We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,656: English reviews
falkirk
Reviewed 9 July 2015

rather small room for the price, although it was on a bank holiday weekend. Good bathroom and shower. Great location, with plenty of quality restaurants and good bars and cafes in the area, also plenty of buses available for travel into the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chreistov
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear chreistov Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful location on The Shore. I agree we really are in such a lovely location in the tranquil Shore area and yet just a stones throw from the city centre. On you next visit, please do request a...

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We have stayed in the hotel before & really enjoyed it however when we stayed im March I was disappointed in the standard of the room. The decor was extremely tired (scorch marks on carpet, scratches on furniture) & housekeeping staff tat feel the need to communicate with each other by shouting from one end of the corridor to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Elaine K Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that had previously enjoyed your stay with us. It saddens me however that your stay last March was less thank perfect. We have a very thorough program to keep our rooms up to date and fresh, however it seems we have failed...

Reviewed 7 July 2015

I really liked the Malmaison. It's not right downtown, but the hotel itself is nice. I love that it's not big but a little funky. And right there within walking distance are restaurants and pubs. The bed was very comfortable and although the room was pretty small, it had great windows so there was a lot of light in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Lisa G Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards, Stewart Campbell

West Calder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Stayed in June, 2015. Couldn't find the entrance to road where car park is, so be extra careful if driving. Staff in bistro /bar area were excellent. Friendly and informative. Room was gorgeous. Well furnished and spacious. Would definitely stay again. Great location for The Shore area of Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindamackay
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Lindamackay Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that my team looked after you so well and that you really enjoyed our fab location on the Shore. I couldn't agree more, it's really is such a nice area for us to be situated in, especially at...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The staff tried hard and were friendly. We arrived late in the evening so were relieved to get to bed. The room was clean and tidy and interesting in it's decor. We had to leave by 8.30am so got up at 7 to be downstairs for breakfast at 7.30am. To be told that the restaurant didn't open until 8am on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Noels
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear 4Noels Thank for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you liked the style of our rooms and also that my team looked after you so well. I am sad however that you were disappointed that our Brasserie does not open until 8am on weekends. Generally there is very little...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel when visiting for an event in the town centre. Has good parking and feels like a nice hotel. Booked through lastminute.com and checked in without issue. The room was nice but with quite tatty furniture in places. The iron and ironing board were quite dated. The wardrobe was quite scuffed on the door. Everything extra including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petersedavies
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear petersedavies Thank you for taking the time to review Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. Also thank you for your comments regarding some décor issues in your room. I will be instructing my Maintenance Manager to get this room back to your usual high standards as a matter of urgency. Thanks...

KINTYRE
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I enjoyed my stay this hotel but I feel there is a danger of it being a little complacent because of the lack of good hotel competition in the Leith area. I had booked for 5 nights on a Room Only basis with the intention of taking at least some meals in the hotel. On our first night, however, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HANNANITE
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I am not too sure how to rate our experience, I think starting from the positive aspects: Restaurant staff extremely nice and helpful Space outside very good for a glass of wine at sunset, good exposure and nice location in front of a canal Now on to the things that dos not really convince me: - For what it is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gabriele G
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Great place to have a business meeting catch up over a cup of coffee. Freshly brewed coffee served with delicious shortbread makes this a great spot for a casual business meeting in a great environment. Service was great and very efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GandRfaeScotland
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear GandRfaeScotland Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I look forward to welcoming back in again soon. Kind regards, Stewart Campbell

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Lovely clean and big room (416) Immaculate hotel Nice staff And a breakfast to die for: if ever I am sentenced to death, and face the penalty the next day, 2 things of note... (1) It will have been a travesty of justice, and (2) I want my final breakfast at a Malmaison, then I will die contented!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCWS11
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear DCWS11 Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit, in particular our amazing breakfast offering. Your comments really made me laugh. I do hope that sentence is never passed, but I do truly hope to welcome back again for another great stay...

862 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (564)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (275)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,222 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,718 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: €94 - €252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A view of the harbour would be a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles Jinty2016, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“An accessibility room don't accept excuse of lifts-fire alarm goes you are stuck-ask to see your room-the toilet open facing where you sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Poppy98765, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a view that is not the side of another building next door. If we had a good view it would have been perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles janice6_fisher, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the creaky lift, ask for a room connected to the lift at check in”
 of 5 bubbles snei, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 122 was somewhat noisy on the road side”
 of 5 bubbles ViciS973, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay