          #14 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Overview
          • Excellent33%
          • Very good45%
          • Average13%
          • Poor5%
          • Terrible4%
          Travellers talk about
          “bed dorm” (40 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Kitchenette
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          4.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          Castle Rock Hostel
          1,488 reviews
          #3 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Safestay Edinburgh
          1,359 reviews
          #11 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          High Street Hostel
          423 reviews
          #19 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Haggis Hostels
          394 reviews
          #14 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (772)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Budget Backpackers See the most recent reviews

          211 - 215 of 772 reviews

          Reviewed 29 December 2014

          I really love the interior design and decoration of the hostel. The whole experience from luggage deposit in the morning until checking out was great. And it was very cheap! However, my feet were freezing at night during my stay in the 30 mixed dorm.More

          Thank Matthew L
          Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 5 January 2015

          Hi Mathew We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the great review. Sorry your footsies where cold during the night. We are organising extra heating to be put into the 30 bed dorm so thanks for letting us know. We...More

          Reviewed 21 December 2014

          For a hostel, it was very good. It had great facilities such as well equipped kitchens, bar and cafe, internet access, lockers for luggage etc. I stayed in a 10-bed dorm and it was not too bad. A bit smelly at times but overall the...More

          Thank notatraveller3
          Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 5 January 2015

          Thanks for the good review . Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us BB Crew :)

          Reviewed 16 December 2014

          The location of this hostel is fantastic - right near Grassmarket and close to lots of pubs and restaurants. The staff were helpful enough but when I complained about there being no hot water, we were not offered an apology or empathy and told to...More

          Thank Blair R
          Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 5 January 2015

          Hi Blair Thanks for giving us a review. We are pleased you thot our location was great. We did have a couple of shower that had problems with faulty valves. These are now being fixed thanks for letting us know and so enabling us to...More

          Reviewed 12 December 2014

          I stayed with my boyfriend in a 6 bedroom dorm and one of my friends stayed in a 30 bed dorm. We stayed over August so the price we paid was double (about £28 each per night). We stayed 4 nights. The showers were always...More

          Thank Hannah L
          Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 5 January 2015

          Hi Hanah We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have given us such a good review. We really try to get it right and are always pleased when customers let us know we hit the mark. Thanks for staying with us and...More

          Reviewed 26 November 2014 via mobile

          The room stunk as soon as we walked in, complained to staff who did nothing. Staff where so unfriendly and unhelpful and didn't seem to know anything about Edinburgh itself and generally did all they could to make the stay unpleasant. There was never any...More

          Thank Lilytfisher
          Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 27 November 2014

          Hi Lilly Thank you for your review. We take all reviews very seriously and have now actioned a full investigation into your comments. Our staff are normally very helpful to our customers so it would be very much appreciated if you could contact us directly...More

          Castle Rock Hostel
          1,488 reviews
          #3 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Safestay Edinburgh
          1,359 reviews
          #11 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          High Street Hostel
          423 reviews
          #19 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          Haggis Hostels
          394 reviews
          #14 of 205 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$16 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 300
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Budget Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • Edinburgh >
          • Old Town / Cowgate
          • Also Known As
          • Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh ,
          • Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (145)
          Dining (82)
          Room & Suite (67)
          Hotel & Grounds (156)
          Family and Play Areas (3)
          Bathroom (1)
          Nearby
          Old Town
          Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
          labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
          this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
          visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
          that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
          place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
          the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
          Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
          ...More
          G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
          2,731 reviews
          .12 km away
           
          Fraser Suites Edinburgh
          1,567 reviews
          .23 km away
           
          Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
          2,473 reviews
          .16 km away
           
          Grassmarket Hotel
          2,094 reviews
          .10 km away
           
          Stay Central Hotel
          1,453 reviews
          .19 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          The Grain Store
          836 reviews
          .10 km away
          Oink
          1,865 reviews
          .09 km away
          Divino Enoteca
          625 reviews
          .07 km away
          Mariachi
          712 reviews
          .09 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          National Library of Scotland
          110 reviews
          .09 km away
          Greyfriars Kirkyard
          24 reviews
          .08 km away
          George IV Bridge
          65 reviews
          .08 km away
          The Red Door Gallery
          5 reviews
          .11 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Jodie027
          Is there ironing facilities ?
          7 June 2017|
          Answer
          Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
          Yes There are ironing facilities in the hostel. :)
          0
          Votes
          rgs1997
          Hi, the hostel looks very modern and clean in the images. My question is about your shower facilities - I am just slightly confused and wanted to confirm what the facilities are like as in your photographs they appear to be lovely private cubicles in very good condition but in a review it describes completely open showers with no privacy? What is the situation with this? Thanks :)
          15 April 2017|
          Answer
          Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
          Hi there. The bathrooms we have are as follows. Some of our bathrooms are mixed gender , what this means is that the sinks areas are the the only sections that are mixed and shared. The Showers areas are Private pods that... More
          1
          Vote
          Caligiiiirl_19
          Hi! Do you guys have weekly rates?
          11 December 2016|
          Answer
          Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
          Hi there we are unfortunately not offering weekly rates at the moment. We do have a longer stay section of the hostel but this is fully booked at the moment. Our standards rates are very low at the moment to encourage our... More
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Perhaps a room on one of the lower floors if you need wifi"
          Read review
          "Excellent location, good atmosphere."
          Read review
          "if you wanna meet people, get to the 30 beds room. What a great place to spend some nights"
          Read review
          "Get a lower floor if you have problem with stairs; also for better wifi."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing