We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

B+B Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
B+B Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for B+B Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 529: English reviews
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Conveniently located hotel within walking distance of major attractions, but away from the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh. Helpful staff answered questions, pointed us to local restaurants, called taxis, and allowed us to stow bags when we arrived before official check-in. Historic feel and details, including a beautiful library for guests to use and a very small elevator! We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaBaNaBey
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving a positive and well rounded review of our Hotel, yes our front of house team have exceptional concierge skills for giving guests recommendations for everything from restaurants to tour guides. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our historic and beautiful building, we are very proud of our building here. Yes some mornings...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

B+B was recommended to me by a local. it truly exceeded my expectations. My room was large and very comfortable. A lounge chair to sit in; a proper desk and chair to work at; comfy bed; light & airy; great bathroom with bath (and shower over it), and free WIFI. Absolutely terrific. Then a wonderful library to sit in -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connery007
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving a glowing review of our establishment! It is always our mission to exceed our guests expectations, and I'm glad to hear we have done that with your stay. Oh and I will mention to the chef about possibly getting black pudding added to the breakfast, that seems like a fantastic addition to our tasty...

Beech Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My wife and I stayed here May 6,2016. The place is nice and clean and the breakfast is very good with a good selection. The B&B is also locate din a good location and is not a far walk from the attractions. The only thing that I have a small problem with was the parking situation. I was fortunate enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwsmith13
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a lovely review of our Hotel. Yes we are very fortunate to be so centrally located and for having a fantastic kitchen team supplying outstanding breakfasts to our guests. Unfortunately, yes we don't have a car park of our own but yes there are many payable options in the locality.

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 3 May 2016

The hotel has stunning woodwork and staircase. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good. I enjoyed the cappuccino machine that was always available and the library was fantastic to enjoy it in. My husband and I enjoyed drinks in the bar area after a wonderful day of sightseeing. The family room was large and comfortable. Great location,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanya c
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Tanya, "Amazing" - what a fantastic way to title your experience of your stay with us, we are delighted to hear that you had such a great time. Hope to see you back again in the future! Kind regards, Barbara

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I wouldn't say this was a great hotel, nor would I advise you not to book this. We were welcomed very friendly at the reception. We stayed on the 3rd floor that has a stunning view, however the room doesn't look anything like the pictures online, it was much smaller. We didn't really mind. Breakfast was a different story. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirstenNL87
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Kirsten, Many thanks for leaving this feedback about your stay, as all feedback is good feedback in my opinion and helps us improve more and more. It might be the case that you booked a Double room or Petite Double, which are smaller than our family rooms and we have many pictures of these family rooms on our websites....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We were very impressed with this hotel. Do not get confused about being a total BB! We would rate as a small hotel with excellent facilties. Our room had a beautiful view of the River Forth and it was very spacious. Although we had people staying in adjacent rooms, we were not disturbed by noises, etc. Breakfast was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nellastory03
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

A lovely hotel with great views of dean village from the dining room, our room was clean & comfortable, also very spacious., loved the wood panelled library, a cosy quiet place to sit and help yourself to the free drinks & biscuits during the day. Good cooked breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j c
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear J C, Many thanks for leaving a lovely review. Yes we are very proud to have such a beautiful and historic building as our hotel. Kind regards, Barbara

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Would have loved to give this B&B higher rating as service and staff were very good but for the price paid (£256 for 2 nights, breakfast included), I would have expected room and immediate decor to have been in much better condition with a better breakfast offering. Breakfast was hit and miss - served in a lovely light room but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jem D
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Jem D, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. As you can see it is unusual for us to receive negative comments, so I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. As you highlighted, our staff is always very attentive to our guests needs and preferences; next time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This lovely hotel has it all! Set just back off Princes Street you get a quiet stay in a picturesque neighbourhood for a a great price. We were visiting Edinburgh for a first anniversary celebration trip and having let the staff know this and requesting a room view we were delighted to arrive and see we could see across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Robyn W, Thank you for your fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay here at B+B Edinburgh, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Barbara Schiavone General Manager

Balearic Islands, Spain
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Such a lovely place to stay when visiting Edinburgh. City centre is just 5 minutes walking as well as the restaurants area. The building is very nice and charming. Rooms are big and spacious. The breakfast is superb! I would definitely like to stay again at this hotel in my next visit to Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattcI959HT
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear mattcI959HT, Thank you for your fantastic review, which says it all! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at B+B Edinburgh, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Barbara Schiavone General Manager

534 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Accessible Room (18)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (12)
Viewed
Family Suite (17)
Viewed
Petite Double Room (10)
Viewed
Petite Room (18)
Viewed
Petite Room with City View (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Attic Room (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (11)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,627 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: €118 - €423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
2 months ago
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
9 months ago
Joplin, Missouri
11 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher for quieter rooms all tho its a quiet street”
105erico, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 21 not the best if there are three people”
Crawford49, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 is on the top floor..a lot of stairs if you don't use the lift... but the views are fab”
MissRubyJewels, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Simple answer is pay more and get a better room!”
Theobub, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in number 13, unlucky for some, very comfortable, spacious, clean & quiet”
Jonathan_Webb, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5