We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
scotland
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Spent couple of nights at this hotel with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed it 5 mins walk from the Playhouse and 10 from Waverley station so it's not exactly right in the noisy city centre which suited us fine You can walk to all pubs etc in Rose St and stagger back in my case in 15 mins An older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garyfromscotland
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

Have just had a lovely overnight stay with my daughter in this central but in quiet location hotel. Read mixed reviews but was quite happy with the whole of our stay. Room was really clean (except ceiling light above bed and mirror)We were in room 9 on 1st floor which turned out to have a double and single bed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillRob11
York
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over the Bank holiday weekend. It is in a quiet area of the city about 15 mins from the station. The Hotel, staff and breakfast were all very good and the price is reasonable however don't stay in room 6. It is quite small with low ceilings and seems to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasmineYork
Victoria, British Columbia
Reviewed 23 May 2015

My husband and I spent three nights here in the middle of May and were pleased with our choice. My email queries were answered quickly and we were greeted warmly upon arrival. Check-in was a breeze (something I appreciated after our trans-Atlantic flight). Our room was spacious. We were on the lower level so didn't have a view but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveler
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

On arrival, we were advised our room was on the 3rd floor and there was no lift. There was also no offer of assistance with our case even though they could see us struggling with it. This was the first of many disappointments. We were told on the plus side that we had a view to die for - this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Di_30
Debz1968, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review with pictures so we where able to see some of the issues you mention.We are sorry about the 3 flights of stairs.But that is clearly advertised on site.And we always offer to help with cases so confused why on this ocassion no one offered.However the only issues we did see is that we need to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

This sorry place hadn't booked our room and sent us off to a hotel which they said was across the street and turned out to be half an hour walk away. Then lied to the booking website saying it was our decision to stay in the cheapest place possible. I have travelled all Over the world and have never been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Koenvdc
Debz1968, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.But as explained on the day you arrived we had not received your booking via laterooms.We spoke to them about this as its not the first time there emails haven`t come thro.Very unfortunate and we did appoligise for this.Even tho it was not really our fault totally. I then trolled internet to find you and your friend...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Location is excellent, an easy walk from the train station, either through a lovely park or along a bustling street. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, a real asset to the hotel. As expected for a three star hotel the rooms are not the most modern or fancy, but were large, warm and light with a lovely view over...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeeto_Spice
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

stayed here a few times and its perfect, management so friendly, room was very big, good view of the back garden and squirrels running riot in the morning, even they are friendly, not one complaint about the hotel, nice location, lots of restaurants nearby, anyone who needs a hotel i highly recommend the abbey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ste c
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Just back from abbey hotel ,the room was very big and spotless ,staff friendly and helpful,breakfast was lovely and a good choice,only a few minutes walk from princess street so handy for attractions and shops,theatre royal just round corner ,would go back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank May54547
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Location!, 10min walk to Waverley main transport hub, few minutes from the start of new tram line and up a cobbled type hill with beautiful buildings and lovely views. Inside much better than would have expected taking in rate, stylish entrance and basic small, but very clean and comfortable bedrooms with newly refurbished ensuite. Full hot breakfast available and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grovesy5
paperrose, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Kind Regards From Everyone at the Abbey Hotel

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
198 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
258 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,104 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
653 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: €78 - €282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Victoria, British Columbia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 5.It is on floor level.It is tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable”
annacL6072FK, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have a walk up Calton Hill,its well worth the effort for the views.”
16DAVID16, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check bedding and room before you pay.”
rmackenzie66, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“nice location”
175jonl, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“My room was room 4 so nice and quiet, yet cozy :) .......”
TravellingAussie2015, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5