We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1TR Scotland
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$273
View deal
Expedia.com
US$260
View deal
Agoda.com
US$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Hotels.comUS$260
TravelocityUS$260
HurbUS$339
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1378)
Room & Suite (894)
Dining (116)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 20/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#84 of 165 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Salon
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3716Reviews41Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,959
  • 887
  • 458
  • 232
  • 180
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
silsagaz wrote a review Sep 2022
Aviles, Spain16 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is very well located in the Old Town, and the rooms are modern and nicely decorated. The Feature Suite with a view is outstanding. Also, breakfast was delicious and really complete. Thank you very much, Virginia, for your kind attention at the reception. Hopefully we'll be back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David A wrote a review Sep 2022
Stamford, United Kingdom166 contributions54 helpful votes
An excellent overnight stay at The Scotsman. Mercifully close to the station, a short walk from the Royal Mile and full of elegance and charm. Dinner and breakfast were delicious coupled with excellent service. The room was top notch, well appointed, quiet and very clean. Checkout was a bit clunky but certainly not enough to detract from an otherwise very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sheryl M wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmond, Oklahoma1769 contributions212 helpful votes
My husband and I took our two adult sons to Scotland in June. We stayed here at the beginning and the end of our trip. Our rooms during both stays were lovely and updated, with great amenities. We enjoyed a meal in the hotel's dining room during a Sunday lunch and were treated to beautiful music, including a piano and strings. The older gentleman concierge gave great advice for places to eat on the mile. Spot on! If and when we return to Edinburgh, we will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thabk you for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman Hotel in the near future. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager Christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsten34 wrote a review Sep 2022
London, Canada60 contributions74 helpful votes
We stayed here three nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The family room was beautiful. It slept four comfortably and has one and a half bathrooms. It was very quiet. It was not inexpensive, but reasonable based on the prices of other hotels in Edinburgh in August. It is close to the train station, many restaurants and many of the the sights of the city. The hotel is an odd layout, but we loved that. (I wish we had the time to see a movie in the fancy theatre!) The construction around the hotel is not the hotel’s fault. Our email explained where the alternative entrance was so we knew where to have our cab drop us off. We found the staff helpful and professional. We arrived in the morning after a flight. They kept our bags for us and called us when the room was ready.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman Hotel in the near future. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager Christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julia f wrote a review Sep 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom112 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
I can not express how disappointed I was with this hotel. I did extensive research as I wanted somewhere nice for my birthday and picked this hotel as it had great reviews and being just under £370 per night for a Delux room with city views my expectations were high. Well what a shock I got. The Bedroom was average at best and certain not deluxe. The beds were appalling, we did not manage to get sleep as the beds were made from hardwood and screwed together. I have attached pictures of the beds.... worst I have every stayed in. I felt like I was in a hostel. I felt like I was sleeping on planks. The city views was a joke as all I had was the railway station and rubbish. The room was very noisy. The TV was so slow it was quicker to watch TV on my mobile. I paid for breakfast and they said I had not had that included in the room rate of £370 per night. Also it stated complementary whisky as part of their “in room features” which was false advertising as they only provided it on day one despite it not stating that. I did question if they were going to take the other in room items out of the room ie TV, HairDryer, etc. There were stains on the chairs and carpets. The cleaning of the room was average at best. There was mould in the bathroom. They did not provide clean glasses and we had to clean them and we had to ask for Tea Bags and milk every day. The service at breakfast was awful as it depended who you were. We asked why some people were service tea/ coffee and others had to get our own. Breakfast was not fantastic. The staff were not that friendly or helpful. Was I wrong to expect a good standard of hotel / room in Edinburgh for £370.00 a night? I have stayed all of the world and never experience just a poor service / standard. Not the birthday experience I had expected. The only thing good about this place was it was central so location was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not book. Not worth the money.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read there were aspects of your stay that did not meet expectations. Our beds are made from high quality hard wood and our mattresses are made by a leading brand. I am sorry to read the manufacturing process of these beds stopped you having a good night's sleep. Your room had views across Edinburgh Waverly and into Princes Street Gardens. I am sorry to read these views of Edinburgh City Centre were not the city views you were expecting. Our confirmation states "complimentary whisky upon arrival" and therefore it is not refreshed daily, however had you requested this, the team would have happily obliged. I have passed your comments on the cleanliness and service at breakfast to the teams. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager Christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anton b wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York7 contributions15 helpful votes
The hotel has huge potential. Great location. Impressive building. But - the hotel is run down. Stained carpets, stinking rooms, bad plumbing, very limited service. The smelly rooms , lack of cleanliness and the overall situation of the hotel are entirely unacceptable. The hotel should be entirely renovated and until then it is a poor choice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned by your comments and ask that you get in touch to discuss further. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin K wrote a review Aug 2022
16 contributions31 helpful votes
Having stayed here a few years ago, very disappointed in the room - especially at over £500 per night. Staff are nice & obviously try hard, but oh dear! Lots of issues, unresolved & finally got told off by the manager for complaining - bizarre!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. As mentioned by email, I am sorry for the issues you encountered - I would like to add that you were not told off for complaining, I merely highlighted that belittling the staff is not the best approach to have problems resolved. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tasha C wrote a review Aug 2022
Cleveland, Australia10 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was absolutely perfect despite all of the road works and the strike with the refuse collectors (Edinburgh is shocking filthy at the moment) the calm inside including the a grand Cafe made our trip to Edinburgh very special when it could easily have been ruined
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check to see if the bridge work is still going on and it can affect getting to the car park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Slavanovitch100 wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom34 contributions57 helpful votes
I have to agree with other reviewers on here as this place is not worth the price you pay and at £500 per night we are here and are beyond disappointed in fact if it not were for the fact we have booked the Tattoo for the second night of our stay I would have cancelled and moved on. AWFUL check in experience and room service even worse. No turn down and staff definitely irritated when you ask them to sort things (I did and it never happened). The back entrance which should be secure is always open and these is no key security in the lifts which means anyone can gain access to this so called luxury hotel and considering there are wall to wall beggars outside this is concerning. I am sorry but this place is beyond disappointing and u p professional and I just wish we had got far better value from another Cory centre hotel. AWFUL EXPERIENCE
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read about the issues you encountered. Please do get in touch so I can discuss these with you further. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ponpon75 wrote a review Aug 2022
Meudon, France36 contributions17 helpful votes
We booked this hotel several months ago and were impatient to discover it for our last stay after a road trip in Scotland. I was a bit stressed following recent comments I had read, and because of the huge works on the bridge below the hotel - so asked several times for a quiet room without a clear answer to reassure me. Finally, we were very pleased : thank you to the reservation team who attributed us a big and quiet room (Feature Suite) on the 7th floor. The hotel is beautiful and ideally placed. The Grand Cafe is nice and has good meals - with a children menu. I would just recommend to put the bar higher in terms of cleaning quality - the trash bin were not all emptied during our stay (3 days). But the hotel / room was so nice that we considered this as a detail to improve.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Christopher Angus Hotel Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$184 - US$323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the scotsman hotel edinburgh, scotsman hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Scotsman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 km), and The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Scotsman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and The Haggis Box.
Is The Scotsman Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Scotsman Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.1 km).
Is The Scotsman Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.