We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Scotsman Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scotsman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,070: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked this as a 2 night break for my wifes 50th birthday and told the hotel that this was the case.Maybe nothings for free but it want even mentioned during the time we were there.We paid nearly £300 just for the room for 2 nights.Location excellent but....... Rooms small and odd shaped.Entered the bedroom to be confronted by a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tom M
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in Coeliac UK. Awesome!There was a separate GF menu and desert menu with almost as many items as the regular menu. Chef couldn't help enough, they even went out of their way to get gluten free sausages. If I could I would give them 6 out of 5 for service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JovdV
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review regarding our fabulous gluten free menu here at the Scotsman hotel. Our executive head chef Paul Hart takes great pride in preparing the gluten free menu and I have personally passed on your comments to him. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and for you to enjoy more of...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location, rooms large and clean but lighting and air con poor in room. Gym very well equipped and guests can join the daily fitness classes for free. Pool a disappointment as it is a very dark area and kids only allowed to use pool 3-5pm. Came back one day to find room door had been left open by housekeeping,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy D
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman. The pool has set children’s swimming times this is always set out with peak times but is discretionary and management can allow access out with these times. Please do not hesitate to check with management the next time you stay with us....

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Took Afternoon Tea in the Brassiere, not the best we've had, finger sandwiches must have been sitting for wee while as they had hardened slightly,very unimaginative & meagre fillings, egg mayonnaise, ham so thinly sliced it was barely there, smoked salmon and cream cheese. Served with only 1 scone each although it was quite large but not home baked. Cakes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brand63
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your visit for afternoon tea. With regards to the comments about the cakes and scones not being homemade, this is not factually true we have a pastry chef employed at the hotel who makes all scones and cakes on site everyday. Yes the cakes are smaller due to the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Really enjoyed our stay. The room was huge and had everything one would need. Only disappointment was the low lighting in the room...made the room very dim. The bed wasn't the best I have slept in ...but it was great to stay in a part of Edinburg's history. We enjoyed the spa facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walpolepark11
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more. As I am unaware of which room you were allocated I cannot comment regarding the...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Location, location, location. We loved The Scotsman, the staff were fantastic and very helpful. Our room, had a view and was very nice, clean and spacious. Bathroom even had a bath, always a bonus. Wifi was available. The Scotsman is central to everything you may want to do in Beautiful Edinburgh,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luvlinda
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your stay with us here at the Scotsman hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest regards Laura Cooper

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very impressed from the moment of arrival, the reception staff were really helpful as were all the other staff we encountered throughout our stay. Our room was clean, spacious and well equipped, with a great view out to Carlton Hill. The free wifi was a bonus too. There was a great choice at breakfast, all well cooked and tasty. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dougie D
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more. We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is very grand, and ideal for a romantic city break. Our room was massive with a huge bathroom. Tv was huge too! In room facilities were spot on and bed was very comfortable. We ordered breakfast to be delivered every morning, which they put in a hatch that you open from the room, you didn't have to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma c
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made. I agree regarding the privacy hatch it’s such a quirky idea and adds to the privacy...

UK
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The staff in the hotel are superb in every discipline. I would give the staff 5 stars. However, the rooms do not meet the same standard. The rooms are very standard and may be a little small. There also appears to be many moths in the room! The pool area is very dark and needs brightening up. I expected the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pixdix09
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to thank you for your kind compliments with regards to Barry, Barry, Jorge and Nick I have already personally passed these on to both of them as well as our Front of House Manager. As the Scotsman is a City Centre...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at the Scotsman many times before but never have I been this disappointed. 1. Concierge was helpful in recommending and making a dinner reservation but he obviously forgot to ring me when the taxi came or the taxi never came. So I had to venture out to find another restaurant on my own. 2. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank takakin
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made. I am sorry to hear that you were not made aware of the taxi arrival, I...

911 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (597)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (229)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Director Suite (71)
Viewed
Editor Room (60)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,533 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
783 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scotsman Hotel, resides within the former Scotsman Newspaper building. Originally built in 1905, this majestic building was designed to dominate the Edinburgh skyline and features incredible views of the city´s most famous landmarks. In 2001 the building was transformed into The Scotsman Hotel with careful attention towards preserving the magnificent Italian marble staircase, stunning oak panelling, imposing marble pillars and ornate ceilings.Originally the reception room of the newspaper, our North Bridge Bar and Brasserie features the original oak panelling, a hand carved wooden balcony and imposing marble pillars. The seating area is split into two levels with the balcony offering quieter, intimate seating, with a birds-eye-view below to the buzzing main restaurant and cocktail bar.The newspaper held its giant printing presses in the lower ground floor. The press room now houses our Scotsman Health Club and Spa with a vast state of the art gym. Popular with locals and hotel guests alike. Facilities include a steel swimming pool, steam and sauna, tropicarium, 60-station gym, spa treatment rooms and a relaxation suite.With no two alike, our 69 rooms and suites each have their own quirky features including curved corner window bays with breathtaking views and marble bathrooms and as a guest at The luxury 5 star Scotsman you will enjoy free Wi-Fi access and a complimentary Scotsman Newspaper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €147 - €490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floor 6 is nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 96SteveP, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles zoek234, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get one with a view over the city so you can see the Scot Monument and clocktower, stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles the_w0rld_is_yours, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lower floors may experience traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ronharry, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Editors rooms are good and spacious in our experience.”
 of 5 bubbles 718williamc, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5