We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
19 - 21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB Scotland
12 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$227
View deal
Expedia.comUS$227
PricelineUS$227
Hotels.comUS$227
TravelocityUS$227
InterContinentalUS$227
FindHotelUS$226
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1117)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (248)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#45 of 165 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The InterContinental Edinburgh The George has been welcoming hotel guests since 1881. At its heart are five listed Georgian townhouses, built in 1775 as homes for Edinburgh's most prosperous citizens. Today, The InterContinental Edinburgh The George offers all the luxuries of an InterContinental life in the heart of the Scottish capital. Explore our city's stunning architecture, the iconic Edinburgh Castle and the cobbled streets of the Royal Mile, just moments away from our charming hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Czech and 3 more
2526Reviews87Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,562
  • 585
  • 216
  • 99
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ross B wrote a review Yesterday
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Always a pleasure yo stay here. Great location for doing Edinburgh, excellent rooms with loads of “welcome” gifts. Room was on 7th floor with a breathtaking panoramic view of Edinburgh, the Bridges and the River Forth. A bit more expensive than your standard hotel, but you get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LDarling87 wrote a review Sep 2022
San Francisco, California145 contributions90 helpful votes
I’m sad to say that I was surprised this was an Intercontinental. While the location was wonderful and the service was good, the rooms were very worn down—certainly not what I expect of a hotel of this caliber. There was a large (water damage?) crack in the ceiling, chipping paint on the baseboards, two soap dispensers that kept jamming, and a bathroom sink that would not drain (the stopper was broken). No vanity or sink space to set toiletries or makeup either. Moreover, the room was very small, which would have been fine if their interior decorator didn’t find it appropriate to stick a massive dresser in the already-stuffy room. I will say, however, that the bed was as wonderful as I’ve had at other Inter hotels. I understand this is an old, historic building and yes, it was so beautiful from the outside and was gorgeous in the lobby as well. But it is possible to upkeep older buildings in the interior spaces, especially when the issues are generally not structural, and especially if you’re shelling out $300+ per night. We stayed at another IHG hotel later on during our trip for a fraction of the price and found the quality much better. Tip if you’re going to stay here: the walls are thin, as expected of an older building, so do not get a room by the elevator (or if you do, bring ear plugs). You’ll hear every single guest even if they speak softly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear LDarling87, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologise that there were issues found with your room, these will be addressed with our engineering team and are certainly not indicative of our usual high standards. We appreciate your feedback & hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DGT wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was small and noisy - both within (very limited sound proofing - I spent much of the afternoon listening to my neighbours - on both sides and in the corridor - while trying to work). And externally, I arrived back this evening after midnight and still spent another hour listening to students chattering and smoking directly across the road from my room. The room was not set up as a double (as confirmed), the road noise was disturbing. The carpet was dirty. The cupboard small and there were no hangers for a suit. The last sounds petty but at this price it all needs to work. Next time it'll be The Balmoral which is probably worth the premium.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear davidtV461OR, Thank you for your feedback form your recent stay with us at InterContinental Edinburgh the George. Disappointed your stay was not that of a Intercontinental experience. Should you choose to return to the hotel please feel free to contact myself directly, we will endeavor to provide you with a improved experience reflective of our normal high standards. Regards, Greg greg.riley@ihg.com 0131 225 1251
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Finnian B wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was honestly one of the worst hotel visits I have ever experienced. This is a hotel living on times past. It is in a superb location in the middle of Edinburgh. The level of service is not up to the standard of Intercontinental Hotels and I would now think twice about staying in an IC hotel again. There is no proper functioning bar in the hotel, there is no table service offered in the lobby, and when I requested room service at 530 in the morning, I was advised it was not available. We had booked a family room, to sleep 3. The third bed was never made up despite two requests/complaints that I made. They had two opportunities to put the problem right. I did go to speak to the manager regarding the issue but was left waiting at the reception desk for 19 minutes. Yes, I timed it. If you want a decent hotel in Edinburgh go to the Balmoral
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay at this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Finnian B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Disappointed that you experienced service issues which clearly impacted your stay with us. We do hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel Jane wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful classic hotel. Rooms were clean and well kept. Great location with plenty of walkable places to see close by. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. Edinburgh is a beautiful city to explore. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had an excellent experience with us here at the George. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pennsyguy wrote a review Sep 2022
pittsburgh126 contributions70 helpful votes
Classic old hotel in a classic old European city. Edinburgh is lovely, and The George is just as lovely itself. It's a timeless old building that has been very well-taken care of. Our room was large, not only for European standards, but for American standards as well. Room was very well-appointed, had plenty of plugs and outlets, and beautiful large windows. The bathroom was clearly recently renovated and was very modern and very functional, as well as lovely with tile and marble throughout. The staff is unfailingly helpful, polite, and smiling. I need to repeat the part about the smiling: these are the the most cheerful hotel workers I've ever seen, all of them. The location is excellent, with everything you want to see within walking distance. The breakfast is, no exaggeration, quite possibly the best breakfast I've ever experienced in Europe. The offerings are staggeringly expansive and plentiful. The hotel bar is also a great place for Happy Hour or evening drinks. It's not inexpensive, but there are more expensive hotels in this city, and I'm not sure how you could improve on The George. It's perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear pennsyguy, Thank you for your feedback & the wonderful comments about the hotel & especially the team. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry T wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
My son and I stayed at InterContinental Edinburgh the George in July 2022 for The Open at St. Andrews, Scotland. We had a great time at the Old Course, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the George. Unfortunately, our flights to and from Edinburgh were cancelled, and we had to make other arrangements to get to the George and from the George to London Heathrow for our flight home. The concierges at the George were fabulous, and I want to highlight two employees who went above and beyond their duty for us. Aslan arranged transportation for us to London Heathrow, and Joseph "Hal" Flowers arranged for return of valuables that I mistakenly left in the safe in our hotel room when we had to depart rather quickly to connect with our transportation to London. These gentlemen are exemplar of outstanding service, and I hope they are recognized by the hotel for their efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Be sure to book the type of beds you need and arrive early enough to be assigned a room with your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of the hotel, we are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us at the George. I will personally pass on your comments to Aslan & Hal they will appreciate the special mention. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel maybe before the open returns to Scotland! Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanyaargo wrote a review Sep 2022
Denver40 contributions26 helpful votes
Very friendly and efficient staff. Great location. Walking distance to everything. Will definitely stay here again when we come to Edinburgh. Room comfortable. Superior city view worth the price. Breakfast good. Only negative thing is that elevators were a bit slow but not more than other hotels
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tanyaargo, I glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you took advantage of our city view rooms. Look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Edinburgh. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne B wrote a review Sep 2022
Carlisle, United Kingdom7 contributions
Excellent central hotel. Very helpful and attentive staff. Good breakfast and good facilities. Hotel is well positioned for good restaurants and amenities including the railway station. Edinburgh is a beautiful city with so much to enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Anne B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed Edinburgh and your stay with us here at the InterContinental Edinburgh the George. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the capital. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven D wrote a review Sep 2022
Otterbach, Germany112 contributions5 helpful votes
I have stayed at The George quite a few times and am always happy. This time the visit started before I even arrived. The concierge staff stepped in one month before my arrival and booked all of my dinner reservations. The restaurants were all amazing and I wouldn’t have done better myself. Of course they continue to be attentive during the entire trip. Scot and his concierge team know you by name and if it’s ordering you a taxi or finding you a barber, they step up. On this visit I had to move rooms twice. No fault of the hotel for the moves. First time was some other bad guests. Greg one of the managers and his team moved me to a nice quiet top tier room. The second time was a plumbing issue that surfaced. This time Tomas another amazing manager, stepped up to relocate me. He gave me another fantastic room. He also had a Gin and Tonic sent to my room. He truly went above and beyond. I return to the hotel in three weeks and Tomas was sure to make it so I have a great room on my return. The staff at the hotel are amazing and even if things don’t go 100% perfect these people make the stay amazing and I wouldn’t stay anywhere else. I consider it to be the best hotel in Edinburgh. Plus the sheets and pillows are amazing. Thanks for everything! Steve D.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Riley, Guest Services / Front Office at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Steve D, We are delighted you consider us to be the best hotel in Edinburgh! We hope you have an amazing return stay with us, we will be delighted to have you back. Regards, Greg
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$198 - US$342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel edinburgh
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Chihuahua Cafe (0.3 km), Scottish National Portrait Gallery (0.3 km), and The Edinburgh Dungeon (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, The Table, and The Pakora Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Polish, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to InterContinental Edinburgh the George, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.5 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.6 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.7 km).