We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ Scotland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Best Rates
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$373
Hotels.comUS$373
PricelineUS$374
TravelocityUS$373
Trip.comUS$373
FindHotelUS$336
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (569)
Room & Suite (222)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Dunstane Houses
Updated 20/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 166 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Luxurious, relaxed and unlike anywhere you’ve ever stayed before, the Dunstane Houses form two parts of a family-run 5-Star boutique hotel that brings a breath of fresh Orkney air to the heart of Edinburgh. A short walk from Haymarket, 15 minute walk to city-centre and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, the 35-bedroom boutique hotel is spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, both houses combine heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors in both Dunstane House and Hampton House have all been stylishly redesigned and refurbished to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish Soul.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Butler service
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Best Rates
1815Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,298
  • 371
  • 95
  • 31
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gay Scot abroad wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom179 contributions113 helpful votes
I’ve been several times for dinner to Dunstable Houses. The restaurant is informal but very smart and comfortable — you’re more likely to find yourself seated on upholstered armchair than a dining room chair — and the decor harks to the grandness of the Victorian room you’re sitting in. The waitresses and waiters are mostly very young but clearly well-trained, with impeccable timing and manners. The choice of food is excellent with a regularly changing menu, and the quality is superb.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LaurieGray_9 wrote a review Mar 2022
Bothwell, Glasgow19 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
A beautiful property in Edinburgh's west end just minutes from Haymarket, and 10 to Princess St. We had a wonderful welcome from owner Shirley who checked us in and showed us our beautifully presented room, a seem less process, nice touches in our room which would grace a larger style 5 star hotel, Nespresso coffee, comfy bathrobes and slipers, and shower products etc... Luxury feel in the Ba'Bar where we had first class cocktails served, this extends to front lounge / dining area where meals are served all day, dinner on both nights were in central Edinburgh but goodness do they serve an excellent breakfast, for some reason I cannot up the photos but trust me the the Greek sundae is out of this world, ordered both days and the full Scottish is to be commended, All this is served by the wonderfull French Claire whom along with owner Shirley totally spoiled us us over a 2 night stay, hopefully be back soon. Sorry, forgot ideal car parking at the rear of the property, which can be a pain to find in Edinburgh, definitely will return 10/10 !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MaryNM56 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cedar Crest, New Mexico11 contributions1 helpful vote
Dunstane Houses was within walking distance of old Edinburg Castle and the Royal Mile, but, far enough away to be a good rest. What made this place so special was the atmosphere and the personal care and attention of staff. They were all great! We particularly enjoyed Sean for his knowledge of whisky, which we tasted many! The bar at Dunstane Houses is named Ba’Bar. Steven enthralled us with his personal stories about the Ba’ contests on Christmas and New Years Days. The food was also excellent! The fruit was so fresh!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They arranged transportation to and from the airport.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GBL wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
When looking to book this option beware - while the room is well appointed, the bathtub is in the window that overlooks the patio where guests gather and so they can watch you take a bath. Also the patio proximity makes the suite overall not particularly private and if the patio is busy not so quiet. You wouldn’t know this until you checked in and saw the suite.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JDC1976 wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates92 contributions42 helpful votes
We had a lovely lunch. One of our party has allergies and the chef showed his class and flexibility of his menu, by being able to adapt pretty much anything on the menu by changing some ingredients and being suitable for someone with specific allergies. This means a lot to someone with allergies, where sometimes the options can be very limited. Above that, the place is classy and elegant with excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JKCDMom wrote a review Jul 2022
Dallas, TX377 contributions210 helpful votes
We had the absolute pleasure of staying her for 5 nights recently. The staff is amazing, our room was lovely and we will be back. They take very good care of you and nothing is out of the way for them. The bar and sitting room is lively and you will not want to leave the front garden after a few beers and whiskeys. The breakfast is wonderful too. If I had any complaint, it would be that the rooms dont have anywhere for you to unpack your bag. No drawers. The closet its very small too. THAT was my only thing. No AC, but we did not need it at night and we were not in our rooms drung the day. Just a Lovely place with lovely people Not in walking distance to the Royal Mile or the Castles, but a short cab ride to mist of the sights was ok. Beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms on the from of the house get more air from the open windows.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Beverly J wrote a review Jul 2022
Virginia Beach, United States2 contributions
Stayed 3 nights prior to our Best Scottish Tour of 7 days. This gave us the ability to walk and explore Edinburgh prior to leaving for our trip. The room was great and loved the food! I am not a big eater so the portion size of the meal was excellent. I loved the location (post trip we stayed on the Royal Mile and I appreciated the location of the Dunstane Houses even more!)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nigel and Sue G wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently stayed for two nights in the Hampton House with our Cocker Spaniel. We loved our stay and the room (although a little on the small side) was great with lovely decor and facilities. Also, we were next to the Conservatory and small garden which was handy for our dog. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again on another trip to Edinburgh as the location is convenient for the city.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jon D wrote a review Jun 2022
Dundee, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had a two night stay at the at Dunstane House Hotel to be close to Murrayfield Stadium so we could see the Eagles concert. Our stay was fantastic, room was very comfortable, the staff were brilliant, the food from the restaurant was all locally sourced and of the highest quality. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
danzily2762 wrote a review Jun 2022
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom76 contributions24 helpful votes
We saw this establishment listed in the information pack of our nearby B & B for nearby places to eat. We checked the menu on roadside and planned to eat there the following day before going to the Eagles concert. We arrived at about 2pm and when entering asked if we had booked. As we weren't aware we had to book they "squeezed" us in but we only had an hour!. However it wasn't until we were seated we were told they were only serving a 2 or 3 course set meal (£32 or £36). As we didn't want to then go and find somewhere else to eat we agreed to the 2 courses for £32. We only had a basic "battered" fish and "triple cooked" chips - which unfortunately was the worst fish and chips I have ever eaten. The batter was pale and soft and the chips were inedible - too dry and I had to leave them. We then had the desert, fruit crumble and custard ? which was cold and the smallest chocolate brownie I have ever been served. We paid the bill and left. When I inspected the bill, I had also been charged £7.95 Service charge!!!!! We did notify the owners of the B & B so they are now aware that this establishment doesn't always offer the menu being advertised and the standard of food was extremely poor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Dunstane Houses
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your lunch you had with us on the day of the Eagles Concert, Guest feedback is invaluable for us, which is why we make a point to ask for it throughout your time with us. We were so pleased we managed to get you a table as all events at Murrayfield is an extremely busy day. I am sorry you have felt we had missed the mark on this occasion, we do pride ourselves in using the best of local produce from Scotland and The Orkney Islands. Regarding the service charge, this is always optional as it says on the bill. I am hoping you will give us another opportunity to improve your experience whilst with us. We nevertheless hope that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and the Eagles concert! Best wishes, Shirley
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$275 - US$370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunstane hotel edinburgh, dunstane house hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Dunstane Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dunstane Houses
Which popular attractions are close to The Dunstane Houses?
Nearby attractions include Roseburn bar (0.3 km), Murrayfield Bar + Kitchen (0.4 km), and Scots Guards Club (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dunstane Houses?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Dunstane Houses?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Dunstane Houses?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dunstane Houses?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dunstane Houses?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hau Han, Skerries Restaurant, and Coates Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Dunstane Houses?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Dunstane Houses?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Dunstane Houses?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dunstane Houses?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (3.6 km), The Real Mary King's Close (2.4 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (2.6 km).