We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,053: English reviews
Start your review of Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
 Click to rate
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have just returned from a fantastic weekend stay here. I arrived to the hotel exhausted and a little flustered after a long night travelling and a very last minute change to my holiday plans. A big thank you to Sean and Liam at reception who couldn't have been more helpful!! They very kindly took my luggage, recommended somewhere for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocluvver
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good Sized room with large bed, bathroom had a walk in shower with separate bath. The room was very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially in the bar and restaurant. Ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was very nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in the middle of Old Town, 5 minute walk from the castle and many other tourist sites such as a the museum etc. The hotel it self was amazing, beds were very comfortable, staff were so nice, and price was reasonable too! Its close to great bars and restaurants so if your interested in that side of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank I6656DSlaurar
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A confortable and very well located hotel, 5mn walk from the castle and the Royal Mile. Located on Grassmarket, a very lively (but calm at night) square full of pubs and restaurants. Big bed and large washroom, I would come back on my next trip to Edinburgh, recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 456thibaultj
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your lovely comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Liverpool, England
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked for five nights but due to an extremely painful back problem whist there we had to shorten our visit to three nights and unfortunately left early. The staff couldn't have been more sympathetic and helpful during my stay and special mention should be made of Robert and Vinny in the restaurant and their staff along with Magda and George...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolscouser
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback, I am disappointed you had to leave early due to a health issue, but we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year! The team were equally thrilled to read you nice comments, they really are an asset to the hotel. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location was excellent. Unfortunately think that I stayed at the wrong time during some construction work, as the water in my bathroom ran brown for about a half hour. Only about 4 channels on the TV worked. Otherwise the room was very comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank monicalT4521YR
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your comments. With regards to the brown water, it was an issue outwith our control, the water supplier had challenges in the area. Thank you for raising the issue with your tv, it has now been dealt with. I am please that other than these minor issues you had a good stay with us. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. Great location, very central and easy to get to, very comfortable beds, delicious breakfasts with such a variety. Would stay again for the breakfasts alone!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annaspannerina
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your lovely feedback, I could not agree more, we have some amazing dishes on our menu for the best start to a day! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The good stuff: - location. minutes walk to Edinburgh castle (photo was taken from level 4's lobby), royale mile, university of edinburgh etc. we took uber and arrived at the hotel directly, i suspect it is not going to be an easy walk from waverly station if you have large suit cases - room. new and spacious. The bad stuff:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beargoh
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed feedback, I am delighted you would consider a return to the Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel. Next time please contact a member of the team and we will ensure we give you firmer pillows. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really liked the location of this hotel in the Grassmarket area of Edinburgh, as it was close to Usher Hall where we had booked a concert. It was really clean, warm, cosy and helpful staff - all we needed to relax on a two night stay - plus you get to keep Bobby the duck - what fun!! Check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal94
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

God all mighty where to start!!! Initially we were informed that we had arrived at the wrong hotel,god had we wished we had.We were in fact booked in to the Apex City as opposed to the Apex Grassmarket. When we were allocated our room there was a serious odour in the bathroom.We were in quite a hurry as we were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gilchrist01

728 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (553)
Viewed
Room/Suite (135)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
City Plus Double Room (23)
Viewed
City Plus Twin Room (21)
Viewed
City Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,176 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,017 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,389 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,518 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Agua Restaurant & Bar
Agua Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €99 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of hotel could be noisy but our room was at the back of the hotel on the side.”
 of 5 bubbles liverpoolscouser, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view of the Castle you might also experience noise from the busy Grassmarket.”
 of 5 bubbles MagsA77, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great views of castle if you stay at front of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles donniem218, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles JohnDoeTyneandwear, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for a room with views of Edinburgh Castle”
 of 5 bubbles DerekF607, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5