We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stay Central Hotel

Show Prices
#44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Stay Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,151: English reviews
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Found this hotel by accident when a was trying to book a hotel for our friends 50th and decided to have a look at other reviews on it ... They were all good so decided to go ahead and book it . There was 6 of us all female so booked the room with 6 single beds in it Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ang90af
Milan, Italy
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in the Edinburgh's old town and is very comfortable for visiting the University of Edinburgh, St Giles and the Castle . By the way is close to the other side of the city too, all you need is walk by the Weverly Bridge and you'll be right there in a few minutes! Rooms are pretty nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gl0betr0tter86
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Honestly ..... an upgraded hostel at best. Don't waste your money. Staff are lovely but it is badly designed, corridors are hideous and while the rooms are big mine sat above a noisy beer garden. Accept you are now going to get sun.... just don't go with this fake tan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormac Q
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cormac Q, Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be lovely, they will be delighted with this feedback. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the layout of the hotel,...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A lot of effort has clearly been put into making the hotel look chic and stylish, however this was unfortunately let down by an extremely hard and uncomfortable mattress paired with rather lumpy pillows. I didn't sleep well. The bathroom was also lovely from a style point of view, but less practical than I would have liked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrina_dring
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi katrina_dring! Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked our uniquely designed bedrooms and bathrooms and found them to be modern and stylish. I am surprised however to hear that you found our beds to be uncomfortable as we are normally praised for...

Pune, India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Its a great place to stay if you plan to only come back to sleep, but don't expect any typical "hotel" stuff like a phone in your room, free basic toiletries and room service. Might go back there for the location only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kunal1357
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kunal1357! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had a good nights sleep and that you enjoyed our central location. We do have a range of complimentary toiletries in all of our rooms and also a room service menu is provided in...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stay Central Edinburgh. The accommodation, staff, service and food were excellent. Although a little bit "up hill" it was only a 5 minute walk into Princes Street on the way down!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank womenmorococo
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi womenmorococo, Thank you for this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us - we are thrilled to hear such positive feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and especially that you thought our staff and service were excellent! Don't be a stranger, remember to get in touch directly...

Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Mixed dorm. Wasn't expecting that. Loo was partitioned in the room. Sink in the room. Really don't want to clean my teeth in front of loads of people. Receptionist on evening of arrival: excellent. The one the next morning was uncommunicative and grunted for speech. May suit loud, younger people who don't want any privacy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived in our room and the kettle was dirty and broken. I asked twice to have someone look at it and if we could have it replaced. It was only until I physically came down to reception with the kettle that the staff at the front desk gave us a new one. The weekend we were there the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneG3186PF
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi anneG3186PF, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we appreciate any and all feedback we receive from our guests and use it as a way to improve. I am disappointed to hear that the kettle was broken in your room and that it was not replaced when you first reported the problem. This...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

booked here for an overnight stay after coming back on flight. was greeted by a nice lass on reception who was helpful. 6 of us sharing a room, we were a bit apprehensive, pleasantly surprised, plenty of space, everything you could need, only flaw was lack of privacy in bathroom as glass door, no lock, but all in all great....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to have made such a positive impression on your short visit to Edinburgh and are thrilled that you found our receptionist to be so helpful. And it's great to read that you found our XXL rooms to be so spacious and that you...

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my husband have just returned from this hotel, and we have already agreed we would definitely stay again. Yes our room was on the small side for a double, however it was big enough for what we needed. It was very clean and tidy (bathroom was spotless!), the walls could do with a fresh lick of paint but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DTMT0914

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
The Dorm (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)
Viewed
The M Room, Twin-Double Room (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
223 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: €66 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 401 was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles ang90af, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fix a landline in the rooms to help call the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Kunal1357, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Variety of sizes for rooms, S to XXL. If you have worries about the party scene, request a room on the other side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles I4794MEmegang, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always leave all my coins/change on the desk to serve as my room tip for the cleaner and just for me to say Thank You for an excellent customer service!”
 of 5 bubbles joseherbosa, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For heaven's sake avoid a room at the front!”
 of 5 bubbles Chopper48, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay