We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruachan Guest House

  • Excellent52%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“host graham”(2 reviews)
“two nights”(5 reviews)
“b b”(9 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost grahamtwo nightsb bthe ground floorcomfortable accommodationcity centreminute walk to the castlebreakfast roomwithin walking distanceguesthousestelevisionkettlebus
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Clean warm & comfortable accommodation. Excellent breakfast menu. Within walking distance of the city centre and the Castle. On the bus route. Lots of restaurants nearby serving a variety of excellent meals. Near to theatres and film houses.

Thank coakley07
Reviewed 24 November 2017

This is an excellent hotel with all the facilities of a larger hotel. Really polite staff, clean comfortable rooms and fantastic freshly cooked breakfast. I would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel 100%

Thank cmayhew2017
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My girlfriend & I arranged a last minute trip to Edinburgh ready for the Fringe Festival and were so glad we came across this lovely B&B just a short walk from the hustle and bustle of the main centre (approx 15mins). Graham was a fantastic...More

Thank Joshua W
Response from A-A-J-G, Owner at Cruachan Guest HouseResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much Josh. I look forward to seeing you both again. Regards Graham

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Had a great time at the Cruachan guest house... nice rooms, free wifi and TV. Excellent location with about a 15-20 min walk into the city centre or you can catch a bus pretty much right outside the door. There is also plenty to do...More

Thank Colleen B
Response from A-A-J-G, Owner at Cruachan Guest HouseResponded 2 October 2017

Many thanks for the very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We would be very happy to see you return. Good luck in all that you do. Graham

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Graham was a fantastic host.Very considerate.always happy and enquiring about your day(s). The guest house is first class. A wonderful breakfast .no complaints whatsoever.thankyou Graham. If we come back to Edinburgh, we well certainly see if you have vacancies.(on the ground floor haha)

Thank matt g
Response from A-A-J-G, Owner at Cruachan Guest HouseResponded 28 September 2017

Hi Coleen, Thank you so much for those very kind words. You were both great fun to have during breakfast so that makes it easy for me. Look forward to meeting you again. Graham

View more reviews
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Price range
US$92 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Price range
US$92 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Agnes D
7 March 2017|
Response from Caroline L | Reviewed this property |
it's about a 15 minute walk to Princes Street and less by bus which picks up from one end of the road and drops off on the other.
Room Tips
"Room 4 has a bow window small seating area."
Read review
"Avoid this hotel"
Read review
"Once the owner has got to know you don't book online but phone up or email them."
Read review
"We do not know what any other rooms were like,but room 7 we don't recommend."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing