We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,865 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,711: English reviews
S.Yorks
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this for the location & was not disappointed. We paid for a superior room with a view of the castle, so the view was brilliant - over the Christmas market & castle- but - the noise from the road kept me awake all night. Even after the buses etc had stopped, there was still traffic, sirens etc. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S_YorksYorkies
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for the noise you experienced during your stay, however, we are right in the city centre so noise is to be expected and there is, unfortunately, nothing we can do about it. We hope you enjoyed...

State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: very friendly receptionist Nikolay. Spacious room and bathroom, clean, modern bathroom with good shower/bath, comfortable bed/mattress, excellent breakfast, location is outstanding. Nice towels and toiletries. The view from breakfast room is gorgeous. Cons: because it is right at the main street, you can hear some noises from busses and cars in the morning. Small and slow lift, old pavement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Fun_99
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our receptionist to be friendly - your kind words will be passed on for Nikolay. We do, however, apologise for the inconveniences listed in the cons section of your review. We hope you choose to stay...

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights over Hogmanay, the hotel is in prime location and was adequate for our purpose. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the hotel is in need of some upgrading as looks tired in several areas. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was usual but did tend to have to wait for refills however this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Old Waverley and found the rooms up to standards. We do, however, apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. We hope you made the most of our great, central location and we would love to welcome you back the next...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here before and it was very nice so I think we just caught them on a very bad day . First the good, the hotel is in a great location , right next to the train station and just across from the gardens / xmas market , and the bar staff were very friendly and the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked as a cheap midweek deal so we were given attic room which was basic and small but clean and bed was comfortable. Only issues with room was the shower which was at best a trickle and the heated towel rail did not work. Buffet breakfast was good but had to wait each morning for plates, restocking of food etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giddings37
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay - for the most part. We do, however, apologise that you did not feel welcomed by our staff. I can assure you that this is an infrequent occurrence and we are sad to hear that this has led to you not wishing to visit again....

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our third visit to The Old Waverley over 8 years. We travel from Australia and stay here as the location is fabulous! Close to the train station, the Old Town and bus transfer to the airport. Over 8 years though we don't think too much has been done. Our room was in need of some TLC which was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1364
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love hearing from our returning guests about their stays and why they come back. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you make the long trip from Australia. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not the height of fashion but if its charm and style your after, this is the place. Fantastic base in the centre of everything. Curtious staff, good breakfast, clean rooms. Exceptional views, a great base.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cumbria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a recent 2 night stay at this hotel which is well situated directly over the road from Waverley train station and in the centre of Princess St. Surprisingly large room which was well stocked, warm and had a comfy bed. Pleasant bar to finish off the night and buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Reception staff were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MrsHavenCumbria
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Edinburgh is worth a visit at this time of year. Busy at lovely Christmas market. Ice rink in St. Andrews square. Plenty to see and do. This hotel is in a prime spot to cover the city on foot. The hotel is next door to the famous store 'Jenners'. The tram stops outside! The train station is across the busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helsno
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would probably rate the Old Waverley as good rather than average. I stayed there for two nights with my five year old daughter and the hotel does have a lot of positives. If you are travelling to Edinburgh by train, the hotel is literally a stones throw from the station. From my bedroom window I could see the station,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna H

677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (330)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Castle View Room (79)
Viewed
Princes Street View Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
238 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
900 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Cranston's Restaurant
Cranston's Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: €62 - €236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be nice to the staff. Smile when you check in.”
 of 5 bubbles jalastin, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't,get put on the 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles mickknap, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles S_YorksYorkies, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a City View”
 of 5 bubbles Leanne1364, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front views are great noise dies down around 11 pm no real issues”
 of 5 bubbles LizR983, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay