We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Mile Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Mile Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Mile Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I booked here during the opening weekend of the fringe, and they really helped me get two beds in the same room for my entire stay. The location is fantastic! Close to everything, the only downside to this is that the front windows look out onto the Royal Mile and it can be quite noisy if you have the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katierang
Reviewed 10 September 2016

It was an absolute pleasure staying here. The staff were lovely, the location could not have been closer to the centre and the royal mile always has it charm nook and crannies. I also love the quirkiness of the rooms, really wanted to stay in Gotham city however sadly I didnt get the chance. Overall amazing place and would thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart L
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for the lovely review - we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Really hope to have you here again some time!

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Small, no place to hang out with my friends. Our room is so tiny, the shower ekkk not so clean. When the time I used it, two toilets in Female are so dirty and showers too. With number of people used it with only two toilets are not enough. My room was so small. I lost my food too during...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TeresaLiverpool01
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, shame you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. Our bathrooms get cleaned thoroughly twice a day and checked on regularly. The Fringe Festival is a very busy time here in Edinburgh and we were fully booked for the whole month with lots of people passing through - please let us know when somebody leaves the bathroom in...

Reviewed 3 August 2016

This is the smallest hostel that I ever stayed in, but that did not detract from my experience at all. Firstly, the hostel has a spectacular location on the Royal Mile, close to everything that I wanted to see. It is in walking distance from the bus station too, as well as a Tesco and Sainsbury's. The hostel was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneS1990
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. Great to hear you had such a great time at our wee hostel. Come back some time!

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I stayed there for a couple of nights in a 10-bed female dorm and found it very pleasant. The hostel is rather small and its furnishing is both comfortable and convenient. The bathrooms were very tidy, just a little crowded from time to time. The kitchen/dining room and the lounge are nice places to linger and meet new people and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19A91J
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words - glad you enjoyed your time here with us. It's the advantage of the small and homely places that it's easy to meet new people. Our bathrooms can get a bit crowded in the 'rush-hour' - sorry about that. Hope to see you again some time!

Saint-Usage, France
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel is near in Royal Mile but very small and not a hostel that you want to stay. Some staff are rude.Rooms are dark and very tiny. Staff are hanging out in common areas especially in the kitchen that you as a guest will be uncomfortable to sit in or eat (small of tables of two with 4 chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Littlemissfrenchgirl
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry to hear you didn't like your stay at our wee hostel. Our rooms come in different sizes, some are bigger than others but all have big windows - most of them over-looking the Royal Mile. We do have live-in staff who sometimes use the common areas as well. They are usually very open and friendly with our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

i've been there for short time but next time i gonna spend all my stay at this hostel the best hostel in edinburgh very clen the staff is ( very ) welcome and right in the beautiful part in edinburgh very good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petrol99
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

good and old hostel. staff r usually not kind. but one staff her name is maria is really so nice!! even small and old hostel, i stayed well cuz of her. location is really perfect. this hostel is nearby hostel's sister hostel. so i could compare two hostels.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eddyphdhong
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I felt very comfortable in this hostel. Cute place, clean facilities, nice and helpful staff and good location. An extra shower or two would be good but it's quite small so understandable. Having the kitchen was very handy! They also stored my luggage for 3 days while I went on a tour which was excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristie T
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I was impressed by this hostel. The location is perfect for spending time on the Royal Mile and doing local walking tours. It's also close to a variety of restaurants and shops along with a grocery store. The hostel itself was clean and cozy, those who work there are extremely nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan C

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#21 of 210 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 210 in Edinburgh
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 210 in Edinburgh
1,333 reviews
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 210 in Edinburgh
720 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 210 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High St., Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €13 - €38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No nos dejaron elegir habitacion”
 of 5 bubbles ElViajeroEuskaldun, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe”
 of 5 bubbles abbya382, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take ear plugs as the Royal Mile can be a wee bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Hermes_Kyllenios, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fringe room is clean and good for 8 people”
 of 5 bubbles 623yahyad, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the 'Star Wars' room, it is big, bright and open and has a view that looks out onto the Royal Mile street.”
 of 5 bubbles 761genew, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay