We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apex Haymarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 923: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Location good for 20 mins walk to centre. (Bus stop outside if needed) Room & breakfast more than adequate but didn't have evening meal there. Staff very helpful & polite. Fair price for what you get & would stay there again. Found out Apex Hotels are opening one in Bath on the site where my girlfriend first worked. If there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 41nickc
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick C, thank you very much for your fantastic feedback! I am delighted you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us. I could not agree more with you on our breakfast and rooms being very good and our team being helpful and polite, they are a real asset. Please do return to us in the not too distant...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and comfortable room. Great shower and facilities. Helped us out last minute after another hotel let us down. Only down point was housekeeping waking us by entering room at 9am when do not disturb was on door.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aliv1979
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your brilliant review, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the inconvenience caused by a member of the housekeeping team, I will address the issue with my colleagues here in order to avoid the recurrence of the issue. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Hotel staff are All amazing. Breakfast on the other hand is terrible. Paid for two mornings. Didn't bother going on the second morning. Plastic sausages. Plastic eggs. Plastic tinned mushrooms. Yuk. No thanks. Take a leaf out of premier inn's book. Their breakfasts are Fantastic. One guest left tissues full if blood from her nose on her finished breakfast plate....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne B
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased you found our team amazing and apologise if our breakfast was not to your liking. We offer a large selection of continental items on our buffet and then a fresh, cooked-to-order hot breakfast. I hope you return to us again and please do ask for me or one...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

After a booking issue with another hotel and spending 3 hours on the phone to Expedia to sort and rebook we were given this hotel to stay. Arriving at 2am very tired, the check in procedure was quick and easy and was soon in our room. The room was small, but was fine for our short one night stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Justin M
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justin M, thank you for your review, I am glad we managed to help you out and offer you a room on a very busy night in Edinburgh! I t was good to read you had a great stay with us and as discussed on checkout, we are going to raise the issue you highlighted with our Housekeeping team....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This hotel is a great value for money. It also has a great location for the city of Edinburgh. Good clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice restaurant with a great breakfast service - must have for the right start of the day. Decent toiletries. Only negative - no mini refrigirator in the room. Got stuck in the lift which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ashish821
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your comments, I am glad you found us great value for money and that you enjoyed our rooms, our service and our food. I am looking forward to welcoming you back at the Apex Haymarket Hotel. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Friendly staff and well equipped rooms BUT no air conditioning and ground floor room had appalling wardrobe space and a very high level window that need a step to open that is not H&S compliant Breakfast is good and healthy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigfella78
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your review and please allow me to reassure you and your fellow travellers: the health and safety of our guests is of utmost importance to us and the hotel is fully compliant with every bit of the Health and Safety regulations. The windows cannot be fully opened on the ground floor due to...

Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2015

After a fatiguing day of travel, we arrived at the property to be told that our booking had changed. Not welcome news at all. However, we had been relocated to the Apex Waterloo and the hotel paid for a taxi to take us there - the room was comfortable and even closer to the Castle and the Tattoo performance we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NCTraveler27312
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your feedback. As discussed on your arrival, I apologise for the inconvenience caused, it was due to a system problem. I am glad it all worked out well for you and you enjoyed your stay in our sister hotel. Kind regards, Z Jakri General Manager

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Exellent location 10 minuets walk into the centre or plenty of buses outside. The hotel.Staff where very helpful and would go out of their way to help.Food in the restaurant very good but the breakfast a bit pricey at £10, Has we where only there for two days we didn't mind.The drinks at the hotel are very expensive so went...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carole a
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole A, thank you for your amazing review it really made my day! It was a pleasure to have you here and it is fantastic you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you found our team great and I am grateful for you for mentioning the extremely comfortable beds we have in our rooms and our high...

Bangalore
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the property for two nights in July. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room was a good size for two people, though a little cramped if h have a lot of luggage. Well equipped with everything you need. Special mention to the great service at the restaurant downstairs. Wonderful staff at dinner and breakfast, who...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank as54259
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for the amazing feedback. I am glad you and your family enjoyed the service and the hospitality at the Apex Haymarket Hotel. I am delighted you mentioned our team several times, I strongly believe they make all the difference. I am looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 25 July 2015

we arrived hoping for something very ordinary, but, for the price was a great choice. the location is unbeatable. Lovely restaurants all over. The breakfast was also particularly good and the staff very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Xaviersboy2014

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,283 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
508 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: €98 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Small city room adequate for a couple”
scoop29, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is a good room!”
PaulR918, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't forget to take home your Rubber Duck”
BrettDukes, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can't say as we had a net curtain and sideboard in front of the window so could not really see out”
Biddie11, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a fourth-floor room if you can. Less street noise and no-one above to annoy you.”
  • Use the FREEZING Edinburgh water of January to make your own fridge!
Magpie1892, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5