We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Save
Share
St. Leonards Hall 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AY Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (291)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (29)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#28 of 314 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Pollock Halls is the perfect choice for larger groups and budget travellers visiting during the spring and summer. Our campus accommodation offers good value in a great location and you can look forward to a hearty breakfast in the Restaurant @ JMCC. Servery lunch and dinner are also available during the summer months. The cafe bar @ JMCC serves good food, fine wine, beers and spirits.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
717Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 233
  • 298
  • 112
  • 53
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Mark Abbey wrote a review Nov 2019
Lugano, Switzerland302 contributions171 helpful votes
The rooms provide all the comforts you can reasonably want, you have to share the bathroom but there is a wash basin in the room, lots of cupboards and coffee&tea-making facilities. The room was clean and they also provide fresh towels as well. The restaurant is excellent, generous breakfast and lots of choices for dinner. The complex includes a shop open till 10 pm as well. Not ideal for those expecting a hotel service, but if you plan to stay for a week or a fortnight (or longer), it is an excellent solution.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Responded 11 Nov 2019
Dear marcoaB9813FS, Thank you very much for your comments and 5 star rating. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the team to ensure we continue to provide the service standards we have set ourselves. I hope we will be able to welcome you back next summer. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
293gillianc wrote a review Sep 2019
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom102 contributions38 helpful votes
University accommodation, location very convenient, a short bus ride from city centre so away from all the noise and crowds. A spacious campus with attractive lawns and lovely herbaceous borders. I was fortunate to have a splendid view of Arthur's Seat, the mountain close to Edinburgh, from my bedroom window, which made up for the sparseness of furnishing and functionality of the room. Breakfast was included but I didn't have time for it because it was in another building and I couldn't find it. No time to search around and ask people, should have been better signposted. The bed was very hard even for student accommodation and pillows very meagre, I expect real students will bring their own! But main problem was finding my way around on arrival.The pedestrian entrance to the campus is actually very near the bus stop where I arrived, but I missed it because it did not say Pollock Halls anywhere, just Salisbury Green hotel I think, and the main building I saw through the gateway was a large old house with turrets which did not look at all what I was expecting. In fact I don't think I saw Pollock Halls on any of the signs on the campus either, so wandered around for ages, trying to find directions to reception, and this was in daylight so would be worse at night!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Responded 17 Sep 2019
Dear 293gillianc, Thank you very much for your review of Pollock Halls following your stay. I am sorry to read of your issues and have shared your valuable feedback with the team to address and rectify. We have already replaced all mattresses on campus to ensure we offer the best possible sleep quality for our guests. I am sorry you had issues with our directional signage, we have signage on site to direct our guests but our team will carry out a review to ensure this is still appropriate. I hope on your next visit to Edinburgh you will join us again. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
LukewarmCatastrophe wrote a review Sep 2019
LukewarmCatastrophe402 contributions185 helpful votes
+1
I've used student accommodation in Edinburgh and Dublin during the summer in the past and think it's an absolutely excellent way of making use of good quality accommodation that would otherwise lay empty while the students are back home on summer break. I was here for my birthday to see a concert at Summerhall and Pollock Halls came up as one of the cheapest, closest places to the concert venue. I paid £55.06 through ebookers (I did get a fair bit of discount from being a frequent customer of theirs and I also used a promo code). I felt this represented excellent value for money for an expensive city like Edinburgh on what was the final day of the Fringe. I timed my walk from Waverley Station and it took exactly half an hour (I'm a fast walker). The young reception staff are enthusiastic and friendly. You get a key card in a little brown envelope with your room number on which reminded me of what I used to put my dinner money in as a kid. The accommodation is set in nice grounds with squirrels scampering about freely. There are literally thousands of rooms and walking down the corridors to locate your room seems like a never ending journey depending on how far you are situated from reception, it's a little bit like being in a hospital! Upon entering my room which contained two single beds, I was immediately overcome with heat as some idiot had left the radiator on full blast even though it was 26C outside! Other than this minor issue, the room was a million times better than I expected. Everything was new, the beds were really cosy, the bathroom was super clean and it was nice and quiet. There were some nice little touches that I liked which really added to the value for money like really good Clipper Fairtrade tea bags, a really gorgeous bergamot and ginger handwash that I was on the verge of stealing as it was smelled so amazing (I didn't though!!), really fluffy white towels, lots of charging points for devices etc. The crowning glory of it all was the amazing breakfast the next morning. All you can eat and completely free. If you play your cards right, you can literally stuff your face to the point where you don't need to eat again until tea time! (When you're ready to eat again, I highly recommend Souq Moroccan and Middle Eastern Street Food Restaurant which is walking distance from here and has fantastic food and service) Pollock Halls is a really well run place with lots of staff who all work hard to keep the place spotless and make the guests happy. The staff are clearly very proud of what they do. I would have no hesitation in staying again and it made a really nice change from the usual budget hotels that lack the charm, personality and buzz of Pollock Halls.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Dear LukewarmCatastroph, Thank you so much for your informative review and excellent score following your stay with us at Pollock Halls. I am so pleased to read such positive comments following your time with us. I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations with our rooms and I am very happy you enjoyed the extensive breakfast we have on offer. I consider it a great compliment that you describe us "staff are clearly very proud of what they do" as this is very much the case and I am glad this is clear. I hope you had a wonderful visit to Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Connel Burnett Customer Services Manager
Read more
senaUk wrote a review Sep 2019
UK254 contributions140 helpful votes
I was apprehensive of staying in halls. The rooms are far from hotel standard, but clean, well-equipped, good value and include an excellent breakfast. the location is also pretty good, and for considerably less than the price of a basic chain hotel. I was in John Burnett on the ground floor and the front door slammed really loudly, so take earplugs. The accommodation needs to put better pictures on booking.com - bedding and towels are included, which isn't implied by those photos!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Dear senaUk, Thank you so much for your review following your stay with us at Pollock Halls. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the breakfast while you were with us. I am sorry for any disturbance caused due to noise and I appreciate your feedback regarding this and the pictures we use online. I will pass this on to the management team to consider. I hope you had an enjoyable visit to Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Connel Burnett Customer Services Manager
Read more
Bernard F wrote a review Sep 2019
Ashford, United Kingdom38 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed in the Chancellors Court which is student accommodation for most of the year. The room is every bit as good as say Travelodge. What makes this special is the low cost and fantastic breakfast. The breakfast is awesome. There is also a Bistro on the complex that serves good food. The staff at reception are exceptionally helpful,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Dear Bernard F, Thank you so much for your kind words and excellent score following your stay. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with, especially our fantastic breakfast. I will pass on your positive comments tot he relevant teams! I hope you had an enjoyable visit to Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Connel Burnett Customer Services Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pollock halls - edinburgh first hotel edinburgh, pollock halls - edinburgh 1st, first hotel edinburgh, edinburgh first hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1800
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Which popular attractions are close to Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First?
Nearby attractions include Arthur's Seat (0.7 km), Locked in Edinburgh (0.7 km), and Black Axe Throwing Co. (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First?
Conveniently located restaurants include Condita, Pataka, and Voujon.
Does Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.4 km), The Real Mary King's Close (1.6 km), and Gilmerton Cove (4.5 km).
Does Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.