We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Regent House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Regent House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Mamchester
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We booked a double room with shared bathroom, it was on the third floor with some pretty steep stairs didn't bother us too much but if you had bigger bags would be a pain. Positives, the location and wifi Negatives - we got to our room and it was quite large so we were happy but when i sat on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jolouwoo
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We take your opinion very seriously and updated the mattress in the room you reported asap. We are sorry we couldn't change the mattress during your stay. My colleague tried to help you by offering you a diffferent room to stay in, but...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2015

This bed and breakfast is in a very good location, which would suit a lot of people. The end of the airport tram line is a few minutes away. The room I was is was small and "tired" - reminded me of some of the small hotels I stayed in in London years ago, which had not been renovated and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank capeintl
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We are continously working on improving our hotels decoration, and the overall guest experience, so I am glad you pointed out the issues you had. Greetings from Edinburgh

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Lovely little B&B Good Value for money £50 for 2 guests 1 night with continental breakfast Helpful friendly staff, explained how keys worked, breakfast times etc. We stayed in room 25 (Top Floor) more than adequate, Beautiful modern bathroom. Ideally situated near to centre of Edinburgh only short walk to Princes Street, plenty of Bars and shops nearby. Upon departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DART36
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciaton. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you require accommodation at a future date in Edinburgh please do not hesitate to contact us.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel as my little sister stays a couple of doors up and I was down seeing her with my two sons aged 5 and 7. When we were first greeted at the hotel given our key and asked to pay remainder of the balance then told where room was after climbing 2 flights of difficult stairs without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MinniemouseAberdeen
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We tried our best to replace your bed as soon as possible, but unfortunately this was an issue we didn't foresee, as the bed was in a good condition before. Of course things like this can happen, and we tried and did solve the issue...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015

The pictures are not actually a true reflection of the hotel itself. On booking into the hotel the staff were fine but the room itself was actually not what I expected. It was very dark (ladies if you want to put make-up on this would not be possible)as there was only one light and a lamp in the room that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynne C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

As we entered this hotel we were greeted and the process for grabbing the keys and paying the remaining balance was straight forward, we were told that breakfast was available in the morning. We were given the keys but they failed to mention that one was for the room and the other was for the front door which will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary O
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read you had a bad stay with us. I can only say that our usual protocol is to give all the information about the hotel to our guests on arrival, so our staff was reminded again to make sure they do this properly. We obviously did not know about the table which you accidentaly broke, but it...

Reviewed 25 February 2015

I was a bit hesitant to book this one earlier. but the pictures looked good and someone recommended it to me too, so I was a bit ok. Once I reached, this looked like a old heritage building just at entrance of a small street. The entrance is small but decent. Just what should be the minimum. the hotel does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aniruddh A
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful feedback. Unfortunately we can't fit a lift in our bulding due to it's constuction. Although the building is located in the newtown, it's still have a long history, almost 200 years old. I am afraid it is a very common issue with the buildings (especially the older ones) in Edinburgh. We will definitely consider to...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

After reading some of the reviews i was a little worried so i packed fleecy blankets but we didn't need them. We stayed in a family room which had a queen bed and 3 singles and ensuite. We found the room to be decorated well and very specious. Put it this way my son thorughly enjoyed giving me heart palpatations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5faten5
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Regent House Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to let us know.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Booked last minute, on the day itself, location ideal for where we were going, room was small yes, but, beds were comfy enough, yes the stairs to the room are steep but nothing says they must have a lift, quiet enough, don't blame the hotel if there is no parking, they are not obliged to supply it ! breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wreckingbaw
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. We made a lot of improvement in the hotel since you stayed with us, I hope you will visit us again to see yourself. Kindest Regards

scotland
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

I had booked this hotel to stay last minute with my family on 23 jan as we were going to see sound of music in the play house but tragically on the morning of 23rd a close member of my family passed away the hotel were unwilling to change the date of our stay and a refund was out of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gaylecsotland
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

After reading the conversation between the duty manager and you I can only say, that she explained you our cancellation policy and the reasons why we can't offer you a refund for last minute cancellations in a polite manner. She has the authority to act upon cancellations as it is expected from her, following the guidelines we use with every...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,072 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
494 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
733 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#104 of 150 in Edinburgh
279 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: €58 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Regent House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Regent House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Low levels for those needing help in stair climbing as there is no lift here.”
  • The rooms decor, as aged as the hotel itself and yet still charming.
 of 5 bubbles craigk540, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have nice windows so it is bright”
 of 5 bubbles DenverM73, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep the stairs in mind. If you don't mind the climb you will be rewarded.”
 of 5 bubbles chadc335, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we had room 18, great room (sleeps five)”
 of 5 bubbles jean0202, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would think they would all be good rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Marefrequentguest, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5