We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stay Central Hotel

Show Prices
#44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stay Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,226: English reviews
Pune, India
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Its a great place to stay if you plan to only come back to sleep, but don't expect any typical "hotel" stuff like a phone in your room, free basic toiletries and room service. Might go back there for the location only.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kunal1357
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kunal1357! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had a good nights sleep and that you enjoyed our central location. We do have a range of complimentary toiletries in all of our rooms and also a room service menu is provided in...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stay Central Edinburgh. The accommodation, staff, service and food were excellent. Although a little bit "up hill" it was only a 5 minute walk into Princes Street on the way down!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank womenmorococo
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi womenmorococo, Thank you for this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us - we are thrilled to hear such positive feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and especially that you thought our staff and service were excellent! Don't be a stranger, remember to get in touch directly...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We arrived in our room and the kettle was dirty and broken. I asked twice to have someone look at it and if we could have it replaced. It was only until I physically came down to reception with the kettle that the staff at the front desk gave us a new one. The weekend we were there the bar...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneG3186PF
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi anneG3186PF, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we appreciate any and all feedback we receive from our guests and use it as a way to improve. I am disappointed to hear that the kettle was broken in your room and that it was not replaced when you first reported the problem. This...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2016

booked here for an overnight stay after coming back on flight. was greeted by a nice lass on reception who was helpful. 6 of us sharing a room, we were a bit apprehensive, pleasantly surprised, plenty of space, everything you could need, only flaw was lack of privacy in bathroom as glass door, no lock, but all in all great....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to have made such a positive impression on your short visit to Edinburgh and are thrilled that you found our receptionist to be so helpful. And it's great to read that you found our XXL rooms to be so spacious and that you...

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband have just returned from this hotel, and we have already agreed we would definitely stay again. Yes our room was on the small side for a double, however it was big enough for what we needed. It was very clean and tidy (bathroom was spotless!), the walls could do with a fresh lick of paint but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DTMT0914
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DTMT0914, Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests! It's great to read that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our little extras like the GHD's! And we are so pleased that you found our reception team...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I'd reserved a room with 2 single beds, but upon check in I was told I'd been upgraded to a 6 person suite! My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the free in-room perks were also a nice touch. This location is so close to lots of nice pubs and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalynburgess
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kaylnburgess, Thank you so much for this amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you could enjoy a free room upgrade and all our complimentary goodies in the rooms! And it's great to read that you found our reception team to be so friendly -...

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed here it is a nice hotel but is squarely aimed at stag and hen parties the adjoining bar is very lively and loud I'd always ask for a quiet room even if you are a party animal, personally we wouldn't stay here again on a weekend but would through the week breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuggles1901
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi fuggles1901, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are sorry that you found the hotel was aimed mainly at stag and hen parties, although we have an excellent location for it we do hope that our rooms and facilities cater...

belfast
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here from the 25/27 Nov. All the staff were friendly and approachable. Really nice, clean room if a little small, but you won't be there too much! Bathroom is modern with lots of great, free toiletries. We had the breakfast which was good value. The only issue I had with Stay Central, is that it's a real party hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julesoBelfast
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi julesoBelfast! Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to read that you found our reception team to be so friendly and that you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms. Im disappointed to hear that you did not have a good nights sleep. Unfortunately, as you mentioned,...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Loved this hotel, stayed with teenage daughter, not often we both enjoy a hotel stay as much. Benefited from a few little luxuries for booking directly. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gallusbesom65
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gallusbesom65! Thank you so much for this excellent five star review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of our book direct and receive a free bottle of wine promotion! And we are so pleased that you found our reception team to be...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We were a group of lads in Edinburgh for a boozy weekend and this hotel was perfect. Great location, rooms were clean, modern and very well equipment. And staff were friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for much more really!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edburrell81
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi edburrell81! Thank you so much for this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us - it sounds like you had a fab time in Edinburgh! We are delighted to hear that we ticked every box for your lads weekend away and that you thought our hotel was perfect for your visit to the city. It's great...

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Medium (Double or Twin) (62)
Viewed
Private Dorm (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,042 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
285 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,538 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
870 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €103 - €399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to choose a room as far as possible from the bar and courtyard if you want to avoid noise.”
lsvotaw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get an extra towel to hang on the bathroom door for privacy. ”
154sadieb, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great staff”
J6525TEdonnak, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was perfect for people watching, we loved it. we had to request this room and ring to confirm we got it but the staff were fab, great communication. ”
patsybolton, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Out the front of the hotel is a no stopping zone if you leave the car you could get a fine. Call they hotel, they'll help with bags.”
, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5