We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rick's

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rick\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rick's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 410: English reviews
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Despite getting a very good deal we were disappointed when we saw our room given the hotels 4 stars and having seen some good reviews. The biggest issue was that instead of a double bed we had two singles pushed together which I didn't notice until we were in bed, I moved and rolled into the gap! The beds themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kay811
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and to pass on your feedback.

City of Discovery
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We arrived to go down approximately 8 or 9 steps the top of which needs a repair as concrete broken and could be trip hazard. We were greeted by Michael who on seeing we both had walking difficulties as we were using sticks promptly after telling us our room was on fourth floor rearranged bookings to bring us down to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scotwanderer
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I have briefed all staff, and maintenance so we can resolve the problems you had to improve our serivce.

Reviewed 21 September 2014

Restaurant very nice and the food was very goodm rooms a little dirty, people cleaning very unpleasant and my wife feel the alcohol from young blonde woman who cleaned a room during the week. If this service is not for sure that we together with my wife returned to you.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leonardo C
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Ok, so this is a bit of a mixed review as we enjoyed our stay, the room was great (small but just fine for one night) The bed was comfy, although the weird lumpy duvet was a little odd, i couldn't work it out and the shower was SO hot and SO powerful, the shower curtain wouldn't leave me alone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizahawkins
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. Since your review our website has been updated to have the currant breakfast options. We are are in the middle of the city centre, which does mean there can be street noise, I'm sorry that this made for a less than enjoyable stay.

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Ricks whilst visiting the fringe. Staff were friendly and allowed us to leave our bags until check in at 2pm. The room was as per description however we had requested twin beds and got a king size. Saying that the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean however the shower curtain and tiles had mould...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lousy sun
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Since your stay we have had all bathrooms deep cleaned with new shower curtains in all rooms.

Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We're just back from 3 days at the Fringe as part of the celebrations for my 40th birthday. We used Rick's as our base for the visit - overall the hotel was fab and we would definitely return. We especially found the location was ideal for city centre access to both old & new town. The rooms were good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your kind review, I am glad you had such a great time here during the fringe

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

While visiting Scotland we pre-booked one nights stay at Ricks and on arrival I was surprised to see what it was actually like... First of all this please note that the rooms are situated above a bar and when you enter you go in through the main bar entrance. I found the service to be a tad lacking, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D_the_critic
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. I'm sorry that you didn't receive the perfect experience with us, however I have noted all your points and will be briefing my whole team to try and improve on all service and standards.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here as we came up for the weekend from Leicester for the Edinburgh Tattoo. What a great place. On arrival, we checked in and had a drink in the bar before going up to our room. The place has a nice atmosphere and feel, and the staff are nice and attentive, and professional. The rooms are OK. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavvyd
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thanks for writing your kind review, we all glad you had such a great visit to Edinburgh

Graz, Austria
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel is located near Princey Street in new town, the castle is within walking distance (10-15 min). The room in the 3rd floor (no lift!) was clean and everything was there, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was very good and prices are ok for what you get there! All in all we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Domino1989
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. Its good to here such positive feedback

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, met by excellent and helpful staff who made check in seamless, even though we were early they'd allowed us to leave our bags and even took them up to our room for us! TV didn't work for the first night but was replaced within 24 hours and we had a generous reduction from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing your very nice review

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#110 of 150 in Edinburgh
648 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
771 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
713 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#96 of 150 in Edinburgh
298 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#100 of 150 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Rick's

Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: €64 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rick's staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rick's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not 1st floor (for privacy)”
 of 5 bubbles simono1958, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay, only ate in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles frasjas, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Level 1 is at street level”
 of 5 bubbles stevebV5439VV, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if your mobility not so good.”
 of 5 bubbles tbs2507, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Level 1 is ground level so be aware if you want a room higher.”
 of 5 bubbles monsoon1inGlasgow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5