We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Visit hotel website
Traveller (544)
Room & Suite (322)
Dining (113)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
4Attractionswithin 1 km
2,676Reviews
898Photos
36Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 642
  • 1,095
  • 641
  • 202
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
First class hotel great location next to the zoo only down side bar staff could do with some training how to pull a pint mostly flat and at £4.60 not good the food was good can be a bit pricey but good choice the breakfast was first class with some things for everyone
Read more
Response from HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Responded yesterday
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review of your stay. I'm pleased you had a good stay with us and note you also enjoyed your breakfast. I am sorry about the disappointment in the bar and will ensure this feedback is used to improve our service. Many thanks, Alan.
Read more
We had a long weekend stay in Edinburgh and the location of this hotel was great and it had parking. The holiday itself was good. People at reception were helpful and friendly, unlike the staff in the restaurant which were a bit forgetful and kept us waiting with drinks twice
Read more
Response from HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kelsey, Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am pleased you had a good stay but apologise for the issues you encountered during your restaurant visit. I'll ensure this feedback is used to improve our service. I am however pleased that we redeemed ourselves during breakfast. I hope you would consider us again in the future. Many thanks, Alan.
Read more
Stopped off for lunch and was really disappointed. £7.45 for a chicken bacon and avocado sandwich, with crisps and coleslaw. At this price I expect a decent, fresh, good quality sandwich. The bacon served is pre-packaged and cheap, like you would have in a pre-packed sandwich.
Read more
Response from HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr Simpson, Thank you for your feedback on your visit to our hotel. I am sorry to learn you had a disappointing lunch and that your sandwich was not to your or our standards. I'll ensure to share this feedback with the Head Chef to allow us to improve our service going forwards. I am pleased that our team did all they could to rectify this disappointment. Whilst I recognise your sandwich should have been right, I am pleased that we tried to resolve this for you. We wish you will for the future. Many thanks, Alan.
Read more
Good hotel and really helpful when I had to stay another day due to family emergency. Good area to be in next to zoo and murratfield. Good transport to Edinburgh city centre with good transport. Parking is in the zoo car park which you pay the zoo then claim back from the hotel,
Read more
Response from HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I'm pleased that you had a good stay with us and we were able to help you during your time here. I hope all is well with the family emergency and do hope you would consider our hotel in the future. Many thanks, Alan.
Read more
We stayed at this hotel as it was an excellent location for Edinburgh zoo, with free parking, and couldn't believe our luck when we checked in and the staff member told us we could get discounted zoo tickets as long as we didn't enter the park until 2pm. The staff were so
Read more
Response from HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I'm delighted you had a great time. It's lovely to hear that our relationship with our next door neighbours entitled you to a reduced entry to the Zoo and I hope that was as fun as your stay! We hope you will visit again in the future, I promise we will have haggis and poached eggs for you! Many thanks, Alan.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Holiday Inn Room
Large full length mirror
Wee cups and complimentary tea/coffee - shame I forgot my peppermint tea
Plenty of storage space
The towels were huge
PreviousNext
12345665
Does anyone know anywhere nice to eat near by?
You are very close to Leith Docks for a choice of restaurants, British, Italian, Seafood, and right outside your door is the Britannia Restaurant for award winning Indian cuisine.
1 vote
Show all answers
How far is this hotel away from the centre of Edinburgh?
Bus stops for numbers 12, 26 and 31 are right outside the hotel for travelling into the city centre and straight across the road for coming back. Can't tell you the price, I've got my OAP bus pass now :) but the buses run very frequently.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a hairdryer in the bedroom?
There was one in one of the drawers when I stayed
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you need a key card To access the lifts ?
No but be warned the lifts are very small
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you know whether this hotel charges your card a certain amount when you check I’m and if so how much please
Prepaid all and thats it!!! Unless you have any other services added...
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234568
"Ask for one in the front of the hotel"
"Take a room with a main road view. The scenery is breath taking."
"Some rooms face onto the Zoo, worth asking for one as there are some visible cages."
"The bus into Edinburgh is right outside the hotel and really cheap and reliable. Walking distance to Murrayfield Stadium"
"Second floor, room 244, long way to the lifts but looked over the car park to the zoo which was beautifully lit at night; quiet though."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn edinburgh hotel edinburghedinburgh holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghMurrayfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
303
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing