We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (3164)
Room & Suite (1095)
Dining (248)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#26 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian, built in 1903, is one of Edinburgh’s most significant landmarks. Admire some of the best views in Edinburgh from the luxurious guestrooms and suites and dine at Scottish fine dining restaurant Grazing by Mark Greenaway. At Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian you can also experience the grandeur of the Peacock Alley, formerly the station concourse and ticket office, now a luxurious lounge offering light lunch, Traditional and Champagne Afternoon Tea, and elegant evening drinks. Sample some of Scotland’s finest whisky from the collection of over 100 malts and bends at The Caley Bar. Indulge yourself at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, a sanctuary of luxury and relaxation, home to four treatment rooms, an indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and two gyms. The spa offers pampering treatments for men and women, for reviving and healing, or just for pure indulgence.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French
6,012Reviews78Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,754
  • 1,167
  • 629
  • 289
  • 174
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jasmine M wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
Went for my mother in laws birthday back in January. Definitely not Waldorf standard at all! Concierge put our luggage in the wrong rooms. When we checked the rooms we phoned down to reception and they had said it had been put in our room. My boyfriend went down to concierge to see if it was still downstairs and one of the men was rude and said it was definitely not there. We get a call to the room saying our luggage had been found but been sent to the wrong room. We are so lucky to get all our luggage as anyone could’ve taken it! Absolutely appalling. As an apology the hotel payed for our taxi to Edinburgh playhouse. The steak from the restaurant was AWFUL! So overpriced and was asked for rare to medium and was extremely well done! Food in general was not that good. I would’ve rather spent my money in a nice restaurant in Edinburgh! On the other hand the breakfast was beautiful and the staff at breakfast were very attentive! Great selection of food at the buffet.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dan H wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This hotel is just wow. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, we were absolutely amazed with the standards and service the hotel has to offer. The staff at the hotel are exceptional,from reception to Spa and restaurant they were truly faultless. Every single team member went truly above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The food is fantastic, we ate in the restaurants over two nights and the food & service faultless on both occasions. We also had treatments and the Spa which was fantastic. A true gem of a hotel. Don’t like to nitpick but the only fault were the 3 young children who dominated the pool & hot tub over the two days we used these facilities. As it’s quite an expensive Spa experience, you’d expect this to be nipped in the bud. I appreciate kids are kids but if you’ve come away to relax it’s not all together ideal to rest up. Fantastic hotel and couldn’t recommend it enough. Thank you Edinburgh Waldorf
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded 16 Jun 2023
Dear Dan H, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey following your stay with us, as we greatly value and appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your time with us! However, I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not have the most relaxing spa experience due to the noise in the pool area. Please rest assured that I have passed your comments onto the spa management team, as we are not in the habit of disappointing our guests, and we hope we can pleasantly surprise you on your next visit. We trust you had a safe onward journey and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
S6180HIandrewb wrote a review 16 Apr
48 contributions62 helpful votes
It is glaringly evident since Ms MacPhee left The Caledonian for a new position in Cairo the standards here have dwindled to an extent that this is no longer be considered to be a 5 star venue . One of the many failings is the fact that it was impossible to book accommodation at this location due to the fact that both the hotels own website and the log in website facility for Hilton Honours members were both down and have been for a number of days ( which no staff in the hotel was aware of ) meaning that to book a room one had to call the hotel directly and be told that the rate for the room was far higher than normal due to it being one of the only two rooms left as the hotel was at capacity ( Untrue ) When we arrived on what one would describe as a cold Edinburgh April day of 10 degrees centigrade with the wind reducing it by chill factor to around 5 degrees centigrade and took the elevator to the 5th Floor the temperature in the whole of the floor was well below what on would expect . Unbelievably when we entered the allocated room . The Air Conditioning / Heating Controls were both at the OFF position in the room and en suite facility causing a chilling shiver to be felt on entry . Now it could be said that one would possibly expect such an occurrence at back street bed an breakfast establishment but to get this from a 5 star venue owned by the Hilton Group is totally unacceptable .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware Parking is £35.00 per night which even for Edinburgh is high
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded 2 days ago
Good Afternoon S6180Hlandrew I was disappointed to learn about your recent experience with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian and I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors member and take guest feedback very seriously. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to our guests, and saddened that we fell short in your case. I am hopeful that you will allow us to regain your confidence and we will be able to deliver the true Waldorf quality that you have known for from previous visits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicola G wrote a review 16 Apr
Inverness, United Kingdom2 contributions
Wonderful hotel, clean, amazing staff over all a great stay wouldn’t stay anywhere else. Very close to everything we needed for our stay. Would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh. Pool spa facilities and the restaurant and bar was amazing everyone very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Passport591630 wrote a review 16 Apr
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Recently had an excellent family stay at the Caledonian celebrating my wife's birthday! All the people in all the teams from front desk, concierge, dining, and maintenance were fantastic and obliging. They simply wanted to do everything possible to make the stay special and enjoyable which is what 5* Star service is all about. Rooms were upgraded as a surprise and special touches to help celebrate the occasion made the stay memorable. Must say special mentions to Team Breakfast and Host Analini's team who were just paying attention to every detail to make the breakfast a relaxing, enjoyable experience and Susan on front desk and who made us feel welcomed and valued! Fabulous iconic railway hotel, ideal location the hotel is needing refurb and upgrade which is currently happening! Im sure we’ll be back and look forward to seeing the refurbed place and enjoying Edinburgh again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just ask the team will help..... Twin rooms avilable for children - Queen rooms with 2 x double...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Beachlady1158 wrote a review 16 Apr
Tampa, Florida93 contributions42 helpful votes
We had a phenomenal stay at the Caledonian! We were felt so welcome by David the moment we arrived! Catherine at reception was a joy and oh so kind! We arrived early so our rooms were not available, however they texted us shortly thereafter to let us know they were ready. On top of that our Hilton loyalty was rewarded and we received an upgraded room overlooking the castle!! What a fantastic treat! The gentleman at the Concierge desk were always helpful with advice on sights, making dining reservations and directions One gentleman even walked me to the street to show me which street to take! Every member of the staff went above and beyond with a smile. Upon returning to the hotel David at the door would inquire about our day the lovely personnel in reception and at the breakfast room always greeted us by name. The breakfast buffet had lovely presentation and offered delicious choices for all tastes! We enjoyed an evening cocktail in the Caley bar and Meaghan was so pleasant. Our stay was beyond amazing and any hotels we stay at going forward will be measured to the high bar set here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
brad m wrote a review 13 Apr
1 contribution
From the moment we were greeted by the gentlemen greeting us to the hotel, to the receptionist seeing to us, to the host at the bar and restaurant, I have to say what an excellent team and teamwork. Well done to the mangers and management team. Even my kids stated how pleased they were treated and that means a lot to me
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded 5 days ago
Dear J5543WHbradm, Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am delighted to learn that your experience exceeded your expectations, we pride ourselves on being a very friendly, welcoming and dedicated team, it is great to see that we all looked after you so well. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant return journey home and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nathansgirl21 wrote a review 12 Apr
Denver, Colorado165 contributions90 helpful votes
We have stayed here 4 times now and have always enjoyed it in the past. This stay is extremely disappointing so we are checking out 5 days early and moving to the Hilton Conrad. As Diamond Forever members, we travel quite frequently and have always had a nice room and a lovely stay here and in many hotels around the world. This time is different. When we got to our room it was so small we could barely move around in it. We were booked for a week and given a room with no armoire or drawers and a small closet with six hangers. This is supposed to be for two people for a week! I have had to stack all of my clothes in the bathroom on a shelf. The bed is broken and makes an awful sound every time you turn over or get in and out of bed. I woke my husband up each time I had to use the bathroom in the middle of the night due to the horrendous noise. Twice we asked to be moved and were told there wasn’t a single room available during our entire 7 days! The hot water faucet is broken and there is only one chair in the room, due to the size of the room, and you can barely get around it. This is a room I’d expect at a low grade hotel, not one that costs almost $500 a night! We are shocked they feel this is an acceptable room to give loyal customers and Diamond Members. We will not return to this hotel again and would advise others to look elsewhere. Loyalty doesn’t seem to matter here and frankly even if we were not Diamond Members I would not expect this type of small and dilapidated room at a 5 star hotel! I have taken pictures and also a video that highlights the sound of the broken bed for proof of the horrendous noise it makes. We had been looking forward to this stay since last year when we booked it and can’t wait to coed out tomorrow and check into the Hilton!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Nathansgirl21, We were disappointed to learn about your recent experience with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors Diamond member and take guest feedback very seriously. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to our guests, and saddened that we fell short in your case. I am really very sorry that you have to leave the hotel. We value all our patrons and as much as possible we always try to upgrade our Diamond Members when it is available. On this occasion unfortunately as what the Duty Manager have explained to you we do not have anything available due to high occupancy. As a gesture we have also waived off your cancellation fee. I am hopeful that you will allow us to regain your confidence and we will be able to deliver the true Waldorf quality that you have known for from previous visits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
killerkeychange wrote a review 11 Apr
1 contribution
Great stay, managed to get upgraded to a suite which was amazing and a complimentary bottle of Prosecco was waiting for us in the room when we got there. Had dinner in the room via room service which was fantastic as was the breakfast the next morning. Fantastic stay overall and can’t wait to go back! Thanks to all the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Killerkeychange, Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am delighted to learn that your experience exceeded your expectations, we pride ourselves on being a very friendly, welcoming and dedicated team, it is great to see that we all looked after you so well. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant return journey home and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
waterlightie82 wrote a review 11 Apr
Bray, Ireland45 contributions20 helpful votes
We went for afternoon tea at the peacock alley, it was a special visit as it was my friends 50th birthday and wow we were so well looked after. We went here on a recommendation from a friend and the atmosphere and the service was amazing in fact we even got served sabrage champagne, such a wonderful treat. I truly can thank Lukasz Zerdzinski enough for making our special trip so memorable and I am so sorry it has taken me so long to review I was ill so my mind was occupied on other stuff, but that experience carried me through some tough days. Thanks again from the bottom of my heart
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Waterlightie82, I want to thank you for your wonderful review, and of course, for coming to visit us. We are especially proud of our commitment to detail in the Afternoon Tea and I am truly delighted that you enjoyed it so much and we made your friend's 50th birthday special and memorable. Lukasz, is truly a superstar he will be very delighted to hear about your kind comments. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon, whatever the occasion, in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
€290 - €755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton international edinburgh, hilton edinburgh, edinburgh hilton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
231
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WALDORF ASTORIA EDINBURGH - THE CALEDONIAN - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Which popular attractions are close to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Castle (0.5 km), Escape Edinburgh Morrison Street (0.4 km), and Game Of Throwing Edinburgh (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Caley Bar, Dine, and Peacock Alley at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian have airport transportation?
Yes, Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.