We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Ettrick Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Ettrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Ettrick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Me and my husband stayed on the 15th, 16th and 17 May, the first room was very disappointing as it seemed to be a makeshift room with no proper window and a pull door into the smallest bathroom that had a toilet that you would normally find in a caravan and this was very noisy, my husband could also hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinna B
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Corinna, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some constructive feedback, we appreciate all of your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the first room you were allocated, I'm glad we were able to move you into a different room when you raised your concerns with our management team. I have spoken...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Just stayed for one night bed and breakfast and my wife and I were very impressed with the room( and comfortable bed) which was excellent value for money. The large bathroom was also a treat .We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were well impressed by the helpful and friendly staff. In the evening we visited the bar which was pleasantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we look for see you again soon

Reviewed 8 May 2015

Be aware! Very disappointed. Room was meant to luxury suite but instead they gave us a standard triple room. Having booked a luxury suite for four people a month before (10/3/2015) for 10/4/2015, I was quite sure everything was well organized. On arrival to the hotel the daily manager asked for direct payment and gave us the keys for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky M
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. The booking that you had made was for a Room only rate through Booking.com. This rate is something new that we had recently started doing with the agent and we were unaware that it was not connected to our Channel Management System which...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Damp flies in bathroom! Only to discover toilet was loose in room 15 causing the flies to hover. When we flushed the toilet, lots of dirty water and bits human faeces escaped from the back of the toilet. Had to use the two small towels provided to block this! Bed not fit for two adults, very small. Ordered food from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. Our Housekeeping department report any faults they find to management which are then dealt with and this was not reported from room . When you first flushed the toilet and noticed this then you should have informed us straight away, instead you waited...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank copsha
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Have been going to the restaurant for several years, found the food today up to the usual standard. But only 2 comments to make. My wife ordered the pork which by the menu was accompanied with asparagus. When the meal arrived there was peas and french beans on the plate. We mentioned this to the waitress, who brought over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for the confusion with the vegetables, I'm glad this has not put you off returning to the hotel. With regard to the staff checking everything was ok during your meal this was clearly an oversight and not normal practice for our staff. I am confident...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2015

I have stayed in this hotel twice so far and intend to use it when in Edinburgh. While it is 15 to 20 mins from the city centre it is worth it for the way the staff treat you, first class, the standard of the rooms and location for getting out of the city. Rooms are super clean, good size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen_Burrow
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Stephen_Burrow, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you continue to use the hotel and enjoy the service from the staff here. We will hopefully see you again soon. Best regards, Ettrick Management.

UK
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We stayed Thursday 19th till Sunday 22nd February. As soon as you walk into this hotel you know it's something special, from the polished brass step as you walk in to the tiled floor and lovely reception. We arrived at 1pm, an hour before our check in time so we decided to wait in the bar area. There is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisanewman
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Chrisanewman, Thank you for your lovely review! You're right, the James Suite is breath taking, I personally wouldn't want to leave if I had booked it! You're comments on our staff are greatly appreciated. I hope you come to visit us again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management

Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Group of six of us booked a table at short notice. Service in Bar and restaurant was excellent. A very good selection of foods on the menu. All 6 of us picked various starters and main courses and all were well satisfied, also very fairly priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wmffra
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wmffra, Thank you for writing us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and hope you will be visiting us again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management

scotland
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We stayed overnight after attending a function and were impressed with the efficient and friendly welcome we were given. Our room was clean and warm with loads of storage space, with a clean en-suite shower room. The hotel bar downstairs was well-stocked and friendly service helped create a good ambience for hotel guests to mingle with groups of what appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellightScotland
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Travellight Scotland, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
329 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,249 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
64 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: €75 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Ettrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Ettrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see it first?”
 of 5 bubbles RaibeartAlba, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go some were else”
 of 5 bubbles munch2014, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If booking a standard single may be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles 872fs, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor, and ensure you ask for/book a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenH840, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“22 or 24, both very spacious and on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles EmCee2013, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5