We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rutland Hotel

PricelineUS$223*
View Deal
#10 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$278*
US$223*
Great Deal
US$278*
US$278*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
Panoramas (89)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rutland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 989: English reviews
Southlake, TX
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I Would have given it five stars but entire road it's on under construction, it was difficult to locate place thru fencing, this is only temporary so other than that, very eclectic spacious room, clean, n quiet, front desk staff were very nice n helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shay S
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at The Rutland Hotel. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we do apologize for the roadworks which are ongoing outside on Rutland street, these are nearing completion and we will have a great new road leading up to the entrance of...

Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

as number 5 in the hotel table for edinburgh, I expected something rather special. The location is excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms excellent, big comfy beds, bathrooms with music, walk in showers etc. great treats too. The entrance is unique, centrally a little dark. Breakfast was mixed, not great on the first morning for such a highly rated edinburgh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Rutland Hotel. I am happy you enjoyed the hotel rooms and the lovely treats we have in the room for guests. I am sorry to hear you did not have a good breakfast experience both mornings of your stay, we are looking into this matter and...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 May 2016

the Rutland apartments exceeded my expectation in all measures, from the warm welcome at the reception, the great service and the smiley faces to the home feeling wen the showed me to my room, what a great experience and add to all that the place in the Heart of Edinburgh ... I am for sure coming back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Osama A A
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Osama, Thank you very much for your great review of our 5 star apartments. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our townhouse apartments and all it had to offer from the high ceilings and the great 4 poster bed during your stay. We do look forward welcoming you back to The Rutland Hotel in the future...

Reviewed 15 May 2016

The location is perfect for access to/from the airport and central parts of the city, and our room had fantastic views from the Fifth of Forth to the Castle via Princes Street. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast was very generous and extremely tasty, served in a nice atmosphere. We were very impressed with the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Rutland Hotel. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the Bluetooth speakers in the room and the lovely comfortable bed, we take pride in having a great city centre location but this noise you expect from the city centre never affects the quietness of our...

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the rutland hotel for 3 nights on our uk experience. The hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. The room and the friendly staff were the highlight. Location perfect to explore the city. Highly recommend to all. Mark and Lesley from Christchurch New Zealand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjlr27
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at The Rutland Hotel. It was a great pleasure looking after you guys and i am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the city center experience (even some sun!!) We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh lets hope you can bring...

Neath
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Edinburgh is one of those Cities where the choice of hotels is tremendous and reviews are a great help in making a final choice - especially when its your first visit. The Rutland lived up to its well-deserved reputation for our 2 night visit. The room and bathroom were most pleasant with a bed as comfortable as any I've slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidAnne65
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of your recent stay. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep in our wonderfully soft and comfy beds. It is always great to hear guests who enjoyed all aspects of the Rutland building from the Main Hotel to the Kyloe restaurant and also our amazing Huxley...

Deland, Fl
Reviewed 12 May 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Rutland for one night before heading out for a tour of Scotland. It provided a good base for the day from which to do a walking tour of the city. The hotel is well located for access to most of the major sites including the Castle and the Royal Mile. The welcome was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFanatic
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very for your review of your recent stay at The Rutland Hotel. I am happy to hear our staff provided a 5 star service for you during your stay, we try to make every guest feel special and nothing is of too much hassle. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy one of our Junior...

France
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I'm happy to endorse all the positive comments already made about the Rutland. It is a great find. We arrived very late and from then on met great service. All other aspects eg the room, food, location etc proved equally good. We wouldn't bother looking elsewhere next time in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andma
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of your recent stay. I am so happy to hear you had a great time during your stay and enjoyed all aspects of The Rutland from the hotel to the great food we have to offer and also the perfect location. We do hope to see you again in the near...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 May 2016

we had an excellent stay, beautiful and spacious room, very friendly staff, when we planed a late check out they were very helpful. a perfect location in the center. great breakfast as well! when we return to edinburgh, we will be back at the rutland hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianne20161234
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Rutland Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the great location of our hotel and we are more than happy to assist people with a late check out when available. We hope to see you at The Rutland Hotel on your next trip to Edinburgh....

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2016

My boyfriend and I recently stayed atTthe Rutland for his birthday and we loved it! We stayed in the castle view room..I almost wanted to stay in the room rather than going out because it was such a stunning view! The room itself had a very gothic feel, with tones of black and orange, with a big chandelier. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten L
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kirsten, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of your recent stay a The Rutland Hotel. I am so glad to hear you made full use of all the mod cons and amenities during your stay, the bathrobes and minibar items we feel are a nice touch to enjoy the city life in Edinburgh from the comfort of...

748 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (359)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Apartment (102)
Viewed
Dining (118)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,782 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
886 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
287 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
915 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: €158 - €475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rutland Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Georgia
8 months ago
Phoenix, Arizona
9 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Rutland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford it, book an apartment. You won't regret it.”
nancym495, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps request a non-basement apartment”
gabriellemac2017, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is one of two with a castle view. Looks just like the online pictures.”
chubbabone, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 on the top floor was very quiet”
  • lounge area
  • Bathroom and walk in shower
  • very comfy bed
Riley044, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Get an executive room and try the restaurant. Room 4 was great.”
Petrocelli75, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$223* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$278
Expedia.comUS$278
Hotwire.comUS$278
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates