We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Show Prices
#74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,163: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very friendly staff , easy check in , comfortable rooms well maintained with adjustable heating. brilliant location near to the shops, the castle, and most attractions. We dined out at the witchery and although a little more expensive it was definately worth the visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendren
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for an overnight stay after a night out with friends in Edinburgh. The location is OK although was slightly further away from the main centre of Edinburgh than I would have liked. Overall the hotel was OK - it was in line with what you get in a budget hotel. It provided what was required but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TAF11
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that your stay was overall positive. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

North East
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for our annual Edinburgh pre Christmas trip beautifully situated in the old part of town this means a very pleasant walk into the town. Beautiful breakfast both mornings if not a little busy. Lovely clean rooms and bedding. Shower curtain not good it sticks to.you and water floods bathroom floor. One of the LED s went on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lafybug
Florence
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location just off the Royal Mile. Friendly, helpful staff that really seem to care. Comfortable room with much appreciated tea and coffee making facilities. Everything you need for a comfortable stay and great value for money in a very expensive city. I hope I can always stay at Travelodge Edinburgh Central whenever I am in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florencemoll
East Kilbride
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was okay.Had a room at the back which was quiet,unlike the front which would have been pretty noisy. Room was a bit small for 2 people,and only 1 bath and hand towel supplied. Bed okay but bathroom was a bit whiffy. This place confirms you get what you pay for!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manbow
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Travelodge Edinburgh Central. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for your review....

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant place to stay near City Centre with the shops and the marketplace. Only downfall is first of all that we had to request to switch rooms due to hair in the bathroom which the staff were happy enough to change our rooms for us. New room was clean and beds was really comfy. First night we were there we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenockboi
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service from reception staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Clean comfortable room. Hot tasty full cooked breakfast very nice. As the name suggests Central to sights. Good bus service to and from the hospital, only 20 mins away. Parking at St Johns NCP, 2 mins from hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent place to stay. Staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Stayed for one night and couldn't fault it. Would definitely go back to the hotel. Breakfast good all you can eat .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here a few times, nice clean hotel, comfortable beds, pleasant staff, a good breakfast! Only downside is the lack of shower curtains so if you have a shower the bathroom floor gets soaked! Don't let that put you off though. Its ideally placed for the Royal Mile and about 5 minutes walk from Princes Street

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarloRobbo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wasn't sure what to expect and the Travel Lodge exceeded all my expectations. It was close to the station, the staff were friendly, the rooms clean and the beds fabulously comfortable. I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank florencem928

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Price Range: €66 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Central staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quieter rooms at the back so request one of these.”
 of 5 bubbles manbow, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the lower levels, they are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Y1197GRdanielb, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own hairdryer !”
 of 5 bubbles ca302, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Business - Quiet Floor”
 of 5 bubbles NellieDee1981, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor overlooking the church is very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles trevorc975, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay