We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stay Central Hotel

Show Prices
#44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Stay Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stay Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,151: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd reserved a room with 2 single beds, but upon check in I was told I'd been upgraded to a 6 person suite! My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the free in-room perks were also a nice touch. This location is so close to lots of nice pubs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalynburgess
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kaylnburgess, Thank you so much for this amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you could enjoy a free room upgrade and all our complimentary goodies in the rooms! And it's great to read that you found our reception team to be so friendly -...

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed here it is a nice hotel but is squarely aimed at stag and hen parties the adjoining bar is very lively and loud I'd always ask for a quiet room even if you are a party animal, personally we wouldn't stay here again on a weekend but would through the week breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuggles1901
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi fuggles1901, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are sorry that you found the hotel was aimed mainly at stag and hen parties, although we have an excellent location for it we do hope that our rooms and facilities cater...

belfast
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here from the 25/27 Nov. All the staff were friendly and approachable. Really nice, clean room if a little small, but you won't be there too much! Bathroom is modern with lots of great, free toiletries. We had the breakfast which was good value. The only issue I had with Stay Central, is that it's a real party hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julesoBelfast
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi julesoBelfast! Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to read that you found our reception team to be so friendly and that you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms. Im disappointed to hear that you did not have a good nights sleep. Unfortunately, as you mentioned,...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel, stayed with teenage daughter, not often we both enjoy a hotel stay as much. Benefited from a few little luxuries for booking directly. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gallusbesom65
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gallusbesom65! Thank you so much for this excellent five star review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of our book direct and receive a free bottle of wine promotion! And we are so pleased that you found our reception team to be...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of lads in Edinburgh for a boozy weekend and this hotel was perfect. Great location, rooms were clean, modern and very well equipment. And staff were friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for much more really!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edburrell81
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi edburrell81! Thank you so much for this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us - it sounds like you had a fab time in Edinburgh! We are delighted to hear that we ticked every box for your lads weekend away and that you thought our hotel was perfect for your visit to the city. It's great...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my second visit and I only wish I had more reason to return to Edinburghmore frequently. The hospitality, wonderful customer service, attention to detail , complimentary wine and incredible value make STAY Central unbeatable as far as I'm concerned. Just perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank I8856SVfionam
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi l8856SVfionam! Thank you so much for this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear such wonderful feedback regarding our customer service, our whole team here strives to provide the best experience for our guests so I'm sure they will love these comments. We are so flattered that you would describe your...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a very clean and comfortable double room, which was perfect. The shower worked well and shower amenities included shampoo, hair conditioner and shower gel. Location is just a few minutes from High St, which is very convenient to visit the city. Water cooker in room and at least 5 different teas/herbal to choose from, which was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ramblinm4n
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ramblinm4n, Thank you for this excellent five star review of your recent stay with us! It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location, it's perfect for exploring the royal mile and castle! We're so pleased you enjoyed our double rooms and found them to be so clean and comfy! We would love to have you back, remember to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Stay Central for our first holiday together. This hotel was perfect for us straight away, as it is within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. We arrived really late on the Monday night, just as there was a party for Halloween. At first, we were slightly concerned that this was going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan G
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Megan G! Thank you so much for this lovely 5 star review of your recent stay with us - it sounds like you had a great first holiday together! We are so thrilled that you found our hotel was "perfect" for your first getaway and that you would describe our rooms as "fantastic"! Our comfy beds, hair straighteners and...

Down, Northern Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great room for 4 people. Good facilities, great shower. Comfortable beds and two TVs in the room. Great location, have to walk up steps to the Royal Mile. Only con in the room was that mint teabags had been put in with all the other nice teabags so all the teabags tasted minty. Also breakfast was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sorrel J
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sorrel J! Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you loved our spacious and comfortable quad rooms, and one of our favourite features - the rainfall showers! We will be sure to pass on your comments to management in the Three...

Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time myself and my partner have stayed here...Absolutely loved it! Room was fab and loved the huge walk in shower! Location was very central and walking distance to Cowgate, Royal Mile and Waverly station. It was my partner's birthday during our 2 night stay...The staff left a birthday card in our room for when we got back later in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Amy A! Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a great time in Edinburgh - our location is perfect for seeing all the best attractions in the city. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room and one of our favourite features - the rainfall showers!...

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
The Dorm (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)
Viewed
The M Room, Twin-Double Room (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
223 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €66 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 401 was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles ang90af, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fix a landline in the rooms to help call the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Kunal1357, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Variety of sizes for rooms, S to XXL. If you have worries about the party scene, request a room on the other side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles I4794MEmegang, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always leave all my coins/change on the desk to serve as my room tip for the cleaner and just for me to say Thank You for an excellent customer service!”
 of 5 bubbles joseherbosa, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For heaven's sake avoid a room at the front!”
 of 5 bubbles Chopper48, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay