We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (431)
Room & Suite (220)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cityroomz Edinburgh
Updated 10/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#76 of 166 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Polish
1423Reviews31Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 498
  • 574
  • 244
  • 71
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
evansgraham3 wrote a review 13 Aug
We booked a room with bunk beds, very clean and suited our purposes. Very good location and value for money. Only problem was car park ticket validation didn't work so had to pay full rate which was disappointing
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
scooper229 wrote a review 10 Aug
Solihull, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
After Booking.com double booked me and my partner, Sheila from City Roomz was SO helpful and stayed on the phone to them for a long time for us to try and resolve it. Eventually, as booking.com were so unhelpful, Sheila actually refunded us on the room cost even though it wasn’t her fault, as she said she wanted us to enjoy our holiday. You went above and beyond for us and we can’t thank you enough for sorting out a stressful situation so efficiently!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book directly through City Roomz NOT Booking.com!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris W wrote a review Jul 2022
South Normanton, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel was very convenient, right near the main attractions, despite being on a main road it was very quiet which was great, room was clean and the staff friendly. No parking at the hotel but they offer a discount for the local NCP. I can imagine some people may rate this lower than 5 because they may be picky about the beds or the lack of breakfast on a weekend but for me and my partner it was exactly what we needed. It was also very secure and only keycard holders can access the stairways and rooms
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Park at castle terrace car park and get your ticket validated by the hotel. Buses to the zoo...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your positive review of your time spent with us at Cityroomz. Edinburgh offers an endless list of attractions so we are extremely lucky that our city center location allows our guests to be within walking distance of the majority of these. Parking can be difficult in Edinburgh so we are pleased you were satisfied with our solution of offering discounted rates at the nearby NCP. The security of our guests and staff is important to us and so we are glad you felt safe and secure while with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh again sometime in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eva0101600 wrote a review Jul 2022
I had a weekend trip away with my mum and it was just what we needed, the view from our room was beautiful looking out on the streets and the tram, and the room itself was very cosy including the bed! It had everything we needed inside for our short stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
It puts a smile on our faces to know we played a role in our guests having a wonderful trip away, especially when it was needed! We are glad you were happy with what we offer as we believe we do offer great value here at Cityroomz. If you ever find yourself in need of another trip away, maybe even a longer one next time, then we hope you will consider us again. Thank you for your positive review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jfmc_Spain wrote a review Jul 2022
Great stay! Excellent location and ultra clean premises. Staff was helpful and attentive. Will definitely come back. Just to mention any downside, breakfast was a little bit thin; but that did not affect the rest of our lovely experience which can be graded 10/10.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
We truly believe our staff here at Cityroomz is the centerpiece of what makes us stand out from our competitors. Needless to say we love to hear great feedback about them and will of course pass this on. We are thankful for your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tizzy wrote a review Jun 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom22 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed for the first time at Cityroomz, we wasn’t disappointed, in the room it had everything we needed, the bed and pillows are really comfortable, the reception staff are all friendly and very helpful. Can definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us. We believe we offer great value with what we have to offer here at Cityroomz and glad you agree. Our staff are great and we love to hear positive feedback about them, we will be sure to pass on your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amelia N wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Chose this hotel (through Booking.com) due to its location and the fact that it was miles cheaper than many of the other hotels we found in Edinburgh. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was spacious (a superior double room) with a super comfy bed (and extra pillows already in the room). Both the room and bathroom were really clean when we arrived, great shower (not just a trickle like some hotel showers), and we had all the usual amenities, tea/coffee, hairdryer, etc., plus a fan and ironing board/iron. Could have possibly been due to the fact we were in the building with the separate entrance, meaning we just got lucky, but we found that noise levels outside were completely minimal, and we could barely hear the road despite sleeping with the window open every night. Staff on the desk were also very helpful, but we didn’t have any issues beyond asking for more toilet roll! Would really recommend Cityroomz as a base to explore Edinburgh, we found we were anywhere between a 5-20 minute walk from most major city attractions, but transport links appeared good. Would definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen I wrote a review Jun 2022
14 contributions13 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here overnight on Wednesday, we thought it was just great , really really comfortable beds fantastic pillows !! The room had everything hairdryer iron and ironing board . The room was immaculate as was the the bathroom , great shower as well . Perfectly located for princess street , rose street , etc . Can’t recommend this hotel enough .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 4 weeks ago
We would like to thank you for your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that we are perfectly located for those who wish to be minutes distance from some of the main attractions Edinburgh has to offer. We hope to welcome you again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janos wrote a review Jun 2022
Budapest, Hungary1 contribution
Unfortunately, we did not get the 17m2 double (preferably two twin beds) pre-booked room in our accommodation, but the extremely small room with a 212 bunk bed, overlooking the boiler room. This is approx. It could have been 7-8 m2. I complained immediately after occupying the room, but they said I booked it and there is NO ROOM in the hotel that I would like. As shown on the confirmation. In any case, this is not what we paid for. It was a small room without a closet with bunk beds. We wanted to avoid this because we had slept like this before. Not to mention that they never cleaned or even took out the trash.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 25 Jun 2022
We do not falsely advertise, our only room type with twin beds is our Cabin Twin which on our website and all our partnered websites states and shows bunk beds. We are disappointed that you have chosen to score us so lowly despite this being explained to you while at the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StefanRuch wrote a review Jun 2022
warm hospitality, friendly staff, clean room, perfect located to discover the city by foot (Edinburgh Castle, Grassmarket, Royal Mile etc. within 10 minutes walk), bus stop directly at the hotel (arrival from airport via Airlink bus in 20 minutes)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Fox, Guest Services / Front Office at Cityroomz Edinburgh
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback, We agree that our location is perfectly situated for those that wish to explore the city by foot. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and glad you enjoyed your time here with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge shandwick place edinburgh hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cityroomz Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Cityroomz Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Escape Edinburgh Morrison Street (0.5 km), Escape Hunt Edinburgh (0.4 km), and Escape Edinburgh (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cityroomz Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Cityroomz Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Cityroomz Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include French Creperie Le Petit Cafe, Dean Banks At The Pompadour, and Dine.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cityroomz Edinburgh?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Cityroomz Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.3 km), The Real Mary King's Close (1.2 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (1.4 km).
Is Cityroomz Edinburgh accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.