We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Show Prices
#42 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,300: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not the happiest of occasions being at a funeral, but the staff at the Norton went out of their way to ensure that the day went well. The food was superb and for wine drinkers, the service was excellent. The non alcoholic lager I thought was expensive at £3.20 until a guest reported that a double whiskey had cost a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mags P
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The overall experience was good, with very friendly attentive staff, especially in the restaurant. However, once my bill had been emailed to me, I noticed that I had been billed twice for drinks which I had ordered in the bar, and signed for, then to be added again onto my dinner bill. I emailed the hotel to highlight this issue,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stew4267
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly, I would like to apologies for the delay in writing a post. My husband & I married here in August 2015 & since then I have told about 3654894654 people to at least view the venue. Food is incredible, staff so warm and friendly & the experience was enjoyed by all. My family still to this day talk about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Positive_Vibes92
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am grateful to you for posting a review following your wedding in 2015. It is great you enjoyed your day so much and that you found the food incredible and the staff warm and friendly. Your comments regarding Janette and Jennifer are much appreciated and I will thank them personally for being recognised in your feedback. Thank you for...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was a very nice hotel. It's pool was lovely with a steam room and a jacuzzi sort of thing, although the pool did not open till 3pm to kids. The food, in my opinion, was not to the highest standard. My kids were disappointed with their meal as was I. Overall I thinks it's a good hotel for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana 2
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am grateful to you for taking the time to post a review following your stay in March last year. I am delighted you found Norton House to be a nice hotel and that you liked the facilities in our Health Club & Spa. I am disappointed to read that the food was not to your expectation and I apologise...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Circa 2 miles from Edinburgh airport 10 miles from the city but a lovely hotel set in the grounds of an estate. After booking in the walk to the rooms is a bit peculiar going up to the first floor down a twisting corridor then down in a lift, but the rooms are lovely. Large & spacious with a seething...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johndavies0001
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post a review following your stay on business. I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel and that you utilised all the facilities. It is great to read that you would stay again if you return on business and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Chris Monks

Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having visited the Norton House Hotel several times for spa treatments and been impressed by the facilities we had no hesitation in booking in overnight when attending a friend's family celebration. To say we were impressed is an understatement. The event was excellent. Service, food and the setting were superb. While within easy travelling distance of Edinburgh and near to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IGA131
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially your friend’s family celebration. It is great to read that you will return in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House. Kind regards Chris Monks

York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is beautiful, in beautiful grounds. We were upgraded to a stunning, well kept junior suite. The staff were great. However we always book our breaks on the basis of the food and booked this on the basis of 3 AA Rosettes on the website. When we were sat down to dinner and given the menu, we asked where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkShirley
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you posting a review following your recent visit. I am delighted you found the junior suite to be stunning and that the team during your stay were great. I am sorry that you were not aware that our three rosette restaurant was closed. Ushers information was removed from our website at the time of closure and we will...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a leisure break, and to visit Edinburgh for the first time which was a fantastic city and only a 25 minute taxi ride from the hotel but you can also do park and ride. The hotel itself is lovely and clean and to a high standard. The restaurant was good and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny400
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manger at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post a review. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel and that you found the food delicious and the Spa treatments great. I have noted your comments regarding the trifle and wait for afternoon tea and I will share them with the relevant members of...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with partner and his parents for afternoon tea as they had received a voucher for their Christmas. They had the champagne afternoon tea and we paid on the day for the afternoon tea without champagne - £20 each. Having looked at the menu we were looking forward to the selection but were disappointed to then be told that not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alimck89
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful to you for posting a review. You feedback is very important to us as it provides valuable insight into your experience and highlights where improvements can be made. Please let me apologise that your visit did not meet expectations. I will pass on your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurants Manager to discuss with their...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with daughter for spa day, gift for our Xmas. Visit inc champagne afternoon tea and 55 min massage (I had Tara, thank you - it was perfect.) Had a lovely, relaxing day, never rushed. Every member of staff was so friendly and helpful, spa very relaxing and peaceful, as was pool area, the coffee lounge where afternoon tea was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post super feedback following your visit to our Spa. I am delighted you had a fantastic day and that you enjoyed your treatments and afternoon tea. I will personally thank Tara, who you have highlighted in your review. I am sure she will take great encouragement from your kind comments. It is great...

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,481 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,583 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,223 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
735 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: €127 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double check all bills, for duplication”
 of 5 bubbles stew4267, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At least ask for a show round it's beautiful!!”
 of 5 bubbles Positive_Vibes92, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Worth a visit as long as you are not looking for fine dining.”
 of 5 bubbles YorkShirley, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you get an upgrade room, go to the bar while it heats up.”
 of 5 bubbles norventowind, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms in the extension are well equipped but lack the charm of those in the original house”
 of 5 bubbles TonyD970, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay