We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Edinburgh Playhouse
    0.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 12 December 2016
Fabulous Hotel, would definitely go back!
I stayed here recently for a romantic weekend and wasn't left... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,112: English reviews
Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Quite disappointed this stay. Was ignored by staff as I dragged my case up the steep entrance steps, which wasn't a nice welcome. The car park they recommend to park at was being demolished - might have been nice for them to tell me this as I was now floundering in the traffic looking for parking elsewhere. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mercedesmadman
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Mercedesmadman, I appreciate receiving feedback from one of our valued guests. I am glad at your kinds words for our staff at our on-site bar. I am also pleased that you chose our property for your business. On the other hand, I am sorry that you had issues with the cleanliness or your room and the way your concerns...

Alnwick
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I stayed here recently for a romantic weekend and wasn't left disappointed. The room was nice and spacious, warm & airy and very bright. Unusually you were able to open the windows which is nice to get the air flowing as some hotels with air conditioning can be very stuffy. The bed was massive and had a TV at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Alnwick
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here over a weekend at Christmas markets. Location ideal for Princes St and the playhouse. We had a junior suite at the front of the hotel. Room spacious and quiet. Free soft drinks and snacks an added extra. Have to say breakfast on Saturday was chaotic and I put it down to a lack of staff. We waited twenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jgbclyde
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear jgbclyde, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver a good breakfast experience during your stay. Rest assured this will be shared with our management to help us improve further and for us to be able to continue to serve you better....

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here late November for 1 night, stayed in room 407, (this was a junior suit room) found the room to be very clean and had a small fridge, (nice touch having complementary items in this), location is excellent if visiting the playhouse or just shopping in Princess Street. Had breakfast and food was very good did not have dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Fife
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last year and had a wonderful stay so much that we booked to come back however a lesson learned is you shouldn't expect things to be as good as they were the time before. The hotel is still beautiful but the staff dropped the ball several times with service. The highlights are the rooms are lovely decorated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Terry O, Thank you for posting a review of our property and for being our guest. I am happy to learn you choose to stay with us again and appreciate the room accommodation, mini bar and comfortable bed. However, I am sorry for any disappointed you may have experienced due to the staff service, bar lounge area and key...

West Ferring, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Second stay - I love the decor in this hotel. Rooms are spacious and well thought out. Very close to centre of Edinburgh with tram from airport stopping almost outside. Lots of restaurants, pubs and cafes in the immediate area. Can do Edinburgh on foot from here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hotel Indigo for a night. Our room was on the top floor and was gorgeous. There was a separate sitting area and huge walk in shower. The bed was very comfy and there was a complimentary mini bar (soft drinks and fresh milk). The hotel is located within a few minutes walk of the main tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kilkobeano2
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Recently stayed here for 2 nights for anniversary/birthday trip in Edinburgh and the service was excellent from start to finish. I was impressed with the phone call I received a week before the trip to go through some preferences/points I made on booking and received another call a day or so before to confirm our ETA. Upon arrival, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank APRoberts
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel to a very warm, professional and friendly welcome from Hayley. They like to inspect the rooms before you take occupancy so we offered a drinks voucher while we waited (only 15 mins) the barman/ Waiter Shamil, again was excellent and when we arrived in our room, we were extremely pleasantly surprised. Admittedly It was an upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadisonJack
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Location is excellent - unless you have a car, as parking in central Edinburgh is generally a nightmare. We had 3 rooms which were reached through a series of long narrow corridors and stairs, passing a couple of buckets collecting water dripping from the roof. Rooms 109,110 and 111 were together in what seemed like a separate wing. All 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Ian S, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding heating. We will address this concern. We take all reviews...

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (337)
Viewed
Room/Suite (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Executive King Room (50)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard King Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Super King Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,981 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: €96 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Indigo Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Workington, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Indigo Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure. We were on the third floor and there was no noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles TinaM1701, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Forget about eating here.”
 of 5 bubbles normallylaidback, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 4th floor are bigger and have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles Darren_Alnwick, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles APRoberts, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineM733, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5