We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
9/10/2017 10/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    Castle Rock Hostel

    15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    9/10/2017 10/10/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$30
    View Deal
    Traveller (521)
    Room & Suite (194)
    Dining (23)
    Overview
    • Excellent62%
    • Very good31%
    • Average5%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “common rooms” (65 reviews)
    “movie room” (24 reviews)
    “pub crawl” (30 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    Airport Transportation
    Suites
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    9 Oct10 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$30
      View Deal
    View all 3 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,575)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 1,125 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

    If you want to stay over the road from a castle and in the centre of Old Town the this is the spot. Was wary of backpacking as a couple and no longer in my twenties but we couldn't have asked for a better location....More

    Thank Hannah B
    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    It was an very nice stay at the hostel. There were a lot of activities organized by the hostel. Everybody was very nice to each other, you feel like home. There was breakfast for £1,80. The rooms, toilets and showers were very clean.

    Thank bramd203
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    A great hostel with a great view. Super close to the royal mile and 'old' Edinburgh. The room was clean and the bathrooms were adequate. You can have breakfast there for only 1.50 £. The staff was super friendly. Definetly would go back there.

    Thank Jessica B
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I have stayed in this hostel twice for two nights during my holiday in Scotland. Hostel is conveniently located at the hearth of Edinburgh and easily accessible from airport. The staff was always friendly and nice. The atmosphere during my stays was relaxed, friendly and...More

    Thank dhyani1982
    Response from Jamie P, Manager at Castle Rock HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Can't wait for your return! So nice to hear you had a pleasant and homey stay, that's certainly what we aim for :)

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This hostel is perfectly located right across the street from the Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. Staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful, gave us maps and recommendations on food/activities during our short stay. Our room was clean and fresh and all facilities seemed the...More

    Thank Katie G
    Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
    2,547 reviews
    #40 of 150 hotels in Edinburgh
     
    Grassmarket Hotel
    2,196 reviews
    #49 of 150 hotels in Edinburgh
     
    Apex Grassmarket Hotel
    3,542 reviews
    #84 of 150 hotels in Edinburgh
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
    1,878 reviews
    #50 of 150 hotels in Edinburgh
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Laundry Service
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$12 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 300
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Edinburgh >
    • Old Town / Grassmarket
    • Also Known As
    • Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh ,
    • Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (521)
    Room & Suite (194)
    Dining (23)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (363)
    Family and Play Areas (15)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Old Town
    Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
    labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
    this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
    visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
    that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
    place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
    the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
    Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
    ...More
    Grassmarket Hotel
    2,196 reviews
    .09 km away
     
    Apex Grassmarket Hotel
    3,542 reviews
    .11 km away
     
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
    1,878 reviews
    .53 km away
     
    Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
    2,547 reviews
    .09 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Petit Paris
    1,369 reviews
    .09 km away
    Amber Restaurant at the Scotch Whisky Experience
    841 reviews
    .03 km away
    Hula Juice Bar and Gallery
    871 reviews
    .10 km away
    Thai Orchid
    940 reviews
    .10 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo
    5,534 reviews
    .09 km away
    Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
    10,048 reviews
    .08 km away
    The Scotch Whisky Experience
    4,452 reviews
    .06 km away
    Edinburgh International Festival
    106 reviews
    .12 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    mari0ela
    10 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Jamie P | Property representative |
    No we don't use PayPal unfortunately.
    0
    Votes
    edebrag
    24 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Jamie P | Property representative |
    No, unfortunately luggage storage is for guests only. We just don't have the space available!
    0
    Votes
    hopewellmr
    22 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Jamie P | Property representative |
    Hi YA Yes, that is correct we do not have elevators. Our private rooms are on the top floor so you'd need to go up 3 flights of stairs. We would be able to help you with your bags as long as they're not to heavy for our... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Double Room - upstairs"
    Read review
    "If you are older, ask for a room on the ground or first floor. We were on the third floor - a lot of steps..."
    Read review
    "Lots of stairs to some rooms."
    Read review
    "Bring a sleep mask in the summer!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing