We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
US$348
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$348
Hilton
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (746)
360
Panoramas (48)
Room & Suite (363)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#80 of 166 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blending perfectly into the historic surroundings of the Royal Mile, Hilton Edinburgh Carlton is an iconic element of the city. The building dates back to 1900s and is part of the impressive North Bridge which links Edinburgh's Old and New town together, giving you easy access to countless shopping, dining and entertainment. Once one of Edinburgh's top department stores, the building was fully refurbished in 2016 to bring the décor back to its stylish best. Our modern accommodations offer complimentary WiFi access, ergonomic work area and Suite Dreams by Serta(R) beds with luxurious linens. Select an executive room or suite for extra space and amenities including access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast and refreshments.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
2080Reviews105Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,041
  • 536
  • 255
  • 143
  • 105
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
suffolkdale wrote a review 13 Aug
suffolk113 contributions115 helpful votes
We arrived at what was clearly a very busy period for the hotel. Despite that as Diamond members we received a most welcome room upgrade, access to our room at 10.30am on the day we arrived, and attentive staff despite throughout our 5 night stay stay. The Executive Lounge was an oasis for a coffee and a snack during the day and we enjoyed the complimentary food and glass of wine before we 'hit the Fringe' in the evening! A special mention for Lewis in the Lounge, a youngster with a very 'can do' attitude . Similarly at the other end of the experience quantum Damien at breakfast ran a superb 'ship', always welcoming, always efficient and crucially always smiling in a very busy breakfast room with staff doing their level best to provide a good service to their guests. The location of the hotel is superb for not just for the Fringe/Festival but also for visiting the city and is a hotel we will return to.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sassy1242 wrote a review Jul 2021
Alton, United Kingdom183 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Centrally located hotel. We are gold Hilton honors members and loved our executive king size modern room. What I did notice was the sound proofing - it was quite amazing. We had a front facing room on floor 3 and I didn’t hear a sound all night, Breakfast was a disappointment ( mainly due to having to pre-order a time slot). We were late handing in our booking slip for the next morning and could only get an 0800 slot which was slightly too early for our holiday so we skipped breakfast. I’m desperately looking forward to the buffets coming back again post Covid and executive lounge being re-opened! Efficient booking in - friendly staff. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get your breakfast booking in early!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Dear Sassy1242, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our city centre location. Sorry you could not get the time for breakfast you were looking for. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
Astro x wrote a review 12 Aug
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We reserved this hotel so we did not have to take a car in Edindurgh and because it was a Hilton. Unfortunately on both counts we were left down. No concierge. We carried our luggage with our children from our car to the room. The excuse: " The concierge has left for the day"! We had reserved a roon for 2 adults and 2 children. No garbage bin in the room we had to ask for one. No one was wearing masks! Breakfast not suited for a 3 star hotel .Personel always in a hurry and impolite. The bed were small.In the US no way this room in given for 4 persons. No privacy. The hotel reception was like a central station in busy time of the day. To leave we had to carry all our luggage ourselves and to bring our car infront where there was no space to piark We had to put everything in the car ,in 2 minutes with cars honking behind us. The hotel does not provide even 2 meters of space to load and unload luggages. For parking, simply forget it. They sent us to another hotel to pay 30 pounds per day. Simply avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Camille G wrote a review 11 Aug
D.C.30 contributions28 helpful votes
Excellent location in Old Town Edinburgh, easy access to Waverly Train Station and Rabbie's Tours. Within walking distance of Edinburgh Castle and museums, shopping, restaurants, etc. Very quiet hotel. We stayed twice: in late July and then after August 5. Both rooms (King Size bed, Queen Size bed) were super quiet, even though the streets were super busy. Breakfast was a truly nice buffet, including courtesy Mimosas. Good coffee, helpful staff. Well-appointed rooms. We'll be back !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Both rooms we had were super-quiet and well-appointed with nice views of Old Town
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kamal wrote a review 10 Aug
Waterloo, Canada84 contributions50 helpful votes
Was Not a good experience. Location is good, room was spacious. The breakfast is ok, although the coffee is tasteless, the dinner at the restaurant was good.But service was a low level. One day the room was cleaned and resupplied. The next day was not cleaned at all, just the bed sheets tucked in, stopped by the receptionist and ask for the room to be cleaned again. Some body stop by again and throw a couple of towels without resupplying the room. Finally the receptionist came up with some shampoo and tissue box- thanks for her-
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I would avoid visiting Edinburg in August,
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Edinburgh Street Tours wrote a review 10 Aug
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
Excellent service from the under pressure staff, especially Louise F & B at breakfast who looked after my group very professionally with a very positive attitude and was very helpful. The hotel is clearly over booked and the staff are under a lot of pressure and the management need to help the staff more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Enjoy breakfast as much as possible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Stewart Welsh, Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 5 days ago
Dear ScotlandPaul_S, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience, and for highlighting our hardworking team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh again very soon. Kind Regards, Heather Welsh Deputy General Manager
Read more
Kaitlin M wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
Lewis and Abi were so great, very accommodating. Louise was also super patient when deciding on which flavor for my mule, she made a delicious drink. Ossian was incredibly helpful regarding the room service menu as well. Great team you have at the bar! So friendly and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Stewart Welsh, Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Kcmorelli88, Thank you for your wonderful review! Lewis, Abi, Louise and Ossian will be delighted to see their hard work recognised, and i am delighted to see that they made your visit special. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind Regards, Heather Welsh Deputy General Manager
Read more
Kathryn W wrote a review 4 Aug
Austin, Texas66 contributions55 helpful votes
We had a pleasant four-night stay at the Hilton Carlton while my husband was on business but we did some sightseeing on the weekend. The hotel is ideally located for visiting Edinburgh, especially if you are without a car. Everything is within walking distance. The train station is about 100 yards away. Lots of dining and convenience stores and tourist knick-knack stores around. Pros: --Location is perfect. Close to castle and most sights. --Food was quite good at the restaurant. We had steaks and they were delicious and cooked well. Breakfast was ample with choices. --Service at the restaurants is attentive despite large numbers of guests. --Room was large and very quiet. --Fresh towels placed in the room daily. Cons: --The blackout curtains didn't fit to the wall so light shone in brightly in the morning in our room. --Check-in desk staff was slow and seemingly disinterested. --Housekeeping service was spotty. Rooms were clean, but bed was only made one day and there was no refill on coffee/tea. --Mattress is quite firm. It's clear that the hotel was doing its utmost best to manage the heavy occupancy with service. Most of the staff, and most especially the restaurant staff, were friendly and accommodating. It was a pleasant stay in a lovely area. If you need a hotel that's ideally located to see the area, the Hilton will fit the bill.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your stay at the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and appreciated . We take pride in being a friendly and welcoming hotel and the food and beverage team will be delighted to know that you felt cared for. I am very sorry to hear that you did not feel the same way about our front office team. I will certainly share your feedback with our front office manager. If you could email me directly with the room number you were in so I can ask our Property team to look into the issues with the curtain in your room and also to discuss with the housekeeping team who should have serviced your room more efficiently. I trust that you had a safe return home and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
Doug H wrote a review 3 Aug
1 contribution
Abigail and Louise literally invented a drink for us - the Sundial - which was a delicious strawberry purée and vodka based concoction that knocked our socks off. These two tenders were a breath of fresh air after a stressful work day. Cheers to these heroes of the Hilton on North Bridge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 1 week ago
Delighted you had such a great experience in our bar. Great to see that Louise and Abigail made such a great impression on you, your comments will mean so much to them. We are very lucky to have them as part of our team. Kind Regards Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
Jaymi S wrote a review 3 Aug
1 contribution
After a grueling day of work and entering the bar in a bad mood, bartenders Abigail and Louise cheered me right up with delicious drinks and incredible company. These two were the best. Ask for the Sundial!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 1 week ago
Delighted you had such a great experience in our bar. Great to see that Louise and Abigail made such a great impression on you, your comments will mean so much to them. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon for a Sundail. Kind Regards Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$194 - US$437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo edinburgh, carlton hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
211
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 km), National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), and The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and The Haggis Box.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hilton Edinburgh Carlton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Edinburgh Carlton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Polish, and Latvian.