We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rick's

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rick\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rick's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 405: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here last week with my boyfriend and our 8 yr old son. The hotel is beautiful, from the bar to the bedrooms. The bed is extremely big and comfy and the room has everything, mini bar, I pod, DVD player, high power hairdryer and GHDs. We didn't eat in the hotel, but did have a few drinks, which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jmacd2011
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As we are situated in such a central location there can be some noise coming from the street. Thank you again for your positive review

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The jewel in the crown is the staff who are all superb. The rooms are modern and clean and the beds and linen are also superb.Toiletries and bathrobes and everything you could wish for in the mini bar. Our only complaint was the music in the dining room which was head splittingly loud and not music for dining to. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sabrina772
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We do have different sections in the restaurant, we have areas that are lively and quiet. I am very sorry but you must have been seated in an area which is more lively. If staying next time please advise this and we will make sure you are seated in a quieter...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here Saturday 5th April for my daughters 21st.Arrived too early but the very pleasent receptionist took my case and I had lunch.Room ready for 2.30 and my case had been taken to my room, was in room 5 very modern and clean .The bed was huge and so comfy had a great sleep. Had drinks at the bar before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank couter
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had such a great experience when you stayed with us. Yes one of the perks of staying with us the complementary VIP access to both our nightclubs, Lulu and opal lounge!

Johnstone
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent service from when we checked in until we checked out. It was the second time we'd stayed here and it was faultless again. Room was beautiful, bed extremely comfortable. Impressed with the quality of the furnishings. Dinner was beautiful ( the potato and leek soup was so thick you could stand on it - extremely tasty), all servings on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Norma R
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for your amazing review, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Aberdour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2014

On arrival the staff were very helpful and we were really impressed with the room. The meal was lovely but we were disappointed to be told that the sea bream had been replaced with a much cheaper fish. I ordered it anyway but it was bland. Everyone else enjoyed their meal. The waitress was friendly and service was great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneCooper1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Since we are a city centre hotel there can be street noise from other businesses and traffic noise. I am very sorry we didn't have sea bream available when you stayed with us. We buy our fish in fresh daily, which can lead to menu changes due to availability. Again thank you for...

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My Husband and I recently took advantage of a deal through itison for dinner,bed and breakfast at Ricks.This deal was superb value at £99 for the two of us and also included a bottle of Prosecco either to enjoy in the room or take it down to dinner.We chose to take it down to dinner and noticed on the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan220166
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. Hopefully we will see you back again in the future.

Aberdeenhsire
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend break for our daughters 21st Birthday. The food was excellent, presentation was spot on, helpings plentiful. Atmosphere was good. The rooms clean and very comfortable. Breakfast very scrummy. Staff very friendly nothing any bother. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pingpong05
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here in November 2013 with my wife as a birthday treat. Arrived on a Saturday afternoon, reception/bar & restaurant area were heaving. Not a problem for us, checked in and grabbed a bite to eat at the bar before heading to our room. Bar staff are very knowledgeable of the large cocktail menu, and with the wide array of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mark I
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am very sorry you didn't have a great over all experience with us. Very shortly after you stayed with us we carried out full maintenance to all the rooms, to ensure the standards we aim for were being achieved. The maintenance included re-tiling of all broken tiling, re-grouting, new shower curtains, as well as...

Coalburn
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely, friendly hotel. My daughter had her interview for Edinburgh Uni and we decided to make the best of our time in beautiful Edinburgh. Room was spotless, dinner was perfection and breakfast was totally to die for - highly recommend the poached eggs! Everything about my stay was perfect from checking in until breakfast and check out. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TammieSav
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to read such fantastic feedback. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our 'Itison' stay at Rick's on Sunday/Monday. The room was lovely and comfortable and housekeeping is obviously carried out with care. Our dinners and breakfasts were really excellent - the chef clearly is talented. All the staff with whom we were in contact were very welcoming and professional. A special mention must go to Oliver, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JayML11
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, I will make sure your feedback is passed onto Oliver. Hopefully see you again soon

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
643 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#100 of 150 in Edinburgh
414 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Rick's

Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: €77 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rick's staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rick's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not 1st floor (for privacy)”
 of 5 bubbles simono1958, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay, only ate in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles frasjas, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Level 1 is at street level”
 of 5 bubbles stevebV5439VV, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if your mobility not so good.”
 of 5 bubbles tbs2507, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Level 1 is ground level so be aware if you want a room higher.”
 of 5 bubbles monsoon1inGlasgow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5