We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ Scotland
16 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$917
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$917
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$872
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Expedia.comUS$872
Hotels.comUS$872
travelup.comUS$2,185
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2041)
Room & Suite (686)
Dining (164)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Balmoral Hotel
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
For over a century, The Balmoral has found a home at Edinburgh’s most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street. A landmark Rocco Forte hotel set in the heart of Scotland’s capital city, The Balmoral combines stunning views and warm hospitality with world-class facilities to create the perfect urban retreat. The perfect marriage of tradition and modernity, each of the 167 rooms has been individually designed by Rocco Forte Hotels’ Director of Design Olga Polizzi. Elegant and stylish with unmistakably Scottish accents, each of our 20 Edinburgh suites are generous with magnificent views. Enjoy Michelin-starred dining at the famous Number One restaurant, sample modern Scottish Afternoon Tea under the glass dome of Palm Court or relax in the serene sanctuary of The Balmoral Spa. Brasserie Prince, launched in 2018, celebrates a 'new alliance': matching the very best of Scottish produce with classic French cooking, while The Balmoral’s signature whisky bar, SCOTCH, pays homage to Scotland’s national drink and is home to one of Edinburgh’s largest collections. Take a seat on one of the tweed sofas and let a kilted Whisky Ambassadors help you choose from over 500 varieties. The Balmoral is the perfect home-from-home to discover Edinburgh and Scotland’s finest attractions. Whatever the season, the hotel’s dedicated Concierge team can open doors to some of the most unique experiences in Scotland. From tickets to the world-famous Edinburgh Festival events, access to the city’s royal establishments - Holyrood Palace and the Royal Yacht Britannia – to the hotel’s Tartan Butler Clan Tour, you’ll find the best of Scotland at your finger tips.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
5112Reviews101Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,779
  • 896
  • 267
  • 112
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin B wrote a review Jun 2022
Edge, United Kingdom254 contributions163 helpful votes
+1
After a long drive and a challenge finding the hotel due to the number of road closures, road works we finally arrived. The doorman helped us unload the car and valet parked it for us. Check in was friendly and efficient and we were directed to our Junior Suite number 360. Not what we were expecting, given the two pictures of the Junior Suites on the hotel website. They looked cosy, our was just big with a round table by the window, with 3 chairs! Windows overlooking Princess Street. As there are office building opposite, we had, for any privacy, to draw the main curtains during the day. Some blinds or long net curtains would be beneficial Terrible small bathroom, shower in the bath!. Come on this is a Suite - The dressing room was a big, we felt the design of the room was wasted. it was just a big room, no welcoming, to be honest a bit drab - They could have made a much more luxurious bathroom. Brasserie Prince is perfect. Great cocktail, wine, Champagne list. We were looked after by Joanna. Very welcoming. Friendly. Helpful and knowledgeable about drinks. we had dinner at Number One. We enjoyed it so much we tried to book again, but Sadly it is closed on Tuesday & Wednesday - Keith and the team were exceptional. Thank you for making our evening so memorable. Phil looked after us at breakfast. What a credit to the hotel. Engaging, efficient very friendly. We dinned at Brasserie Prince both of the other evenings and had the pleasure of being looked after on evening by Dimitri who was as everyone was, friendly, very efficient and engaging. Would we go back, location yes, rooms no, service yes. Number One restaurant, definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
April H wrote a review Jun 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions
This place is simply marvellous. The view, the food, the rooms, the customer service, each one all top drawer. I could not believe how amazing this place was! I will definitely be back, it has the perfect location, right in the heart of the city!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear X8013DRaprilh, Wow, what an absolute pleasure to read your review this afternoon. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and would return. I will take great delight in sharing with the team, whom I know will be encouraged by your comments. Thank you. Kind regards, Richard C General Manager
Read more
Ozzy365 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Firstly staff were wonderful... Our room was a deluxe King with city view, not the nicest of views, the roof of Waverley Station, have stayed in nicer rooms at a third of the price elsewhere so we were a bit deflated and guess we assumed it would be more luxurious than it was for the price we paid. Breakfast was nice but very pricey £29 each, and again have had the same quality at half that price elsewhere There was a service charge on everything , even on top of the price of your room - for housekeeping to make your bed and swap towels I guess, which of course you don't have to pay but be aware it's on your bill. We were quite happy to pay Balmoral prices as it was a special occasion break, but we just expected the room to be a bit more special I think....we couldn't even have a nice biscuit with our coffee in the room, there was only a bag of crisps at £4 or a bar of chocolate at £6 haha.. your bed was turned over on an evening with a teabag left at the end of your bed, a nice chocolate would have been nice too.. Having said that we had a lovely time, staff were so friendly and helpful, we can now say we have stopped at the Balmoral, but prob won't stop again as room was slightly disappointing for the price. We had afternoon tea in Palm court, which was lovely, can highly recommend that.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Lkhf000, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I am sorry however, there were elements of your stay that left you feeling disappointed. Should you have spoken to a member of our team and relayed your thoughts on the room/location and view, we would aim to do our upmost to arrange an alternative if available. I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea in Palm Court. I do agree, it's a wonderful experience to enjoy. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Richard C General Manager
Read more
greecube wrote a review Jun 2022
new orleans179 contributions23 helpful votes
Had an excellent time from check in to check out. Staff very supportive and friendly, room large and well appointed. We arrived late but Bistro held kitchen open so we could have a late dinner after a long day of traveling. Also enjoyed the Scotch Bar and I am not a regular whiskey drinker. A bit difficult to choose between 500 versions of whiskey, but whiskey sommelier knew his stuff, and his recommendations were on point. One point to note is that the bathtub in our deluxe suite is huge. Really huge. Great if you want to take a swim. But difficult to climb in or out (more like hurdle over) just to take a shower.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear greecube, I was thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, there is an enormous choice in Scotch. I am delighted the lovely gentleman we have working with us, took the time to ensure you had the perfect selection. I will take great pleasure in sharing your kind comments with the team who I know will be delighted with your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Richard C General Manager
Read more
Jason W wrote a review Jun 2022
East Lansing, Michigan16 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a four day stay in mid-June that was absolutely lovely. There were 6 of us, including 2 kids ages 11 & 7, and everybody had an absolute blast. The kids were served cookies every day at 5, and they were gifted welcome packages complete with stuffies. Breakfast was decadent, and the staff were remarkably attentive. All of us were spoiled. Our youngest already asked when we can come back and we just left yesterday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear jweller007, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am beyond thrilled you all had such a lovely stay. Our aim is to ensure, guests of all ages, enjoy their time here in the city. We realise how important it is for families to enjoy such special time together. I do hope your youngest gets their way, and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon! Until then.. Kind regards, Richard C General Manager
Read more
laxcruising wrote a review Jun 2022
los angeles25 contributions24 helpful votes
Beware. We stayed at the Balmoral which was booked through our private tour company. We were promised (and paid for) an executive old city view. If you look on the hotel's website, the executive old city view looks lavish and large with two large windows. The room we were given was quite small with one small window. In fact, it looked exactly like the standard (classic)) room on the website pictures. When I complained, I was promised a room change for the better the following day. My mistake was that I took the front desk staff's word that the room would be larger and more like the larger room picture on the website. It was actually smaller (smaller window, smaller bathroom as well ) We were flabbergasted and felt that our good faith had been taken advantage of. Although the hotel lobby and dining room were beautiful and the concierge, dining and bellman staff were wonderful and attentive, the hotel room issue was so disappointing and we felt so deliberately cheated, that I will probably not visit this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure room looks like what you expect it to be before you check in
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear laxcruising, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us following your stay. I am sorry, however, there were aspects of your stay that you were disappointed with. As a historic building, we are faced with the unique opportunity that no two rooms are the same. We aim to have a suitable representation of each category on our website but it not possible for it to be exact. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the room/s you were allocated. I do certainly appreciate your kind feedback on our team. Once again, thank you for your comments. Kind regards, Richard C General Manager
Read more
Stephen C wrote a review Jun 2022
Hilton Head, South Carolina945 contributions301 helpful votes
We spent three nights in one of the inner facing rooms. It was very quiet and comfortable. Normal TV and WiFi , marble bathroom etc. If I was picky I would say that a shower rather than shower in the bath would have given more room and been easier to get in and out. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast choice was extensive and tasty and the Crispy Bacon roll was a favorite. It is next to the train station on Prince's St and a short walk from numerous restaurants, shops and attractions. The Brasserie for dinner was an unexpected bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear V7533OBstephenc, Thank you for your recent feedback following your visit to The Balmoral. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind comments regarding the room, breakfast and our staff will be well received by our team members - thank you. I hope we will have the great pleasure of welcoming you back again, before too long. Kindest regards Richard C General Manager
Read more
Tim O wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom337 contributions232 helpful votes
Every part of this hotel experience is just wonderful. Check-in is uncomplicated; the staff, throughout the hotel and with no exceptions had a smile and an “Hello” every time we saw them. Afternoon tea was fabulous; thank you Omar and team. The Scotch Whisky bar was brilliantly hosted by Ross, whose knowledge and recommendations were impressive. Bedrooms are nice. The atmosphere is informal and friendly and one feels very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Scenic15935867615, Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your stay with us. I am delighted to know you enjoyed each element of your stay with us. I will take great pleasure in sharing your kind comments with the team, specifically Omar and Ross. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then.. Kind regards, Richard C General Manager
Read more
dan_from_the_UK wrote a review Jun 2022
Derby, United Kingdom26 contributions67 helpful votes
It’s been some time since I last stayed at The Balmoral and it’s brilliant to see continual investment in the hotel. I stayed in an executive room, which had been tastefully re-decorated with some stunning wallpaper and the finishing touches you’d expect from Olga Polizzi, including some great Scottish touches, such as Timorous Beasties cushions. Although I was surprised to see no reading material in the room. Lighting, in particular, had been well thought out and the room was superb. Cleanliness was top notch and housekeeping efficient, including an excellent turn down service. Staff were excellent, particularly in Bar Prince and Number One, where they took time to talk to you and addressed you by name fairly soon into your stay. Number One served some excellent food, with exemplary service: the loss of the Michelin star perplexed me… Surely this will return?!In the bar, and brasserie, the food was unfussy and tasty. Evening service in the brasserie was a tad impersonal, however. Breakfast better. Scotch was great, and the knowledge of the two gentlemen was incredible, they both run a very special bar. I’m comparison, for example, to Brown’s Hotel it’s larger and feels less intimate and perhaps a little less polished but it’s still really rather good, with staff who clearly love their jobs. Totally deserving of the Forbes Five Star rating and easily the best hotel in Scotland. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear dan_from_the_uk, Thank you kindly for your recent review following your return stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I very much appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback. You very astutely highlighted the finishing touches in your room, along with attention for cleanliness. We are grateful for your positive observations. Furthermore, the recognition of positive interactions with team members means a great deal. I am delighted to share this with our team. Thank you again, we do hope you will return to stay with us again. Kind regards, Richard Cooke General Manager
Read more
Mike C wrote a review May 2022
Matlock, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
Because our experience in parts was amazing and in other parts incredibly disappointing I am unusually going to start this review with a summery so you don't have to read the full rant below unless you really you want to. So to summaries we will not be staying in this or any other Rocco Forte Hotel ever again. We have stayed in other hotels in Edinburgh where the rooms were just as nice, the service much more personal and the rooms were considerably less expensive, and had no hidden costs that you are guilted into paying for. That being said we will be back to the Brasserie Prince and for afternoon tea at the palm court as these experience were so good I will remember them for the rest of my life. We found this hotel to be a bit of a mixed bag, when we visited it recently for my Wife's birthday. I will start with the positives. The afternoon tea in Palm Court, was amazing and felt very special indeed. The choice of teas was mind blowing and the food even better. I had mentioned in advance that it was my Wife's birthday, they brought out the cakes with a candle in and the harpist (that was playing lovely background music) played Happy Birthday To You, which absolutely made the experience for us. We had dinner in Brasserie Prince which is attached to the hotel and I would have to say I cannot think of an occasion when I have ever had a better dinning experience. The food was out of this world and the service was amazing, simply second to none. Again they remembered that it was my Wife's birthday and gave us both a glass of champagne on the house. My Wife had two Spa treatments and she raved about them for days afterwards to anyone who would listen. She said to me repeatedly that they were by far the best spa treatments she had ever had. The hotel on the other hand was a complete disappointment. Not one member of staff wished my Wife a happy Birthday despite me making sure this was mentioned on the booking and again when we checked in (which seemed to come as a surprise to the checking staff). I had upgraded my booking from an executive double to a junior suite, on-line about a month prior to arrival. This upgrade seemed to have been lost in the ether. I did not want to make a fuss in front of my Wife so had to accept this mistake. Although when I did report this to the check-in staff, I was offered a Junior Suite at an additional expense but by this stage my Wife had unpacked and I did not want to have to make her move rooms. My wife tried to use the hair dryer in the room, but it fell apart halfway through drying her hair and sucked her hair in through the back of the hair dryer. This then took quite a bit of time and pain to extract her hair from it. Then we come to the overall experience, which to me was ruined by the blatant attempts to try and extract as much money from there guests as possible. I first noticed this when I went to use the TV in the room, while my Wife had a treatment in the spa. The TV was obviously a modern smart TV with all the smart capabilities disabled. However there was a selection of films you could purchase through the TV. These films were not particularly modern and were being charged at £12.99 a film or £59 for all the films you could watch in 24 hours. I watch a film on my phone through Netflix, which I would much rather have watched on the big screen TV in the room. This experience followed me all the way to check out where I found a £49 charge for room service, which we had not used. When I queried this they advised it was for cleaning the room before we arrived. Although I was advised that it could be taken off, the lady on the check in desk made me feel that I would only take this off if I was not happy with the cleanliness of the room. I have stayed at other high end hotels before and have never heard of a charge like this. You would think at over £800 a night for our room this would be included! They should be very glad of Palm Court and the Brasserie otherwise the rating for this review would be considerably lower.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear B2178KUmikec Thank you for your review. I was delighted that you had a memorable time in Palm Court and felt your wife's birthday was recognised. I agree it is a truly special location in which to celebrate an event and I shall take great pleasure in sharing your kind comments with the team. I was very happy to learn also that you had positive experiences in both our brasserie and the spa too. Regarding the service charge, this is a discretionary gratuity charge which goes directly to the staff at The Balmoral who contribute greatly to delivering our world-class service. Many hotels, ourselves included, are moving to a gratuity system similar to restaurants, whereby the service charge is automatically added to the bill. This way of recognising service I would stress is optional, not mandatory, and can be removed from the bill at check out on your request. I do hope this explains this charge and that it does not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Kindest regards Richard C General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$433 - US$945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmoral hotel edinburgh, balmoral edinburgh hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghPrinces Street and Gardens / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
187
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Balmoral Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 km), The Chocolatarium (0.4 km), and SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Edinburgh (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Balmoral Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and The Haggis Box.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Balmoral Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Balmoral Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Balmoral Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.